We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7,499)
Filter reviews
7,499 results
Traveller rating
6,137
1,020
242
62
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
6,137
1,020
242
62
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviews opera wing bamboo bar old wing bomb shelter macaroons spices garden bunker tour le beaulieu chocolate buffet joan baez grand premium room vietnam war historical hotel butler service vietnamese restaurant club floor elegant hotel
Filter
Updating list...
394 - 399 of 7,499 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2018 via mobile

We stayed at the Metropole for four nights two weeks ago. We got upgraded to a larger room upon arriving which was a nice gesture. The hotel has a rich history with Hanoi and we loved every moment spent there. The attention to details, the quality of the staff at the hotel is most appreciated. Jacky from the front desk greeted us and made sure everything went smoothly throughout our stay. He even gave us a private visit of the underground bong shelter used during the war. It was such a great.
Every staff at the Metropole hotel deeply understands the importance of excellence in service. I must point out that the concierge is by far the best we have experienced. They went out of their way to help us out in various bookings and arrangements. The tour desk has arranged great outings for us. We were most delighted and will definitely return.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank F&S Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLMHHanoi, General Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2018

Dear F&S Y,

We are extremely thankful to learn that you have enjoyed your stay at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi.

Thank you so much for recognizing our excellent service in different outlets especially the warm hospitality of Jacky. Be sure that this one has been immediately passed onto him. Your contentment and comfort is our utmost reward. Our ambassadors are dedicated to providing you with an incomparable level of personalized service designed for our guests and we are more than happy we met your expectations.

We appreciate your kind recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back soon to Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi.

Sincerely,

William Haandrikman
General Manager
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018

We have just stayed in the hotel for 3 nights and we were delighted with the experience. The staff were helpful and friendly and were always there to help without being intrusive. The room was spacious and very comfortable. The food and drinks were always to a very high standard. It was just a delight to stay at this hotel.

Room tip: Opera wing 7th floor near to the club
Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank C0lin365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLMHHanoi, General Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2018

Dear C0lin365

Thank you for your review and nice words about our Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi. We are glad to learn that you enjoyed your experience from the room to the food and drink and our "friendly" and "helpful" Ambassadors delighted you.

We appreciate your kind recommendation and we look forward welcome you to Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi for another exquisite stay.

My best regards,

William Haandrikman
General Manager
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018

We stayed here for 4 nights and loved it. Perfect location for the old town and it's great restaurants. We only had breakfast and a couple of small lunches by the pool but both meal types were excellent. We stayed in early April and although they claim the pool is 28C it definitely wasn't and was a shame it was so cold. We still got in though. The mattress was the most comfy we have slept on anywhere and I wish I had asked what it's make was so that I could buy one for home. Friendly and helpful staff. The hotel obviously caters for a mixed bag of guests from corporate to young couples and families. I would definitely stay again.

Room tip: There is more than one restaurant to have breakfast but our favourite was next to the pool.
Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goodbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLMHHanoi, General Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2018

Dear goodbus,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your stay.

It is nice to know that you have enjoyed our comfortable MyBed. We do sell it at our La Boutique shop. We are humbled that you are delighted with our breakfast. It is wonderful to hear that our service met your expectation. I have shared your compliments with the entire team and your satisfaction really serves as great motivation to all of us.

We are looking forward to welcome you back in the near future and thank you for your recommendations.

My best regards,

William Haandrikman
General Manager
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018

We wished we had had longer to stay than just the one night. The hotel is lovely and we would have liked to learn more about its history. The staff did offer this but unfortunately we were on a night Vespa tour so couldn't take up the kind offer. It was our anniversary and they marked the occasion with a beautiful box of heart shaped chocolates. The rooms are very comfortable and ours looked out onto the pool area. The breakfast was superb, one of the best we had. All in all a wonderful first night in Vietnam!

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLMHHanoi, General Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2018

Dear Sue O,

Thank you for your nice review on TripAdvisor.

We are much delighted to know that you had a memorable anniversary at our Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi. t’s a pleasure to hear that you find the room comfortable and the breakfast "superb".

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcome you back in the future.

With warm regards,

William Haandrikman
General Manager
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018

This hotel is undoubtedly beautiful with so much history. There is a tour of the tunnel that was used by the guests when Hanoi was being bombed. Very interesting tour which is free for hotel guests. Everything about the hotel is five star as in everything! Special mention to the manager of Spices Garden who was so accomodating. I requested to use our Accor cards to get the usual discount on food as Accor members. We were a party of 5 with 2 Accor members. He even explained the food that we were about to eat, which region of Vietnam it came from. He is the epitome of 5 star hotel dining. Sofitel Hanoi is in a very nice location and around a 10 minute walk to the central shopping area. In the evening, you may see locals dancing in the square next to the hotel. Charming! Needless to say, breakfast is so wonderful!

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank peachiepink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLMHHanoi, General Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2018

Dear peachiepink

Thank you for your personal feedback regarding your recent visit here in Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi.

I am happy that you were delighted with the French colonial atmosphere,the Path of history tour. Your compliment on the special service of our Spices Garden Manager will be shared with him and the whole team as great motivation to him and all of us.

Thank you very much for your great review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Warm regards,

William Haandrikman
General Manager
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews