We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shangri-La Hotel Bangkok
Nearby Hotels
US$100
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
White Ivory Bed & Breakfast(Bangkok)(Great Value!)
US$47
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Focal Local Bed and Breakfast(Bangkok)
US$52
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ariyasomvilla(Bangkok)
US$177
US$133
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$202
US$50
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SSIP Boutique Dhevej Bangkok(Bangkok)(Great Value!)
US$55
US$41
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$86
US$83
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$564
US$407
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Siam(Bangkok)
US$574
US$488
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bed to Bangkok(Bangkok)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (9,247)
Filter reviews
9,247 results
Traveller rating
6,922
1,682
408
149
86
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
6,922
1,682
408
149
86
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskrungthep winghorizon clubthe riverriverside loungechi spakrung thep wingthe main hotelbalcony roomthai restaurantdinner cruiseevening cocktailsour honeymoonbreakfast buffetfive star hotelwonderful hotelsky train stationnight market
Filter
Updating list...
356 - 361 of 9,247 reviews
Reviewed 22 January 2018 via mobile

The Shangri-La Hotel in Bangkok never disappoints and I consider it my home away from home in this fantastic city.
I travel to Bangkok regularly and have stayed in many of the 5 star hotels but the Shangri-La is clearly my favorite and simply does it better than the others all the way around.
The river view rooms offer 24 hour entertainment with magical views of the Chaopraya River and the Horizon club Floor is fantastic.
Service is 5 star plus and all of the restaurants and bars are superb.Breakfast buffet is the best of any hotel,anywhere,bar none.Pool areas are great and poolside services are great.Hotel has a great chilled out spa with complimentary steam,sauna and a fantastic jacuzzi soaking tub as well as an excellent fitness center
Within walking distance to the best of restaurants ,shopping,sky train.
Recommend a balcony room with river view or a suite.
Shangri-La never disappoints and there is very good reason why they have so many guests who keep returning repeatedly .
I simply adore this hotel and their product and in my opinion ,the staff is the best trained and most hospitable in the business.
Highly recommended!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jmreiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shangri-La B, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2018

Dear jmreiff
Thank you for staying at Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok.Your continued support to Shangri-La is most valuable. We appreciate you taking your time to write this fantastic detailed review. We are delighted to hear that you had another amazing stay at our hotel and that our attentive service has left you with a lasting impression. Your personal recommendations and compliments are most kind.
We wish to welcome you and your mother back again to your home away from home in a near future.

Sincerely,
Jan Kaiser
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2018 via mobile

This my favourite hotel in the world...and the setting for the novel “The Scent of Daisies” by PTG Man. If you get a balcony room over the river (mine was room 1816) it is like you are one with the river life. Salathip restaurant has magnificent Thai cuisine and again a perfect setting on the river, with traditional live Thai music and dancing. The Horizon club shares the spectacular river view, has a 2 hr happy hour from 5-7pm with complimentary wine and great food (you could skip dinner easily), and usually allows a late check out to match your flight. But the highlight, of course, is the staff. I have been here countless times, and unless you have a very short layover, I really don’t understand why anyone would stay anywhere else. Finally, I met a man in the club who said he was here 20 years ago as a child, and has since fantasised living here for life. YES IT IS THAT GOOD!!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shangri-La B, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2018


Dear Scott M
Thank you for staying at Shangri-La hotel, Bangkok and for sharing your fantastic review with us. Your valuable feedback and support mean a lot to us. We are happy to hear that we once again were able to provide you with an excellent stay at our Horizon Club rooms and that you enjoyed all the additional benefits. Your kind compliments and personal recommendations are most appreciated. It is our honor you associate our hotel with this amazing novel and we are deeply greateful for your kind words.
We are already eager to welcome you back to your home away from home in a near future.

Sincerely,
Jan Kaiser
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2018

My husband and I stayed here during our visit to Bangkok. We paid extra for a view of the river. Totally worth it! Hotel was beautiful, clean, and in a great location. It was easily accessible to the river boats and train.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Melanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shangri-La B, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2018

Dear Melanie C
Thank you for choosing to stay at Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok and we truly appreciate you taking your time to write a review. It makes us very happy to know that you had a beautiful time and I am delighted to hear that we were able to provide you a wonderful stay with our attentive and warm service. We hope to see you back again soon!

Sincerely,
Jan Kaiser
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2018

We stayed five nights in a Krungthep Deluxe Suite. The suite was extremely well appointed and large. The suite had great views down the river and it was very nice to sit and watch the night traffic pass by.

All of the staff were fantastic, especially in the riverside lounge with Tim, Oui, Aum, Nook and Bas (and the other staff also) for looking after us exceptionally well. Thank you to them for making our stay very special.

The hotel is a few minutes walk to the BTS train and the main ferry stop.

There is also a supermarket close by and nice market selling food, clothes and other nick-nacks.

Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark&Rosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shangri-La B, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2018

Dear Mark&Rosa
Thank you for choosing to stay at Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok. We highly appreciate you for taking your time to share your honest experience with us.We are pleased to know that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed our Krungthep Wing and the additional benefits.Your compliments and your personal recommendation about our rooms, view, ocation, services, and amenities are most kind. Your special recognition on our collegaues, especially Khun Tim, Oui, Aum, Nook and Bas, are most appreciated and we will make sure they're all informed and rewarded for their excellent service.
It was indeed all our pleasure having you here and we look forward to your next happy return.

Sincerely,
Jan Kaiser
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2018

We stayed as a Family for 5 nights from the 3rd till the 8th january and were very dissapointed from the Check-in and the removal of the Premium Toileteries.
Request for a vegetarian Item at Breakfast by my Wife was met with a negative Response.
Being a Golden Circle member i was extremely disappointed to see the dip in service levels at this beautiful Wing, but all this changed on the third day when we met Nirun Chompoo the Young and hIghly efficient manager of the Krungthep Wing who not only gave us a late check out but looked after us personally for the rest of our stay.
He even arranged a Cake at Breakfast on my birthday at breakfast since we were leaving the same evening.
It is employees like him who make us return to the Shangri-la again and again.
I do feel that the Rooms in the Krungthep Wing need a makeover!

Room Tip: River View Rooms are the best.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank PradeepKolkata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shangri-La B, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2018

Dear PradeepKolkata
Thank you for staying at Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok and for your valuable review. Your continued support means the world to us. We are sorry to hear some aspects of your stay couldn't live up to your humble expectations and we wish to apologize for the shortcomings this time. Your comprehensive feedback and personal recommendations in the service and room aesthetics are most valuable in our continuous work to further improve our standards. Your special recognition on Khun Nirun Chompoo is most kind and we will make sure he is informed about your mention.
It is always our pleasure having you on a visit and we wish to have the opportunity to welcome you back again someday.

Sincerely,
Jan Kaiser
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews