We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (388)
Filter reviews
388 results
Traveller rating
349
31
7
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
349
31
7
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbase campeagle viewmasai marathe riverdomestic airportgame driveslocal womengreat safarinational parkamazing experiencewalking safarilocal communityanimals grazingoutdoor showeranimal noisesmain campthree nights
Filter
Updating list...
265 - 270 of 388 reviews
Reviewed 4 February 2011

What a place!
My partner and I spent New Year at Basecamp and were delighted with everything about the place.
This started with the drive from the airstrip. We saw so many, and such a variety of animals, that we began to think someone was pushing them out of lorries just round the corner! Our knowledgeable driver knew where we would be likely to see animals large and small. At one point he stopped the car for no apparent reason, until he pointed out a huge dung beetle in the road, rolling his dung home to his lady! We even saw a whole family of bat-eared foxes, perched on a mound.
This set the tone for a magical stay. The 'room' perched on an escarpment, overlooking a water hole, which was constantly visited by animals and stunning birds. The comfortable bed and living area with private balcony. The friendly and amenable staff, always welcoming in the bar. The delicious food, eaten overlooking the waterhole and an unimaginably huge view!
The game drives were filled with even more amazing sites in this secluded part of the Mara. Being outside the park made it much more private, unlike the busy areas which are full of minivans & crisscrossed with roads.
We celebrated the new year under the most amazing star filled sky! What a way to start a new year - surrounded by the most glorious and inspiring nature and catered and cared for by the most friendly and informative staff!
I can't recommend this camp highly enough!!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunGods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2011

Basecamp is a beautiful, romantic and relaxing bushcamp in the Masai Mara. Most important for us was that is is environmentally friendly. It tries to have as little effect as possible on the ecosystem of the park. And at the same time it was very comfortable. Staff was fabulous helpful and friendly and knowledgeable during the game drives. Food and drink exquisite.
It is close enough to the surrounding community to visit and not only to see animals but to get a taste of the lives of the Masai in the vicinity. It's a must for those who care about the environment and who want to have a few pampered days, away from the hussle and bussle of daily life and experience the beauty of nature in Kenya.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IlonaKenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2011

We have just spent a fabulous 3 days at Basecamp Masai Mara
From the moment we arrived it felt like we were a part of the family , the staff from the management , waiters, recptionist , guides et al were very attentive to our needs & nothing was too much
We had a great romantic dinner up in a fig tree on a platform overlooking the talek river and the game reserve it really made a special occasion so much more As for the food , this was excellent and far exceeded our expectations
Whilst the grasses were quite long our driver was amazing able to spot wildlife as tiny spots in the distance and we were lucky enough to see 4 of the big 5
The rooms were comfortable & the camp is run on an eco principle with all waste recycled including dry toilets, the power comes from solar and the free camp walk was very educational , we highly recommend it
The lodge also runs a number of community projects which you are able to visit and support
We would highly recommend staying here if you are planning a trip to the Masai Mara

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelwise088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2011

Have been to Basecamp Masai Mara twice and will visit again this exclusive safari lodge, winner of several Eco awards!
The location of the camp is superb and the wildlife and safaries are unforgettable. The Masai staff are friendly and serviceminded and make the stay excotic and comfortable. You should plan a couple of days at the Wildernes camp, where you can stay even closer to the wild animals!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kjell46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2011

We both had a dream to travel to Africa with all those images from nature documentaries in our head. Well the dream came true at Basecamp Masaii Mara. Fantastic set up and people. The wildlife was abundant and around you. The guides are local Masaii as are many of the staff. So good we got engaged on the verandah of our luxurious tent. A great experience and would highly recommend. We travelled Africa for 3 months but if we had only a week this is where we would head. Make sure you go out to the wilderness camp for a couple of days after a few at the main camp. Cheers everyone at Basecamp.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank indica9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews