We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
In high demand - travellers recommend booking ahead!
  
Ways to Experience The Western Wall Tunnels
from US$1,050.00
More Info
from US$145.00
More Info
Reviews (3,107)
Filter reviews
3,107 results
Traveller rating
2,443
508
122
20
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,443
508
122
20
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews western wall temple mount tunnel tour above ground huge stones old city tour takes great tour muslim quarter king herod ancient history amazing experience guide foundation engineering site thousands
Filter
Updating list...
188 - 193 of 3,107 reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2018 via mobile

The excellent tour guides here do a good job placing the Western Wall in context geographically, historically, and religiously. I have been there several times and will definitely want to go again. Great for all ages but need to be able to walk the path. Not recommended for baby strollers.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank David-HaMevaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018 via mobile

I would recommend a guide. Not recommended for people that walk with difficulty or people that do not like confined spaces. Many stairs and narrow tunnels at places. Do not think it is a good activity for young children

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Simmelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018

Dont miss this site. Right next to the Western Wall, takes you back in time in a fun, interactive walk along actual history.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank rjaffelieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018

Having not visited these tunnels in my last visit to Israel, these were high on my list for our groups visit this time. I was not disappointed - as other reviewers have mentioned, these are a 'must do.'
Our guide made the tunnels come alive with their descriptions of Jerusalem in the earlier centuries and how the layers of the city had built up. It is amazing to think that so many layers of history are above you as you walk through the tunnels.
Make sure you book this attraction as part of your visit to Israel.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank kiwisc0t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018

Jerusalem has long been in a "tough neighborhood", having to serve not only as the capital of both a historical and a contemporary Jewish state, but also in need of providing a means to survive a siege. Tunnels were used as water conduits and storage, as place of refuge, as a means of travel in the Temple area. These were able to be excavated only after Jerusalem was re-united in 1967 after from illegal Jordanian rule following the separation of the city per the 1948 war of Israeli Independence. Appreciate its history and that it is part of a more than 2000 year Jewish presence - regardless of Moslem protestations to the contrary.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Bruce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews