We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (38)
Filter reviews
38 results
Traveller rating
12
10
6
3
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
12
10
6
3
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthree bedroom apartmentbed linenlaundryratesfacilities
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 38 reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2017

Have stayed in this place for 2 months for business. Like the other reviews, the place is still under construction and there was a lot of noise during the day - which isn't the best place to be and are charged so much. Although I must say the staff , housekeeping, travel , gym et al have been very courteous. Special thanks to Sriyantha , Rizwan, Nilanka, Nuwan and Pradeep for all the extra efforts. The reception didn't have time to listen to what we were trying to order or say or were in a hurry all the time and the managers very curt. Over all a very average experience but got to meet some really nice people.

Room Tip: Opt for rooms on the higher floors facing the sea.
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Vandana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 23 February 2017

Dear Vandana S,

Greetings from The Kingsbury!

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Kingsbury Apartments. We appreciate your feedback and comments which are duly noted. Rest assured all your comments have been brought to the notice of the management who have taken the necessary steps to ensure that these issues are rectified. We are glad that some aspects of your stay were to your satisfaction and that you enjoyed the hospitality of our staff. Thank you for acknowledging the dedication and efforts of our staff individually.

Thank you for your patronage. We hope your recent experience does not impair the trust placed in us and do hope we get the opportunity of welcoming you back.

Warmest Regards,

Sheahana Wickramasinghe
Customer Relationship Manager
The Kingsbury

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2017

Awful, awful, awful! Supposedly a 5 star group of apartments belonging to the Kingsbury Hotel group, charging outrageous prices. In reality, what guests are lumbered with is a horror construction zone where you will never get any peace and quiet. There is a lot of loud construction going on from various floors at all hours of the day and night 7 days a week. The staff don't seem to care or do anything about it. The apartments are large and bright, however, the vehicle entrance to the apartments is tiny and difficult to find, despite being off a major main road. Service in public areas of the apartments was mostly friendly (manned by Kingsbury Hotel staff) but no guests would ever recommend nor go to these apartments if the horrible construction noise does not stop - it is like being on holiday inside a grinder daily. Also, security is lacking in that we had other tourists knocking on our door at 2am, clearly under the influence of alcohol. There should be secure card entry to floors as the building was accessible straight off the main road and through a shopping centre. Nice rooftop pool but did not use it as the birds off the street fly in and do their business by the poolside and i watched as they also drank water straight out of the pool! Again, lots of construction and maintenance workers walk past as you are on the pool loungers making it very intrusive. Air conditioning units leaked, there was mould growing on ceilings, elevators take upto 10/15 minutes to come up at times and the electricity goes off while people are in the elevators so you better hope you are not claustraphobic! Colombo has far too many other high-end options to be stuck here suffering with the awful construction noise, putting up with the terrible service and swimming alongside dirty birds in this "building of horrors". Our happiest moment was checking out!

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrentR154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2016 via mobile

First of all the staff are not friendly, and very rude. they don't know how to take a simple in room dining order, have to talk to 3-4 ppl in order to give an order and when it comes the order is all mixed up. They simply didn't even know what a normal simple omelet means.
The master bedroom bathroom was flooding, the AC was leaking, didn't have any place to keep the toilet bag in the bathroom.
Before 8 in the morning they start their construction in the upper floors which sounds like as if it's knocking on our heads, which was very difficult as we had a 4 month old baby who needs to sleep every 2-3 hours.
They charge like a 5 start hotel, but it's 1-2 start.
I would never advice anyone to go this hotel.
A total disaster n a waste of money n time and instead of relaxing u get stressed we hated it

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank dhaath-a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRMTheKingsbury, CRM at The Kingsbury Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews