We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic Luxury but rusted corners”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Ranked #23 of 894 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is one of the classic riverside luxury hotels in Bangkok. We stayed in Krungthep wing, which I agree is probably better choice than Shangri-La wing. It is more secluded, quieter corner of this huge hotel. The Shangri-La wing fills with large tour groups, mostly Chinese. You may feel loud and crowded from time to time, especially during breakfast time. On the other hand, Krungthep wing provides services exclusively for the guests in this wing. We have a balcony room on the top floor. It has a magnificent view of the river and Taksin bridge. The room has multiple switches, and dimmers. The blinds are electric controlled. We even had chandelier in the room. The bed is very comfortable. The house cleaning replaces bottle water and fresh fruits daily. The bathroom is the "rusted corner" of the entire hotel. It is aged and really needs update. I saw chipped paint and cracked counter top. The water faucets are very old style, can't remember the last time I saw this style. However, the toiletry is made by L'Occitane, smells very good. For prospective guests, I would suggest paying a little more to book a room with breakfast deal. As a guest, you then can enjoy breakfast at Next2 restaurant, or Krungthep lounge (exclusive for Krungthep guests). It's an international buffet with excellent food and huge variety. You can also enjoy afternoon tea with a fruits and sandwich buffet. The Chi spa is rated very high. I had a 90 minute session there. Excellent service, but, quite expensive, in Thai standard. I can get very decent service and same level of massage with half price for two hour session at Health Land, a popular local spa chain, easily access by Skytrain from Shangri-La.

Room Tip: Krungthep wing luxury balcony room with breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ccB9987NH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shangri-La B, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear ccB9987NH
Thank you for staying at Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok. We appreciate your detailed review. We are happy to hear about your overall pleasant experience at our Krungthep Wing.
We appreciate your recommendations and comprehensive feedback on how we can further improve in the future. Your comprehensive feedback is highly appreciated as it will help us in our continuous work to improve and maintain the top standard.
We wish to have the opportunity to welcome you back again someday.

Sincerely,
Jan Kaiser
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (8,862)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

73 - 77 of 8,862 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The Shangri-La Hotel in Bangkok never disappoints and I consider it my home away from home in this fantastic city.
I travel to Bangkok regularly and have stayed in many of the 5 star hotels but the Shangri-La is clearly my favorite and simply does it better than the others all the way around.
The river view rooms offer 24 hour entertainment with magical views of the Chaopraya River and the Horizon club Floor is fantastic.
Service is 5 star plus and all of the restaurants and bars are superb.Breakfast buffet is the best of any hotel,anywhere,bar none.Pool areas are great and poolside services are great.Hotel has a great chilled out spa with complimentary steam,sauna and a fantastic jacuzzi soaking tub as well as an excellent fitness center
Within walking distance to the best of restaurants ,shopping,sky train.
Recommend a balcony room with river view or a suite.
Shangri-La never disappoints and there is very good reason why they have so many guests who keep returning repeatedly .
I simply adore this hotel and their product and in my opinion ,the staff is the best trained and most hospitable in the business.
Highly recommended!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jmreiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shangri-La B, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear jmreiff
Thank you for staying at Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok.Your continued support to Shangri-La is most valuable. We appreciate you taking your time to write this fantastic detailed review. We are delighted to hear that you had another amazing stay at our hotel and that our attentive service has left you with a lasting impression. Your personal recommendations and compliments are most kind.
We wish to welcome you and your mother back again to your home away from home in a near future.

Sincerely,
Jan Kaiser
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This my favourite hotel in the world...and the setting for the novel “The Scent of Daisies” by PTG Man. If you get a balcony room over the river (mine was room 1816) it is like you are one with the river life. Salathip restaurant has magnificent Thai cuisine and again a perfect setting on the river, with traditional live Thai music and dancing. The Horizon club shares the spectacular river view, has a 2 hr happy hour from 5-7pm with complimentary wine and great food (you could skip dinner easily), and usually allows a late check out to match your flight. But the highlight, of course, is the staff. I have been here countless times, and unless you have a very short layover, I really don’t understand why anyone would stay anywhere else. Finally, I met a man in the club who said he was here 20 years ago as a child, and has since fantasised living here for life. YES IT IS THAT GOOD!!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shangri-La B, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago


Dear Scott M
Thank you for staying at Shangri-La hotel, Bangkok and for sharing your fantastic review with us. Your valuable feedback and support mean a lot to us. We are happy to hear that we once again were able to provide you with an excellent stay at our Horizon Club rooms and that you enjoyed all the additional benefits. Your kind compliments and personal recommendations are most appreciated. It is our honor you associate our hotel with this amazing novel and we are deeply greateful for your kind words.
We are already eager to welcome you back to your home away from home in a near future.

Sincerely,
Jan Kaiser
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed here during our visit to Bangkok. We paid extra for a view of the river. Totally worth it! Hotel was beautiful, clean, and in a great location. It was easily accessible to the river boats and train.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Melanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shangri-La B, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Melanie C
Thank you for choosing to stay at Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok and we truly appreciate you taking your time to write a review. It makes us very happy to know that you had a beautiful time and I am delighted to hear that we were able to provide you a wonderful stay with our attentive and warm service. We hope to see you back again soon!

Sincerely,
Jan Kaiser
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed five nights in a Krungthep Deluxe Suite. The suite was extremely well appointed and large. The suite had great views down the river and it was very nice to sit and watch the night traffic pass by.

All of the staff were fantastic, especially in the riverside lounge with Tim, Oui, Aum, Nook and Bas (and the other staff also) for looking after us exceptionally well. Thank you to them for making our stay very special.

The hotel is a few minutes walk to the BTS train and the main ferry stop.

There is also a supermarket close by and nice market selling food, clothes and other nick-nacks.

Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark&Rosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shangri-La B, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Mark&Rosa
Thank you for choosing to stay at Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok. We highly appreciate you for taking your time to share your honest experience with us.We are pleased to know that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed our Krungthep Wing and the additional benefits.Your compliments and your personal recommendation about our rooms, view, ocation, services, and amenities are most kind. Your special recognition on our collegaues, especially Khun Tim, Oui, Aum, Nook and Bas, are most appreciated and we will make sure they're all informed and rewarded for their excellent service.
It was indeed all our pleasure having you here and we look forward to your next happy return.

Sincerely,
Jan Kaiser
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
The Peninsula Bangkok
#10 of 894 in Bangkok
4,683 reviews
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#33 of 894 in Bangkok
6,820 reviews
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok

Address: 89 Soi Wat Suan Plu, New Road | Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#12 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#18 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#22 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: HK$1,369 - HK$3,340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 802
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok, is a 5-star luxury hotel in Silom district, Bangkok. The design and appointments express the welcoming warmth and richness of Thai culture throughout the hotel, from traditional teak dining pavilions to the most up-to-date room features.The hotel has a total of 802 rooms including 72 suites in two wings, Shangri-La and Krungthep, and is adjacent to the Saphan Taksin station of the Skytrain, Bangkok's elevated metro system.The hotel also offers fully-serviced apartments for guests wishing a longer stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Booking.com, Expedia, Flight Raja Travels Singapore PTE LTD, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Shangri La Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing