We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (609)
Filter reviews
609 results
Traveller rating
404
134
41
17
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
404
134
41
17
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews no window superior room stayed here for nights guesthouse tours baht thai backpackers laundry
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 609 reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2018

me and my partner stayed there for one night only, though we wanted to stay one more night but the room was booked already.
this is a special place,very close to the night bazar.
the staff was great, and the room worth the price

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Bosmat m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2018

Yes, it is cheap (THB 630) and one should not expect luxury. We thought we knew what to expect as we stayed at this place two years before and were impressed with the value for money (clean room, good location and helpful owners). As such it seemed a no brainer to return. What a disappointment it was.
From previous visit we knew we had to call before to arrange car park. When confirming arrangements night before by phone - person answering did not speak English nor Thai and disconnected the phone several times. Booking.com also tried to call - and could not communicate with them either. As too late to cancel still went ahead.
Owners and/ or management are changed now. We did get a friendly welcome and got the same room as two years ago. However, the room and the linen were not very clean and the bathroom had quite some mold. Hot water was not working - though someone was sent within half an hour to fix this issue (it was night and no staff on side - but prompt response).
With the cleanliness of room and bathroom in mind - we decided to skip the free breakfast. Too bad how a nice guesthouse changed in substandard. Unfortunately rather than recommend this as the affordable place to go to others - will now suggest to avoid.

Room Tip: Avoid staying here!
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2017 via mobile

Booked 3 rooms online and it says balcony but none of our rooms had one. One of the rooms didn’t even have a window, which they ended up giving us some money back. The room without a window had mould everywhere, the bathroom tap didn’t work and the toilet wouldn’t flush. My room smelt like mould and wasn’t really that clean. The other room’s bathroom light didn’t work, however they did come up and fix it. The wifi was really slow and didn’t really work. It looked like it was a nice place but it looks to be under new management and the new management is sh**. I would not recommend this place to anyone.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Carla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2017

Check in not good room was bad got mould no ceiling the toilet didn't flush hair everywhere yuck
Has 2017 trip advisor excellence award what a joke door handle falling off toilet seat loose stayed in some ordinary places that cost ten dollars this wasn't cheap and takes the prize sh..

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Rung R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017

I usually will check out a room and do more research before I book a room but I was arriving late and needed to find something fast.
Here's the thing...if a room doesn't have a window, expect mold. In this case quite a bit in the ceiling. It's very unhealthy and has an unpleasant smell.
There was a corner room next to mine and the guests left the door open so I did get a peek at how the other half lives. The corner room looked very nice and had a big window.
In my opinion, they should brick the door shut in that room and label it a biohazard.
However, it's obvious from other reviews that this is the main problem with Vanilla Place.
The good points is they have a good keyless entry system for the front door and the staff is wonderfully friendly. Just don't get the windowless room unless you don't value your lungs.

Room Tip: Read other reviews and believe...don't get windowless room!
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank DraftedbytheMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews