We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (11)
Filter reviews
11 results
Traveller rating
0
4
5
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
0
4
5
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 11 reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2011

Great hotel with staff that will go out of their way to help you. Held a 5 day conference with 150 people attending. The hotel fixed lunches and afternoon coffee for all of us and it was great. If we had any requests the staff was very helpful and the management also did their very best to assist. Would also stay here even if I was travelling on my own, nice area (Gombe) and security is good. Extra +++ for the swimingpool. Free internet also a big +.

Room Tip: Room no 7 is very comfortable
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank IngridSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2009

Apart from still reeling about general prices in Kinshasa (how do people get by here?!) the guest house is very "nice". ive never been to DRC before so i have nothing to compare it to. i usually stay in 4 or 5 star hotels at varying prices throughout the world but for $150 per night i find this on the steep side. that apart, however (as i understand they are all pricey!)... i found this comfortable and clean. some english (im english with little french). my room has a shower but you sit in the bath and hold the shower above you. water pressure is sometimes strong but sometimes not. breakfast is bread, croissants, eggs, and some fruit. tea and coffee. US$18. i guess thats the average. dinners i have eaten here have been very nice - average US$20 - US$25. food is available 24hours.

my room is massively big with high ceilings. looks somewhat tired, a grand style but dated. air con works effectively and bed, athough a bit hard for me, is comfortable enough. it s a a place with big chandeliers but almost trying to be what its not. it IS, however, practical and secure for a lone female traveller. i must admit reading the Foreign office website i thought id be mugged as soon as i left the guest house but i find it very different to that. TV is normally on in the lounge area in french but as i was nearest they did ask if i wanted to put on CNN. there isnt too much tv choice. though there is tv in the rooms. ive not put it on to find out what channels they have.

internet is good, free wi-fi. all in all a favourable experience. not that id come back for a holiday here.. i couldnt afford DRC!!! i have said i would recommend this hotel to a friend, yes i would, but i really dont know anyone planning to come. apparently there are some nice restaurents, one was recommended by a colleage as the "Fleur de Sol(or sel"... as it was on the internet as "the finest kinshasa dining experience" i dont think my expenses would run to it!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mandy1808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2008

I have stayed at this guesthouse many times over the past year. It is a welcome contrast to the awful Grand Hotel, across the street. Great location in Gombe, a block away from the River Congo (great walking/jogging route) and many of the European embassies. About the same price as the Grand Hotel, but here the price includes free wifi in all the rooms, and no harassment from drunk foreign soldiers or local prostitutes. A calm oasis in Kinshasa. Some English spoken. Only 9 rooms (avoid room 1 and room 3). Also a well-used conference facility, and the quality of service deteriorates when staff are occupied with a function. There are small fridges in the rooms, but no safe deposit facility; and only a couple of French/Congolese TV channels.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank facey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews