We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (500)
Filter reviews
500 results
Traveller rating
431
63
5
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
431
63
5
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthai breakfasttuk tukevery morningthe riverreal bangkoka wonderful place to staybts stationhome away from homebeautiful roombusy citythe main roadvisit bangkokpierthailandtrainbnbscams
Filter
Updating list...
122 - 127 of 500 reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2016

We stayed here twice on our recent trip to Thailand, once in yesteryear room and once in chic. I've stayed in many many Bangkok hotels over the years and this place is one of if not the best, in my eyes this is because the staff and atmosphere are very friendly. Every encounter with a staff member was a pleasure, they are all extremely helpful and friendly ready to help. On check in you will be explained the local area and things to do, see and eat locally, and if it's your first trip they will explain all the tips and things to look out for and avoid in Bangkok.

They offer a free tuk tuk transfer to the local BTS station too which is seriously helpful, and can order meter taxis for you if you need one. They were also able to look after our luggage while we took a 2 day excursion somewhere else in Thailand.

The rooms are super clean and fresh, and it's not noisey on the soi. With their current location you are a little bit further away from the action in Bangkok BUT with the free transfer to BTS and the river boat also near (they may even do transfer to the boat too but unsure) it's not an issue.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merrick82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2016

Thank you so much for staying with us twice. We're glad you enjoyed your stay here and found that our location is not a problem at all. We will keep up all good works and hope we will have a chance to accommodate you again in the future. Kob Kun Krub :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2016

Absolutely nothing negative to say about this place. It was fabulous. Karan, the b&b's host, was so lovely to us - very helpful with recommendations of places to go, how to get there, anything we needed for the room, calling taxis. Such a gentle, pleasant, helpful man. He was made for the tourism industry. Cannot speak highly enough of him. The rest of the staff were also great, helpful and friendly.

The b&b itself is gorgeous. Rooms are lovely, clean, and large! A fantastic find for a very busy and built up city. The area around the b&b is nice also, many locals and very few other travellers. This added to the whole experience.

One of the best things about the place was the breakfast in the morning. In our three week trip, this was probably some of the best food that we had. Something different every morning. We always took the Thai option, make sure to do this and not just go for the Western food (which also looked nice), you don't want to miss out!

Keep up the good work Karan, you and your team are a credit to the Thai tourism industry.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nataliasaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2016

Thank you so much for staying with us and for the valuable review here. I do really appreciate your compliments and I will be passing on this to our team. We're glad you enjoyed everything at Focal Local. Hope you've kept us as a little memory of your Thailand trip until we meet again. Kob Kun Krub :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights with my partner and really enjoyed the place. The staff is very welcoming and helpful, the themed rooms are beautiful and the location is convenient - in a quiet side street and a short way from the river boats and the sky train. Highly recommendable!

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Jacob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2016

Thank you very much for choosing Focal Local. We're very happy to hear that you enjoyed staying with us and you found that our location is convenient to get around Bangkok. Hope you've arrived home well with all good memories. All the best :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2016 via mobile

Lovely B&B with very friendly staff. Karan in the reception is a very good English speaker and was extremely helpful. I will be back, definitely.
Location is a down side, but they provide a complimentary tuk tuk to take you to major transport hubs.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled solo
Thank Fabiana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2016

Thank you very much for your review and for sharing lovely photos. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us. This little home will be welcoming you anytime you're back in Bangkok. Kob Kun Krub :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2016

We've just spent four nights here and can't say enough about the quality of service and accommodation. Our room with ensuite bathroom was spacious, attractive, cool and spotlessly clean. Breakfasts were a choice of western-style or the Thai dish of the day, followed by fresh fruit and tea/coffee. There is a fridge and kettle in each room, and water provided daily (bottles and refills). Karan, the host, will help with directions, general information, and suggestions. All the staff are friendly and helpful. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: We had the "Siam" room on the second floor at the back--very quiet and lovely.
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smithsuza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2016

Thank you very much for choosing Focal Local and for recommending us. It's our pleasure having you here. Your compliment is so valuable. We will keep the standard and hope we will have a chance to accommodate you again in the future. Kob Kun Krub :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews