We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Great intro to city

I am a big fan of the free tour system, after accidentally finding it in Moscow (have also taken... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
nyctravelr
,
New York, NY
Old and new town tours

We were a party of four OAP found the two tours very interesting and enabled us to revisit sites on... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
anne2264
,
Swansea south wales
via mobile
Read all 108 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Istanbul
from US$27.55
More Info
from US$150.00
More Info
from US$65.00
More Info
from US$81.00
More Info
Reviews (108)
Filter reviews
108 results
Traveller rating
94
6
3
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
94
6
3
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great tour free walking tour town tour great introduction to the city old city no pressure to buy cool stories visiting markets kebab place baklava shop smoke shisha famous sights morning tour turkish history and culture friendly guide borek local life
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 108 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2018

Wow, what a cool Experience. Oz was an absolute legend. This was a great way to see the city, but to also hear about the rich history that Istanbul has to offer. It blew me away hearing the cool stories. Oz is a great story teller as well. His knowledge is fantastic. I can definitely recommend Oz. He also does a food tour as well, so ask about that. A MUST DO! Choose Oz.

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank wesleyvasile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boon4545, Manager at Free Istanbul Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Thank you Wesley :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018

I booked a tour online but got no email, I went to the location anyway on the booked day; I found a Spanish speaking tour first and then walking around and found an English tour. Initially there was only two people there and within five minutes of me getting there, another twelve or so people turned up; in total we were over twenty people in the group.

We were told to sign a group sheet, several people (including myself) mentioned we gave the details online and the guide said you do not need to book online, just turn-up on the day.

Our tour did not cover some of the aspects of this tour but was the same length, started at the same time and was meeting at the same starting point.

Only after looking at the reviews and pictures online, it is became clear that other people in the past have done a walking tour with a different company and not just people in my walking tour group including myself. If your tour guide carried a red umbrella, it is not this tour and as the only two tour guides were carrying a red umbrella, where was this tour?

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank RWandSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boon4545, Owner at Free Istanbul Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Dear

We sent our meeting point clearly to our guests.So far you are the only one who couldn't find our meeting point and joined to another tour.And it s very difficult for me to understand that you wrote such a review and gave us 2 stars.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2018 via mobile

This tour was an excellent way to explore Istanbul’s old city. The guide was friendly and knowledgeable, plus all of the locations were interesting and well explained.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Y8855AWtomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2018 via mobile

Oguz is one super friendly, flexible and decent guide! He is simply incredible!
When it came to our “never ending” questions, he always answered with a smile while carefully making sure that we understood!
From touring the old town of Istanbul all the way to the new town, markets, fairies and remarkably rich historical landmarks and sites, he made sure to cover all the details/info all along the way! He even taught us tips n’ tricks on how to negotiate in Turkish when visiting markets! Now that was unique! :)))
Annnnd to add a final special touch to our tour, Oguz took us through the charming little streets and hidden alleys of Istanbul, to a 300 years old tea house that was still operational and that was aaaaaabsolutely magnificent! Then he took us to the finger licking unforgettably unique BAKLAVA #1 shop in town!
He certainly made our visit to Turkey pleasantly unforgettable and we totally recommend him as THE GUIDE you need to have!

Date of experience: May 2018
2  Thank Falalala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2018 via mobile

The tour was quite interesting. Peri was a very knowledgeable and friendly guide.
I would definitely recommend this tour. The only thing that bummed us is that there are many unclear things concerning organisation:
- the name of the tour is confusing (apparently there are several companies providing this service. Call yourselves the Red Umbrella Free Walking Tour?).
- therefore, it's not clear which web-site to use for booking (IT'S NOT PROVIDED ON TRIPADVISOR).
- some people here wrote that the tour starts @9:30, which was the time we showed uo. It's good that we decided to come back @ 10.30, thinking that we might have gotten the time wrong. The English-speaking tour was actually at 10:45 am.
- they actually accept walk-ins (which is great), although some people here said you MUST sign up. Everyone who comes has to put their name on theie sign-up sheet.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Anna_I_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boon4545, Yönetici at Free Istanbul Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2018

Hello Anna

We have no tour guide named Peri i guess you took tour with another company

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews