We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Place to watch the game for Expats interested in games/sports events outside China”
Review of Paddy O Sheas

Paddy O Sheas
Ranked #236 of 13,045 Restaurants in Beijing
Price range: US$4 - US$14
Cuisines: American, Indian, Irish, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Neighbourhood: Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Description: Paddy O'Sheas is Beijings everyone's favorite Irish sports bar. We pride ourselves in doing our utmost to maintain the quality that we have built up since opening in 2007. We are very conveniently located in downtown Beijing and for first timers please print off our map first - as the majority of local taxi drivers wont recognize English wording (pretty much the same as most taxi drivers in Ireland!!)
Reviewed 5 February 2018

I watched the Superbowl here. The expat community knows this place well, so if anyone is traveling to Beijing during the Superbowl/World Cup/UEFA/Formula 1 race/(not sure about NASCAR) etc, this is the place to go if you want to be with kindred spirits. Its also in a decent location, as some of the taxi drivers will know the Australian Embassy (Paddy O'Shea's is across from the Australian Embassy, or 100 meters away from the Canadian Embassy, or another 200 meters away from the German Embassy). I didn't try the food, but the Ganges Indian restaurant is next door, and Ganges is good for Indian. (most of the expat Indians in Beijing seem to rave about a restaurant in the Marriott, but that's for another review.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank FinPinkkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12 - 16 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2017

The absolute worst. Rude, miserable staff and so dark it's difficult to see. And I was charged Y39 for their IPA - and this was during Happy Hour! Great Leap is a 15-minute walk away and Slowboat is a 30-minute walk away. Go there instead. This place is your typical low-class expat dive. I was supposed to be meeting clients for drinks and dinner, but I left after 10 minutes and went elsewhere.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank jrwbrierley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paddy O, General Manager at Paddy O Sheas, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2017

oh, sorry to read that...
looks like you have passed a really bad moment to find time and come to write this article,
did you complain to a manager before leaving?
if you write this on this website, you must have seen the 40 reviews saying about how the staff is exceptional. I'm really sorry that you have had a bad experience

We just past 10y in Beijing and we are known to have maybe one of the best staff in town.
yes 39rmb for an IPA, which is buy one get one free, so it's 39 for 2 beers, i don't think there is a better deal in Beijing neither...
We really like Great Leap and Slow boat and we hope you have find your happiness over there.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

This sports pub has a really good Quiz Night every Wednesday. Order curry from the Indian restaurant upstairs and a pint of Guinness. The wait staff are friendly and so are the patrons!

Thank xoyadingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paddy O, General Manager at Paddy O Sheas, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

thanks a lot for this nice review,
glad you appreciate, see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

If you go here to see a sport match it is fine. However, the service is so bad and low ( there was a local young lady who did not carer at all about the service (even not understanding the difference getween a bottle and a glass of wine..... sais in Chinese !!! and pointing at the menu. Smiling of course was not even an option.The Indian food is pricey and not bad, foreing food of a low level, Wine ise very expensive and middle quality

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Eur0peangl0betr0tter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paddy O, General Manager at Paddy O Sheas, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Very sad to read this, i'm really sorry for this bad experience and it looks like it was really bad (or maybe several bad ones) to the point that you came here to write this review.
Did you talk with any manager about it?
They all speak perfect English, even for a Chinese...
And they know the difference getween a bottle and a glass. Maybe they could have propose you different kind... it s true that for an Irish Pub, we have a very small selection of wine... we are working on making it better.
Anyway, thanks for the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017 via mobile

I came here to watch the Lions draw the last test against the All Blacks and it had a great atmosphere with good happy hour drinks deals. Also the food from the restaurant upstairs looked and smelled sensational! It's a very large pub too with plenty of seating inside and out.

Thank TheOExpress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paddy O, General Manager at Paddy O Sheas, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Thanks a lot for this review
hope to see you son again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Paddy O Sheas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing