We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7,452)
Filter reviews
7,452 results
Traveller rating
6,092
1,018
242
62
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
6,092
1,018
242
62
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviews opera wing bamboo bar old wing bomb shelter macaroons spices garden bunker tour le beaulieu chocolate buffet joan baez grand premium room butler service historical hotel vietnam war vietnamese restaurant club floor elegant hotel
Filter
Updating list...
170 - 175 of 7,452 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2018

We spent 4 nights in Hanoi and I wish it could have been more. The hotel was perfectly located with all the hustle and bustle of both the French quarter and the Old Quarter on its door step. However cross the thresh hold into the hotel and everything is calm and elegance, a real oasis in the exciting chaos of Hanoi.
The staff were excellent, very friendly and knowledgeable - they arranged an amazing birthday surprise for our twins who turned 5 whilst we were staying there - a chocolate high tea that Willy Wonka would have been proud of surrounded by balloons and photos of the children growing up. The chef even produced a special cake with a picture of both twins on the top.
If you get the chance try the french restaurant even if its just for light lunch on the street watching the world go by, do go on the hotel tour as its history is truly amazing and you get to visit the forgotten bomb shelter discovered by the pool. Finally if you can book into the club level as the additional benefits are well worth the additional cost.

Room Tip: Club level is well worth the extra and a suite with interconnecting room worked fantastically for our family with 3 children plus a nanny
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buttieandpants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLMHHanoi, General Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2018

Dear buttieandpants,

We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to give your feedback to the Trip Advisor community.

We are glad that our team was able to create the memorable experience for you and your family with the amazing birthday of your twins. Our staff members take their roles in our industry very seriously and try, every day, to provide that quality customer service that our guests expect. We will share your comments with our team. We are sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

We will surely be glad to welcome you back!

Kind regards,

William J. Haandrikman
General Manager
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2018 via mobile

Lucky enough to stay at the Sofitel Metropole Hanoi on business.
A bra utiful hotel with a great deal of history- take the time to go through the hotel and learn a little of the history.
The staff are fantastic - happy, pleasant and looking for ways to please. Clearly a great culture built by management, not to mention training and development. I only experienced breakfast, however that was of an extremely high standard again with wonderful staff.

Stephen Beatty

Stayed: August 2018, travelled on business
Thank stephen_beatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLMHHanoi, General Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2018

Dear stephen_beatty,

We thank you so much for sharing your experience with other fellow travelers here regarding your recent stay at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi.

The Sofitel Metropole team appreciates your commendations. Rest assured that we will continue to provide the service that delights our guests. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back and be of service to you again soon.

Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back before long.

Kind regards,

William J. Haandrikman
General Manager
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2018 via mobile

Hotel Metropole Hanoi never failed me, it was a wonderful experience, perfect in every details. I found that they have a Bunker Tour which was a worthy 45 mins tour for me, the guide was great and enthusiastic. Finally 5 star for the best 5 star hotel in Hanoi.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MaiAnh_Nguyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLMHHanoi, General Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2018

Dear MaiAnh_Nguyen,

Thank you very much for sharing your marvelous comments, we are flattered to read know that you had you had an overall great experience. We are humbled by your kind words, rest assured that we will share to the team for the purpose of inspiring them to continuously strive hard in achieving excellence.

Thank you for your ongoing supports and we are looking forward to be at your service again on your next Magnifique journey

Kind regards,

William J. Haandrikman
General Manager
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2018 via mobile

We stayed in a club room in the Opera Wing. The room was large, beautifully decorated with a great bathroom. The Hermes toiletries were superb. The service in the club room was exceptional. A stand-out hotel!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank KLFMadrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLMHHanoi, General Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2018

Dear KLFMadrid,

We thank you so much for sharing your experience with other fellow travelers here regarding your experience at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the Club room with beautiful decoration, the Hermes amenities and moreover the service of our ambassadors. Please rest assured that your great comment will be shared with our colleagues who will be very motivated.

We eagerly look forward to your next return visit.

Warm regards,

William Haandrikman
General Manager
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018

All team was upstanding!!! Perfect management! From the airport limousine to the room access and welcome drink, the staff were all out standing! Good training!!! Nice week end to redo another time. To recommend without condition.

Room Tip: located in down town Hanoi in ht French Colonial district.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reveille H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLMHHanoi, General Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2018

Dear Reveille H,

We are most grateful that you took the time to share with us your feedback about your recent stay at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi and to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.

It is pleasure of learn that the hotel limousine, the room and the warm welcome of our team delighted you.

Thank you for your kind recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back before long.

Warm regards,

William J. Haandrikman
General Manager
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews