We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Sea Food”
Review of Tamarind Mombasa

Tamarind Mombasa
Ranked #4 of 154 Restaurants in Mombasa
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I had a business lunch here. We had the sea food platter. Wow ! Excellent! Very good service in a wonderful location looking over the water. I must go here in the evening next time to see the contrast.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Liam O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geraldine D, Director of Sales at Tamarind Mombasa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Liam, Many thanks for taking the time to post such an amazing 5 star rave review We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your lunch of the seafood platter and found the service excellent and the location wonderful. Your positive comments have been passed to the culinary and service teams and are a great acknowledgment of their dedicated efforts. Thanks you again for the great feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again soon. Kind regards Geraldine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (644)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 643 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A restaurant with excellent location and cuisine, Tamarind is definitely the place to go in Mombasa. It is situated right across from the old town, giving an excellent view at night of both the town and the river with all the lights and everything to make its ambiance outstanding. The bar is open and spacious, and you can have a nice cocktail or glass of wine while waiting for the table to get ready. It combines the typical African old world atmosphere with the privacy and the breeze of the patio. Dawa is always is classic choice.

The restaurant itself is adjacent to the bar and provides enough privacy and good view from almost all the tables. The food selection is primarily seafood based, so if you have other dietary preferences that may not be the best place for you. On the other hand, if you enjoy seafood you will find one of the best in this restaurant. Everything based on crab is superb, for example the BBQ and champagne crab was excellent along with a couple of others. Did not try the deserts, so I cannot comment there.

Overall a highly recommended place with excellent combination of ambiance and food quality. The only thing that can be improved in my opinion is the speed of table preparation, we had to wait for more than 15 minutes for our table to be ready, even though it was free upon our arrival.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank vesko9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
labinaNairobi, Director of Sales at Tamarind Mombasa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Vesko, Very many thanks for your most enthusiastic 5 star review. We really appreciate your positive comments about the excellent location the view the outstanding ambiance and the cuisine, particularly the bbq and champagne crab. We have however noted your remarks about the need to improve the speed of service and we sincerely appreciate you bringing this observation to our attention and just to let you know that we are actively working to improve service levels . Many thanks again for your valuable feedback and for recommending us to other visitors. Kind regards Geraldine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2018

location is great with nice views of the sea and city. dhow is great too. unfortunately not the best for vegetarian meals. not much selection available, plus the little that is, is just about average tasting. nice place to go for a drink and chill though.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mirav316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geraldine D, Director of Sales at Tamarind Mombasa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2018

Dear Mirav, Thank you for your review. We are glad you liked the location and sea views at Tamarind, but sorry to hear that the vegetarian selection was not the best. You probably were not aware that Tamarind is a seafood specialty restaurant, hence the limited choice of meat and vegetarian dishes, which up to now have satisfied the non seafood eaters. Nonetheless we look forward to your return visit to drink and chill. Kind regards Geraldine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2018 via mobile

As always for the best sea food and if your on a visit to Mombasa the one must dine at Tamarind. Arriving at the restaurant without a booking we were immediately given a table facing the sea. Most beautiful and breathtaking. We ordered prawn cocktail followed by grilled red snapper. Absolutely delicious. The restaurant is really one 8f the best. A must visit

Thank Abid A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geraldine D, Director of Sales at Tamarind Mombasa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2018

Dear Abid, thank you very much for taking the time to post such a favourable five star review. It gives us great pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your seafood lunch particularly the prawn cocktail followed by grilled red snapper. Our dedicated team work really hard to offer the best of food and service in the most appealing environment so we are pleased to see that reflected in your visit. Your compliments have been passed to all concerned and are a great boost to their efforts. Thank you for the feedback and we look forward to you next visit. Kind regards Geraldine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2018 via mobile

Very good clean place. Good sea food. Recommend it. Normal price. Good stuff. No smoking restaurant.

Thank Maxim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geraldine D, Director of Sales at Tamarind Mombasa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2018

Dear Maxim, Thank you so much for taking the time to review. We appreciate your feedback and are really glad you enjoyed the seafood and the clean environment. Your comments are very welcome and have been passed to all concerned. Kind regards Geraldine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tamarind Mombasa also viewed

Mombasa, Coast Province
Mombasa, Coast Province
 
Mombasa, Coast Province
Mombasa, Coast Province
 

Been to Tamarind Mombasa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing