We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (313)
Filter reviews
313 results
Traveller rating
127
135
38
11
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
127
135
38
11
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ping river night market old city overlooks the river halal food small restaurant rooms are basic home away from home travel desk bit dated within walking distance drinking water stayed here for nights quiet location air con the ground floor tours
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 313 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2018

I've been coming back to Galare House for years. I rank it five stars at its price level. If there is a better place in Chiang Mai at the price, I want to know where it is. I do think some rooms & bathrooms are getting a bit run down but I'm still coming back for the value. The rooms are decent enough and make you feel like your actually in Chiang Mai (not Bangkok, Hong Kong, or Vegas). The trees make things cool and house birds and too-kae. If you want to avoid the sterile hotel scene and skip the new "boutique" hotels that are new, super clean, techie, fashionable, but essentially non-unique, I recommend Galare House. Also, Lanna Travel Service at Galare House is absolutely terrific. Khun Dhoo and Khun Tom are first-rate professionals; friendly, and amazingly capable. I would trust them and the whole Galare staff with my children they are so genuine and honest.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rdayley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2018

This is a GUESTHOUSE, not a hotel which seems to have ‘confused’ a couple of previous reviewers. It is a former wooden residence and looks attractive. For us, the location was superb and within easy walking distance of Nawarat Bridge, Wararot Market and the Night Market; as a bonus, there is an attractive temple, Wat Buparam, nearby on Thapae Road. My wife, adult son (a stroke victim) and myself stayed here for 8 nights between 6 - 14 April 2018 in two rooms, 104 and 105 on the ground floor, looking out onto the front garden/sitting out/sunbathing area and we paid a total of Bht 15,565, not including any food. It was quiet as it is located in a side road and there were no late night revellers.

This guesthouse is simply furnished and some of the items in the rooms have seen better days but the essentials are done well. The air-conditioning was excellent (and needed to be as the daytime temperatures were 38C for the last 3 days), the beds comfortable (one queen and a single in both rooms) and there was sufficient space. The ‘fridge was small but worked really well, there is a room safe and a hot water boiler, with plenty of drinking water supplied and more outside if you need it. The TV in our room worked fine but the one in Room 104 needs some attention and the wifi worked well (though you may have to re-enter a new password every now and then). The shower is adequate but shower early if you want some warmer water. It is not often that you wake up to the sound of birds in the garden in a hotel or guesthouse. Open and close the front door quickly to prevent mosquitoes getting in and free repellent is supplied by the guesthouse but the little blighters did not present a major problem so long as you are sensible. The electrical sockets are two flat, parallel prongs. There are no torches for emergency use so take your own; there was a short electricity interruption early one morning and I only had the one torch and none of the night staff spoke English. The ‘phone in Room 104 was OK but the one in Room 105 was more temperamental. The room is cleaned every day. Breakfast was nice and an American breakfast was US$3.5 for eggs, bacon, fresh fruit, toast and tea/coffee, swerved by smiling staff. The kitchen is open from 07.00 am to 8.30 pm and the peaceful eating area overlooks the river.

Walk out of the guesthouse, turn left and there is a laundry a few metres away on the right. Go on to the end of the road and tuk tuks and song keows are available in Charoen Prathet Road – ask Galare to write down the address in Thai for the drivers and we had no difficulties returning. Turn left and 50 metres or so you will see a mini mart on your right. Walk another 100 metres or so along the same road in the same direction, and on your left you will see the SK moneychangers (just before you get to the Iron Bridge) who are safe and offer a good rate. Walk over the Iron Bridge and diagonally opposite to the right is the Rimping Supermarket. To go back a bit, walk out of the Galare, turn left and left again at the end of the road, walk past the minimart and Porn Ping Towers to the second turning on your right, Charoenprathet Lane (Soi) 6 Alley (there is Ram, an open bar/nightclub on your left corner) and if you look along the street you will see a large yellow and red (I think) sign saying MASSAGE high up on the left at the far end of the street. Walk along the short street and you are in Changklan Road and the night market: that simple. There are plenty of restaurants to choose from and a ridiculous number of massage parlours to choose from, so many now that we avoided all of them as we had no idea which ones actually knew how to give a massage…….. Walk out of the guesthouse, turn left (if you turn right you will go for a swim in the river) and then turn right at the end of the street. At the next junction, a short distance away, turn (right to walk over Nawarat Bridge and then left over the bridge into Charoenrat Road for upmarket silk goods at Sop Moei and Vila Cini) left into Thapae Road and then turn right at the next junction (not sure of the name of the road), again a short distance away and you will walk into the Chinese Temple (Pung Thao Kong Shrine) and Wararot Market.

The guesthouse represents very good value for money in pleasant, pretty, relaxing, safe and convenient surroundings, I have no hesitation in recommending it and we would be happy to stay there again. But what makes the place even more attractive is the owner, her nephew (?) and staff who are not only pleasant but very helpful and Dhoo, the lady on the travel desk particularly helpful and has a sense of humour as well. The Galare’s motto is ‘Home Away From Home’, a fitting motto and our thanks to all. My four star rating is based on this category of guesthouses/small hotels.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DavidandMarsha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Dont know why this guest house is highly recommended. I was deeply disappointed. Only good thing: the host is super friendly and there's a little garden. But the room was dark, dirty, old and worn-out. Thank god we just stayed one night, because I felt very uncomfortable. The guest house is located outside the old town of Chiang Mai, so you have to walk 25-30 minutes to the city center, which is okay. The windows have mosquito protection, but we still had to kill some, but well.. thats kinda normal.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Tess7790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2018 via mobile

The owners and staff are super friendly and helpful, the location is quite Centrical, close to everything but it is super quiet. The bed is is comfortable, the room equipped with everything you need and super clean. The restaurant is with river view and the food is super delicious! I would definitely come back!!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
Thank Amorpazyalegria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2018

We stayed at the Galare Guest House for 12 nights in the middle of February, 2018. We found it to be a very enjoyable experience. The location is very close to the Night Market, looks out over the river, and is within walking distance of the Old Town. The staff and especially the tour operator, Doo, are very friendly and efficient. The small restaurant is open from 7:00 am to 4:30 pm and serves a limited menu of good quality food. The only down sides is that the room was fairly dark and the bathroom small.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews