We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (230)
Filter reviews
230 results
Traveller rating
130
62
22
5
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
130
62
22
5
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews moroccan style banks of the river happily stay here again free transport old city thai dishes pools gym ping chedi
Filter
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 230 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2015

Nice hotel on river with friendly staff and clean modern rooms with river views. Slightly out of town but the upside is a more peaceful location. About 15 mins in a taxi to the Night Market. Spent a relaxing week here without a hitch. Staff try very hard to make your stay enjoyable. with a Health Club attached those looking to stay fit will be impressed.

Room tip: stay on second or third floor for views
Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2015 via mobile

This was our 2nd visit this year, and the service was even better this time. All the staff are so friendly and helpful, always smiling, and they really went out of their way to make our visit even more comfortable.

Once again, the food was delicious, the breakfast is part buffet and hot dishes cooked to order, surely the preferable way to serve food. We had dinner there twice, and each time we chose from the Moroccan selection - better than the food we had in Morocco!

Ok, this hotel is out of town, but it is so comfortable and relaxing and you can still have access to the city.

We love this place and are already hoping to return.

Date of stay: September 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank aandlkch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2015 via mobile

Great hotel on the edge of town. If you are a cyclist the this is the place to stay as you can get to the countryside easily without the traffic problems. Good breakfasts with western and Asian options. Staff are very friendly and helpful. One of the best gyms in any hotel with 2 equipment rooms and instructors. 2 pools as well. About 10 min drive to city centre by cab or tuk tuk. Rooms are nice and clean and good wifi connection. You need to go to town for dinner unless you eat in the hotel which is really good too. We'd stay here again without question.

Date of stay: September 2015
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank Stanleythecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2015 via mobile

We very much enjoyed our stay at the Sheik Istana Hotel, the rooms are spacious, clean and tastefully decorated. The pool is lovely and for the most part of our stay we had the pool to ourselves. But it's the staff that make this hotel, we were fortunate enough to deal with Mr Noom who is exceptional. He goes beyond expectations to provide honest and informative information regarding day trips and excursions. Other staff worth a mention and a sincere thank you to are Aof and Mo, who were always thoughtful and lovely. The only downside to this hotel is that it is situated a bit out of the main part of town, so you are constantly paying anywhere up from 250baht to 400baht for taxis. This inconvenience is helped by the hotel providing a shuttle service into different parts of Chiang Mai during the day and in the evening to the Market, but return fairs can be costly. We did not experience the Hotel Restaurant other than for breakfast daily, which unfortunately was not great. The choices were limited and not fantastic. All in all our stay here was nice.

Date of stay: August 2015
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank megs33james
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2015

Situated on the river just out of town proper, this magnificent property is replete with all the trimmings for a truly luxurious stay. We enjoyed a fabulously large Suite complete with kitchen facilities, indoor swing-lounge and mosaic-tiled bathroom decorated in such opulent detail to make you feel almost like royalty. The whole property is a beautiful piece of Moroccan-styled art and the qualified staff make sure that you are always attended to.. a real treasure.

Room tip: Upper rooms have a great view of the river and ornate gardens
Date of stay: January 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank TurtleJamm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews