We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is closed for renovation since July 2016, the opening is not specified.”
Review of Vimanmek Mansion - CLOSED

Vimanmek Mansion
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Closed for renovation Built by King Rama V, this palace is the largest teak structure in the world featuring a unique blend of Victorian and delicate Thai architecture.
Reviewed 26 January 2018 via mobile

Don't lost your time, Vimanmek mansion is under renovation, the garden is even closed ...
The opening is not given and the closure to the public is not specified anywhere! always sell tickets with visit of the grand Palace and this House!

Date of experience: January 2018
11  Thank Oliviercloitre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (550)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
Filter

3 - 7 of 550 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2017

This mansion is closed as of 25 June 2017. We asked the guards nearby and they said it is closed, and will be closed for a long, long time. Perhaps contacting them prior to the visit is a good idea. Otherwise, a visit to the Ananta Samakhom Throne Hall located next to the mansion is just as good.

Date of experience: June 2017
5  Thank Foong Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2017

This is a traditional palace and the building made entirely of golden teak. Leave your cameras and mobile phones when you entering the room of Vimanmek Mansion. There will be double checking before entering the room. So many staff here to check you. Leave your shoes and slippers and wearing polite. But shoe storage area on the ground floor was smelly. Open tuesday - saturday from 08.30 - 16.30. Buy a ticket about 100 bath. But if you have bough Grand Palace tickets, you may FREE to get to Vimanmek Mansion. Vimanmek Mansion close to Dusit Palace Complex and Zoo

Date of experience: June 2016
6  Thank Marry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2017

The Mansion site is now totally enclosed in steel sheeting. I spoke to a local guide who said it will be 'many many months' before it re-opens.
This is our second time of going all the way out there to find it closed.

Date of experience: March 2017
8  Thank Norman C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2017

After searching online I couldn't be sure that the palace was closed so we decided to check it out. We were dropped at an entrance opposite the zoo where a security guard from the parliament building next door told us the palace was shut so we walked round to the northern boundary where there was a notice with English language on it. While it is understandable to close for refurbishment from time to time, I was particularly disappointed because there is no explanation of the reasons or planned reopening. Such a shame I've wanted to see this palace for a very long time.

Date of experience: December 2016
15  Thank Smitch83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vimanmek Mansion also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing