We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,296)
Filter reviews
2,296 results
Traveller rating
1,503
577
153
35
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,503
577
153
35
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews horizon club chi spa kad cafe night market premier room health club pool staff pool area the executive lounge club room main restaurant building work beautiful hotel large pool our honeymoon buffet breakfast old city
Filter
Updating list...
362 - 367 of 2,296 reviews
Reviewed 18 January 2017

This was our first trip to Chiang Mai, and the hotel was our first stop on the visit. My wife and I were floored by the amazing friendliness of the staff at the hotel and the level of service that we received. Every single person at the hotel would greet us with a smile and would ask what they could do to help. The concierge was helpful in contacting a tour company that was late to pick us up, the front desk and Horizon Club staff was very thorough showing us around the hotel and the facilities. The cleaning staff even went the extra mile, folding the clothes that we had left lying around and straightening-up everything on every surface (desk, bathroom, tables, etc.)

We noticed that everyone in Chiang Mai was this friendly, but our experience at this hotel made us want to return on our next vacation.

The only negative I would note is that the price is a bit high compared to other hotels in Chiang Mai, but it's difficult to say that the service wasn't worth it.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
1  Thank DFW_roddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FRichter_GM, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2017

Dear DFW_roddie,

Thank you very much for this wonderful 5 stars review full of WOWS on Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai.

I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are thrilled to hear that you will return back here again. Your loyalty to, and patronage of Shangri-La Hotel is greatly valued and I very much hope we may have the opportunity to welcome you back ‘home’ in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,
Franz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2017 via mobile

As all you can expect from Shangri - La, it's walking distance to the night market and enough space to be quiet. With a variety of food and massage places nearby.
Spacious hotel and beautiful pool. Staffs were friendly.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Jenneelam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FRichter_GM, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2017

Dear Jenneelam,

I appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay with us and I am pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Our location is very convenient and close to many places of interest including shopping areas, restaurants and I am happy that this suited you.

Look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,
Franz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2017

Looking to 'rough it' ? Well don't come here ! As you would expect from this brand and price bracket, this is a well appointed and very comfortable hotel with all the little touches necessary to make their clients feel cosseted. It's well located with plenty to see within walking distance. The rooms are large and the service up to Shangi-La standards. Breakfast is worth a special mention : I have rarely seen such a comprehensive spread.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
Thank mapHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FRichter_GM, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2017

Dear mapHongKong,

Thank you so much for patronizing Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai.

We strive everyday to deliver the best experiences to our guests and extremely grateful when these are being recognized and makes us proud to be the part of this beautiful hotel and team.

We look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits.

Yours sincerely,
Franz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Shangri-La in Chiang Mai. The pool was very nice as was the kids club area. The spa was nice, but a little overpriced and overrated when there are so many nice, inexpensive options nearby. We used a driver from the hotel for our excursions, and we were also pleased with that service.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank staciethebaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FRichter_GM, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2017

Dear staciethebaker,

Thank you very much for this wonderful 5 stars review on Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai. We are all delighted to learn that your stay with us fully met your expectations and we will of course share your gracious compliments with the whole team.

We all look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon.

Yours sincerely,
Franz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed hereon our honeymoon and it was a perfect stay. On arrival we had flowers, wine chocolates and more. Throughout our stay we were treated excellently and this was the same for all people staying. Great pool and the spa is amazing. It is located within 5 minutes walking distance to the night bazaar and many other street markets. There are always tuk tuks out front, I would advise using these rather than taxis organised by the hotel as they are expensive.
Great stay, I would certainly recommend. This hotel suits everyone from couples to families.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank CA_Kerr1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FRichter_GM, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2017

Dear CA_Kerr1988,

It’s a pleasure to read your kind review and thank you for making Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai part of your honeymoon celebration.

We are all delighted to learn that your stay with us fully met your expectations and we will of course share your gracious compliments with the whole team.

We all look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon.

Yours sincerely,
Franz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews