We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So old-”

Old City of Jerusalem
Ranked #1 of 260 things to do in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Characterized by narrow, winding streets and alleyways, this ancient part of the city is filled with shrines and attractions holy to Jews, Christians and Muslims including the Western Wall, Temple Mount and the Church of the Holy Sepulchre.
Reviewed 2 May 2018

Everything from the tiny streets packed with "eager" vendors, people and motor vehicles to ancient architecture is fascinating. Don't say some trinket looks nice or touch it even if you don't want to buy it- the vendor won't let go of you until you buy it or something else.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (12,245)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"old city"
in 3,411 reviews
"western wall"
in 827 reviews
"narrow streets"
in 177 reviews
"jaffa gate"
in 344 reviews
"jewish quarter"
in 333 reviews
"via dolorosa"
in 311 reviews
"different cultures"
in 87 reviews
"every corner"
in 101 reviews
"wailing wall"
in 255 reviews
"four quarters"
in 142 reviews
"holy sepulchre"
in 277 reviews
"bucket list"
in 79 reviews
"religious sites"
in 114 reviews
"holy places"
in 93 reviews
"temple mount"
in 246 reviews
"falafel"
in 81 reviews
"take your time"
in 74 reviews
Filter

717 - 721 of 12,247 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2018

Each time I tour the Old City of Jerusalem, I see it w/new eyes & new sites. This time, I spent more time at Yad Vashim, so humbling an experience, of this horrific event against Jewish people. Then, I could spend every day @ the Western Wall, to pray, praise, & intercede. This time, a Thursday, many families there for Bar Mitzeh celebrations. What a joy to behold. Another high point was visiting the Tomb of King David & walking thru the Cardo. On otherr occasions I have gone thru the Muslim Quarter & the Stations of the Cross to the Church of the Holy Seplechre, which was interesting but not enough to repeat this visit.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank jzmazzola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2018

Jerusalem was wonderful and the Old City was unbelievable. I am so happy I went on this trip. Such a wonderful experience!

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank redmannancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2018 via mobile

We visited the old city late April by ourselves and it was an overwhelming experience. We spent all day in the old city, which allowed us enough time to see all the sites at our leisure. We walked part of the wall, but from there you mainly see rooftops, so we quickly decided to go back to street level and truly experience the old city. Really take your time to wander through the small alleyways and also go of the beaten track to also experience the quieteness. The old city is definitely a must see, but is also very overwhelming due to all the people, sounds, smells and impressions.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank 333nielsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2018 via mobile

Many tourists. Take a waterbottle with you. I would recommend a good guide. Pick what you want to see beforehand as there is simply too much to see, especially if you have limited time.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Simmelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old City of Jerusalem also viewed

 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Old City of Jerusalem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing