We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (291)
Filter reviews
291 results
Traveller rating
195
70
15
5
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
195
70
15
5
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small hotel boutique hotel forbidden city hotel door within walking distance wonderful stay stayed nights comfortable rooms subway station taxi driver hutong dongsi china english alley wall bath
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 291 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2018

From the time we arrived to two days after we departed (they let us leave most of luggage there while we went to Xi'an) the hotel staff were always available to help. They provided excellent recommendations for restaurants (great food - cheap!), directions for navigating around Beijing, including the subway, and made sure we had an umbrella when they saw it might rain. The room was simple, but had everything we needed. The AC kept the room cool enough for comfortable sleeping. We ate there only once, having a sampling of both American and Chinese breakfast foods. They even let us borrow a knife, forks, and plates when we brought back some watermelon (excellent!). Directions to the hotel were good. Some drivers didn't want to drive down the hutung - I wouldn't either! It's not far to walk, and makes the entry into the hotel even more pleasant. We'd certainly stay here again if we get back to Beijing for pleasure.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Douglas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018

When you are new to a strange city, it's great to have helpful hosts. Xiao Niu was brilliant, booking attractions, recommending restaurants and just being super helpful.
The hotel also has a lovely peaceful ambience which acts as a great relief from a hectic (but wonderful) city.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sejd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2018

Good location, but I do feel like we paid a little too much for what we got. The hotel is down an alley that looks a little sketchy, but the actual place is pretty nice! It was close to Forbidden City and those sorts of attractions, but unfortunately you could hear EVERYTHING from the rest of the hotel guests and we were woken up early both mornings by screaming children in the courtyard.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CaitlinA250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2018

I traveled with four colleagues and had an excellent experience. The hotel is charming and surprisingly quiet for a hotel located in a hutong. The hotel team were incredibly welcoming and accommodating. This place is a true gem!

Stayed: June 2018
Thank Grisel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Manager-Andy, 前厅部经理 at Beijing 161 Hotel Hulu Courtyard, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2018

Dear Grisel C,

Thank you for taking your time to write comment about 161 Hulu hotel on TripAdvisor.

Your suggestions and comments are our motive forces,I'll share your comment with all the staff of 161 hotels to let everyone share this joy.

Our hotel is following the local inhabitants' traditional housing structures,provide every guest the traditional Beijing courtyard environments and experience the local Beijing life. All the staff working here can speak English and we are always ready to help you. All the staff members and I welcome and looking forward to your next visit and stay with us again.

Please accept my most sincere appreciations.

Andy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2018

Wonderful stay! We stayed 4 nights. Totally surprised by the great staff! They went out of their way to accommodate us...packing us light breakfasts (toasts and boiled eggs) when we had to leave early for a tour and then again when we left early to the airport. Then, when we wanted to go for a bicycle ride, they went out, paid for, and brought back 3 bicycles for us to explore the old part of the city on bike. Yes, the bicycles were cheap to rent...but nearly impossible for foreigners to do so (need a Chinese phone number, need to set up a pay account...) The room was just what we needed...not big, but certainly big enough for us (2 adults and our teenage daughter). One queen size and a double fold-out bed. The added bonus of a phone with data plan already available for us to use was another surprise! To top it off, it was very easy to walk to 2 different subway stops (Dongsi and Dengshikou) and was very easy for us to get around the city. We will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rajbquartet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Manager-Andy, 前厅部经理 at Beijing 161 Hotel Hulu Courtyard, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2018

Dear rajbquartet,

Thank you for taking your time to write comment about 161 Hulu hotel on TripAdvisor.

Your suggestions and comments are our motive forces,I'll share your comment with all the staff of 161 hotels to let everyone share this joy. Our hotel is following the local inhabitants' traditional housing structures,provide every guest the traditional Beijing courtyard environments and experience the local Beijing life.

All the staff working here can speak English and we are always ready to help you. All the staff members and I welcome and looking forward to your next visit and stay with us again.

Please accept my most sincere appreciations.

Andy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews