We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glorious Show and Performances”
Review of Metro Al Madina

Metro Al Madina
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Metro Al Madina is an independent theatre company based in Beirut, Lebanon. Found by Hisham Jaber and a group of Theatre enthusiasts, Metro has produced a various amount of shows ranging from theatre performances, concerts and music shows to musicals, orchestras and cabarets. Metro al Madina presents its highly addictive cabaret shows among other in-house productions, and hosts performances by guest acts from the local and regional scene. We like to think we’re promoting a culture of diversity and openness.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Stairs / lift
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I have visited twice whilst in Beirut and it’s a fabtastic night out. Old school charm sung in beautiful Arabic. Very lovely theatre and totally stylish on every level. Can’t wait to visit again this amazing venue and city

Thank pinky b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"cabaret show"
in 2 reviews
"golden era"
in 2 reviews
"audience"
in 4 reviews
"stage"
in 3 reviews
"folklore"
in 2 reviews
"egyptian"
in 4 reviews
"concert"
in 3 reviews
"sufi"
in 2 reviews
"arabic"
in 3 reviews
Filter

1 - 5 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

Theaters are supposed to value the spectators, but unfortunately and without even noticing in the event on facebook that reservation is a must, they made us wait at the door for one hour to be sure that they ll be place for us. This is an unprofessional way of treating the audience.

Thank Rebecca D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
مترو ا, Front Office Manager at Metro Al Madina, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Dear Rebecca,

Thank you for contacting us.

As you mentioned reservation and booking is mandatory for our shows.
We apologize for making you wait before the show for we had a full house on that day . We value our spectators and want everyone to have a beautiful experience .
Hope you enjoyed the performance !

Looking forward to have you again,
Drinks on us !

To avoid future incidents like these kindly reserve ahead of time by calling
+961 763 093 63

or send an Email to
Reservation@metromadina.com

Best ,
Ticketing Metro.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

A n intimate bar/theater that caters to a wide variety of events. I love the old charm of the place with the bow-tied waiters. The entertainment is usually live and lively. last night it was a sufi band that was excellent. Drinks are fair and the place is very friendly. The menu offered a variety of plates but we did not have any food. We opted for drinks while attending the concert.

Thank Loulwa_Kaloyeros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017 via mobile

Located on Hamra main street on a vibrant neighborhood of Beirut, Metro al Madina showcases its artistic commitment from the moment you go down the staircase through the small underground bar serving as antechamber.
A quaint old fashioned stage faces rows of gently sloped seats, in a decor reminiscent of a small French cabaret.
People come here to listen to the band, not show off or party loudly. This place is more dedicated to artistic integrity than easy commercially produced soundbites.
The crowd leans toward the young counter-culture side of the audience spectrum.
This is one of the few places in Beirut where original music is actually celebrated.

Thank Yanis J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2017

My seat was a narrow, uncomfortable stacking chair that was packed in a row, touching the other chairs on either side and close behind a table that was not high enough for knees to fit under it. So it was worse than being on a plane and in the middle seat in Economy class.

Feels like they're maximizing their revenue at the expense of providing a good experience.

And there was an aisle on the other side of the table, with people coming and going -- blocking my view of the stage -- every couple minutes. Unlike a lot of venues, they will seat people and serve drinks after the performance starts, without regard for the disruptions and distractions.

I'm fine with long flights in the middle seat in Economy, but that set-up was uncomfortable enough that I left at intermission with my knees, back, backside feeling far less than well.

By the way, they don't have a phones-off policy and I sat next to someone who -- it's no exaggeration to say this -- couldn't go 10 minutes w/o checking his phone.

A minor point, though one that fit with the general sense of operation being greedy and indifferent: I ordered a water, was handed a room-temp bottle of the cheapest water you'll find in a store, no choice of chilled or not.

One person's view: the singer was tremendous and the venue has potential, though the people running it could do with a less focus on making as much money as possible, more focus on providing a good experience for people who spend their money to go there.

Thank delrob2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Metro Al Madina also viewed

 

Been to Metro Al Madina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing