We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$364
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
BED Phrasingh(Chiang Mai)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$169
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai(Chiang Mai)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
V Lodge(Chiang Mai)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
HOSTEL by BED(Chiang Mai)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sleep Guesthouse(Chiang Mai)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,626)
Filter reviews
2,626 results
Traveller rating
2,109
381
86
31
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,109
381
86
31
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclub suitekasara suitebritish consulateriver view suitefree laundrynight marketday bedprivate loungeping rivercold towelsbeautiful hotelour honeymoonmain restaurantlarge balconycoffee machinefour seasonsmini bar
Filter
Updating list...
433 - 438 of 2,626 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2016

The Staff provide brilliant service. Their attention to detail in delivering service is second to none.

The Hotel Rooms are also great. I've been travelling to this hotel for 7yrs, and they continue to deliver beyond expectations

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 563andrewdavidp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_AnantaraChiangMai, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2016

Dear 563andrewdavidp

Greetings from Anantara Chiang Mai Resort.

It was with great pleasure that I read your positive review on Trip Advisor about your recent stay with us.

On behalf of all our team members, we appreciate you taking the time and effort to post your comments and are delighted to receive such glowing praise. We are very proud of the warm hospitality and exceptional service we offer, and I shall certainly pass on your feedback to our team members.

As a valued returning guest, we look forward to welcoming you again for another memorable stay in Chiang Mai.

Yours sincerely,

Syahreza Ishwara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2016

Understated, elegant, and impeccable service. Beautiful pool, overlooking the river. Superb breakfasts (not as impressive as the Anantara Layan in Phuket, but close) served in what I was told was a building that housed the British consulate at one point in time. It's a gem of colonial architecture, with dark wood and beautiful details. One night when we were exhausted we ate in the bar in this building as well, the food was excellent, as was the service. The main restaurant was closed for renovations. However there are lots of excellent places to eat (including the Sunday walking market with zillions of inexpensive, clean, tasty options), so I wouldn't necessarily make a point to eat in the restaurant.

Other common areas, semi-open air, were also elegant and understated. A pleasure to relax in. Sheltered from sun and rain.

The part of the building we were in was clean, quiet, and zen-like to close to spartan in character. The room was well appointed with a modern bathroom and comfortable bed.It was spotless and the air conditioning worked well. The only true negative I can say about the room is that there were very few available power outlets, and the easily accessible ones were built into the desk. They were hard to get to, and if using adapters you had to be creative to plug electronics in to them. This would have been fine in the 1980's or even 2000, but with each person bringing a cell phone and a digital camera, it's not enough. A minor, but annoying, negative.

The building in which our room was located had a feel to it like it was built in the late 1960's or early 70's, with large heavy hardwood wooden slabs forming the outer door to the room. Behind this was a small antechamber where you could remove your shoes, drop an umbrella, etc. The walls of the hallway were open to the outside, and here inner wall matched the outer doors. It felt a little dated. Pretty in its own way, and completely in synch with the environment, but dated. It's a minor point and one that reflects my taste rather than any true deficiency.

Location: hard to beat. Just outside of the old city, a short tuk-tuk ride to the Sunday night walk and the regular night market.

Would stay again without hesitation.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Zedd97511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_AnantaraChiangMai, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2016

Dear Zedd97511

Greetings from Anantara Chiang Mai Resort.

It sounds like you had a relax stay while here in Chiang Mai. I would agree that our location beside the Ping River is a perfect base from which to explore the best that Chiang Mai has to offer. There is no doubt that the resort is well recognised internationally due to it's stunning architecture as well as it's personalised service.

Needless to say we always love to make such a positive impression. I will certainly discuss your comments with the team as we are indeed currently reviewing all areas to see where we can lift to even higher levels.

We truly appreciate the time you’ve taken to share your views about our luxurious riverside retreat and look forward to welcoming you again for another memorable stay in Chiang Mai.

Yours sincerely,

Syahreza Ishwara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2016

We stayed here in August 2016 and had two rooms, one suite and one double for the kids.

The location is excellent just outside the old town along the river so it is quieter than some of the other hotels yet close enough that you are anywhere in 5 mins on a tuk tuk. It's about 15 mins from the airport

The rooms are well appointed with everything you'd expect. The hotel was very quiet and even a large corporate event at the hotel did not disturb us at all. Staff were very frienfly and helpful, although like happens a lot in Thailand staff English knowledge in general was average to poor.

While the interiors have the usual Anantara understated look, the hotel in general was a bit tired and could use a refresh in terms of bathrooms, furniture and overall upkeep. It wasn't a problem per se but at this cost level I would expect top quality.

Food quality in our view was excellent and the Spa is extremely nice with my wife having an excellent massage.

Overall we were very happy with our choice but the hotel could use a little bit of a refresh in decor / maintenance.

Room Tip: Book a suite, they are not much more expensive but 3x the size, give access to a lounge and various discounts that make it good value.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soaks1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_AnantaraChiangMai, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2016

Dear Soaks1968

Greetings from Anantara Chiang Mai Resort and thank you for constructive review on Trip Advisor during your recent stay with us.

I would agree that our location beside the Ping River is a perfect base from which to explore the best that Chiang Mai has to offer. Needless to say we always love to make such a positive impression. I will certainly discuss your recommendations with the team as we are indeed currently reviewing all areas to see where we can lift to even higher levels.

We truly appreciate the time you’ve taken to share your views about our luxurious riverside retreat and look forward to welcoming you again in the future to making your stay even more amazing in any way we can. Thank you again from your Anantara family in Chiang Mai!

Yours sincerely,

Syahreza Ishwara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2016

Anantara has the feel of a resort and it lives up to that sensation. well laid out and certainly designed with the feel of a south Asian spa - slightly zen like.

great rooms, big and well appointed; great balconies.

A very good restaurant; the all you can eat Asian dinner is well worth it for a family; nice portions and very tasty and well presented food.

All round very good service; attentive and professional.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Eamon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_AnantaraChiangMai, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2016

Dear Eamon C

Greetings from Anantara Chiang Mai Resort.

It is a pleasure to hear about your amazing story with us. Such positive feedback is extremely valuable to us, since it encourages our team members to deliver the very best experiences from the start to finish of each guest’s stay. There is no doubt our dining experiences at the resort are certainly an experience not to miss while in Chiang Mai.

We truly appreciate the time you’ve taken to share your views about our luxurious riverside retreat and look forward to welcoming you again for another memorable stay in Chiang Mai.

Yours sincerely,

Syahreza Ishwara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2016

Hotel was great! Included breakfast was great and service from all staff was excellent and the food at the restaurant was amazing!
Location is perfect too. Walk-able distance from Old Town.
Definitely recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank VPBLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_AnantaraChiangMai, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2016

Dear VPBLS

Greetings from Anantara Chiang Mai Resort and thank you for great review of your recent stay with us.

We are glad to know you enjoy your stay here in Chiang Mai and we appreciate your nice compliments on our breakfast and service offering. I would agree that our location beside the Ping River is a perfect base from which to explore the best that Chiang Mai has to offer.

Once again thank you for the time to sharing your views about our luxurious riverside retreat and look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable stay in Chiang Mai.

Yours sincerely,

Syahreza Ishwara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews