We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value, Acceptable Traffic, Will Return and Will Recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mercure Beijing Downtown
Ranked #134 of 6,606 Hotels in Beijing
Reviewed 18 December 2017

The hotel is located in a very large estate, and the hotel buildings are not tall. Most blocks are connected in the basement so there is no need to suffer the cold weather when heading for breakfast.

Check in was efficient though the front desk staff could have been friendlier. The lobby is large and pleasant with a nice feature Koi pond. Access to the restaurant for breakfast is via a staircase to a floor below.

We stayed in the two storey suite so our room was situated in another block. The room is very large and spacious. The staircase was a little too light duty for our liking, it shook when we walked on it. Furnishing is conservative but pleasant. Two flat screen TVs one downstairs and one upstairs. Air con is very efficient. The bed was a little too firm for our liking but otherwise comfortable. We expected a pull out bed because the booking system showed a 5 person capacity, however there was no such luck. Our kids had to sleep on the sofa. Cleanliness was good.

Breakfast food quality was very nice and extensive. Staff were efficient though not very friendly. On two out of three days they were not friendly while on the last day they were most helpful and friendly. Must have been different shifts working.

The swimming pool is nice, indoor with heating and warm water. There is a shower round the corner so it is quite convenient. The gym overlooks the pool.

There are some eateries outside around the hotel within walking distance. Watch out for dog pooh on the pavement.

Late check out at 4pm. Check out was fast and efficient and staff were friendly. Again must have been different shifts.

First time staying in this part of Beijing, traffic was very acceptable, not too bad a jam getting to the hotel, and not too bad a jam getting out to the airport.

Overall good experience.

Room Tip: Two Storery Suites are very spacious and comfortable but situated in a different building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Robin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure_Beijing, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Beijing Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback with us. This means so much to us and we deeply appreciate this. We were so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we met your needs. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again on your next visit to the Beijing.

Sincerely,

Nina Bi
Mercure Beijing Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (379)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 379 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for four days - it’s a great location and access to the city centre is easy. Staff are friendly but spoken English is limited. The bar is OK - but I found the temperature in there very hot as the air conditioning had been switched off! Drinks are fairly expensive here but I think it’s the same across China example £7 for a gin and tonic? Having said that I have stayed places where it’s three times that! Room was OK but again very hot because the air conditioning had been switched off! I only ate breakfast at the hotel and this was very good providing both Chinese and European food choices. I didn’t eat at the hotel for evening meal!
All in all not a bad hotel at all

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Bapsy3732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure_Beijing, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Beijing Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2017

Dear Bapsy,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback with us. as a hotel that is constantly changing with demands , we try to do our best to meet all our guests expectations and needs. I am so happy you chose the Mercure Beijing Downtown during your visit in Beijing.

we appreciate your sharing your concerns, and We will improve business by English training our staff more, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Mercure Beijing Downtown
Nina Bi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2017

It is funny that this hotel has become 'smoke-free' 2 years ago as you can still smell the smoke on the floor I was staying on. Also the room had a cigarette burn on the carpet and on the table next to the bed... Breakfast is excellent here in this hotel. However, as it was so far out of the centre we had to have diner at the hotel and we both ordered different dishes that did not come at the same time and were served on ice-cold plates. Next day we commented on this and the situation was resolved by asking for warm plates and us ordering the same dish. They are obviously not used to serving dinner, as clearing the table after you finished dinner is done apparently. This hotel must be great for airline staff, as it was full with them.

Room Tip: 2nd floor smells of smoke
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank kim64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure_Beijing, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Beijing Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2017

Dear Kim64,

Thank you for taking the time to share your honest feedback with us.

We are so sorry for our imperfect service,hope you could kindly forgive us. Please rest assure that I will be sharing your feedback with my entire team, and We will improve our service and facilities.

You are a valued guest and we appreciate your business. We hope to have the opportunity to earn this again on your next visit to the Beijing.

Mercure Beijing Downtown
Nina Bi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2017

Excellent room, with all toiletrries, and free bottles of water.Private balcony to relax.
Very comfortable large twin beds. & flat screen TV. Tea & coffee making facilities included in room. Substantial & varied breakfast. All in all a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure_Beijing, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Beijing Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

Dear Colette,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback with us. This means so much to us. We were happy to hear that we met your overall needs. We wish you the very best in your future travels.

Thank you for choosing Mercure Beijing Downtown.

Mercure Beijing Downtown
Nina Bi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2017 via mobile

Nice room and bathroom with plenty of amenities toothbrush/paste, comb, sewing kit soap, shampoo/conditioner and 2 free bottles of water per day.

The room however was very warm and thermostat could not be changed, luckily the window opened so fresh air could be obtained, but not enough for it to be 100% comfortable. With the temperature outside so cold it was really uncomfortable to come back to a summer style heat room.

Breakfast was great, a lot of western style choices plus the eastern choices. Good for all nations.

A convenience store across the road from hotel, makes it easy to stock up on extra drinks and snacks.

The metro station is a bit of a walk away, but not undoable.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank gEmZo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure_Beijing, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Beijing Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

Dear gEmZ01,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us. This means so much to us and we deeply appreciate this.

We were so happy to hear of your experience with us and that we met your needs. Please rest assure that I will share your feedback with my entire team.

You are a valued guest and we appreciate your business. We hope to have the opportunity to earn this again on your next visit to the Beijing.

Mercure Beijing Downtown
Nina Bi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Xidan
Grand Mercure Beijing Central
Grand Mercure Beijing Central
#97 of 6,606 in Beijing
927 reviews
Fangzhuang
Holiday Inn Temple of Heaven
Holiday Inn Temple of Heaven
#135 of 6,606 in Beijing
419 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Grand Mercure Beijing Dongcheng
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Novotel Beijing Peace
Novotel Beijing Peace
#63 of 6,606 in Beijing
2,567 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Sunworld Hotel Beijing
Sunworld Hotel Beijing
#84 of 6,606 in Beijing
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Beijing Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Beijing Downtown

Address: No.16A West Dawang Road, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100124, China
Region: China > Beijing > Guomao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#115 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: HK$532 - HK$1,063 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Beijing Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern and individual, the international brand Mercure delivers a fresh approach to hotel style and service. Managed by the French Hospitality Group - ACCOR, Mercure Beijing Downtown is well located on Xi Da Wang Road in Central Business District (CBD) area, which is between East 3rd Ring and East 4th Ring in Beijing. With easy access to subway line 1, 7, 10 and line 14, to Beijing Capital International Airport and railway stations, Mercure Beijing Downtown is also close to China World Trade Centre, China Central Place, Oriental Media Centre,Gemdale Centre,SKP (original Shin Kong Place), Wanda Plaza, BTV and CCTV Tower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, WingontravelTA, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Beijing Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Beijing Downtown Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing