We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hawane Resort
Nearby Hotels
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mountain Inn(Mbabane)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Swazi Spa(Ezulwini)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Lugogo Sun(Ezulwini)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mantenga Lodge(Ezulwini)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (117)
Filter reviews
117 results
Traveller rating
11
32
37
20
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
11
32
37
20
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeds were comfortablechaletaccommodationswazibath
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 117 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2017

I'm quite surprised about the bad reviews i saw in tripadvisor. The place is really nice, rooms are a mix of confort and local flavor ( i love the bath with gravel at the bottom !).
The dining area is really wonderful with a huge fireplace and diner was really good.
The swimming pool was really nice and people friendly.
Again, a really nice place, peaceful and quiet.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017 via mobile

Unfortunately I have to agree with the many negative reviews posted about this so-called 'resort'. This place is badly in need of long overdue maintenance. Dinner buffet turned out to cost 190 rand per person, the worst value for money that we have experienced so far, the restaurant was never open at times that it was supposed (and promised to us) to be, laundry took 12 hours longer than they said it would, some of the staff (not all though) could be more friendly and forthcoming. Weren't there any positives? Of course there were: we slept well, it's easy to find and ok located. But that's not enough for a positive review, let alone a recommendation.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Jurrien P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2017

Dear American Lady Owner,

We booked two nights but left after one forfeiting $70. Went to Ezulweni Valley and stayed at the Happy Valley Hotel which was gorgeous, sparkling clean with crisp white sheets for the same price. Your lodge is in terrible condition. The "chalet" we stayed in was filthy. The sheets are ready for the rag bag. Two bolsters which I suppose were meant to be decorative also belong in the garbage. They're so filthy I didn't even want to touch them to toss them to the other side of the room and they stink. Lighting is so dim you can't even read a book in the evening. It smelled like a barn. The bathroom sink fixtures were firmly imbedded in a funky concrete construction and the faucet could not be turned off. Drip. Drip. Drip. All night long.

I gently explained all this to the poor receptionist the next morning--it isn't her fault after all--and she listened stoically. Then I said, "You've heard all this before, haven't you?" She nodded her head sadly.

Several of the units were occupied by visiting locals because of the big Bush Fire music festival but none of them ate in the restaurant. It was beautifully set with white linens at nice tables but absolutely no one else there. I ordered butternut squash soup which promised it was made using a traditional recipe. Nope. It was simply pureed squash heated and put in a bowl. Not a trace of spice or even salt. Absolutely bland. My husband's steak salad promised enticing local seasonings but the meat was grossly overcooked and not seasoned with anything--no salt, no pepper, NOTHING!. Horrible food which I believe was put together by the waitress who acted very nervous about taking our order in the first place. She certainly had no culinary skills.

Only two pluses but not enough to give it any kind of a recommendation. The grounds are beautiful and well kept. The breakfast was simple but good enough to pass muster.

Dear lady. Tear off those old thatched roofs which have become very smelly and redo everything. New sheets. New curtains--please consider brightening up the place by using some wonderful traditional African fabric pattern. Install modern plumbing. These traditional structures could be charming. It will take money and effort. But this place is such a loser it will just continue dying. It could be stunningly beautiful because of the grounds and surrounding countryside. Meanwhile, your poor employees must take a great deal of abuse from unhappy customers when the fault is really all yours. Perhaps you should sell to someone with a vision and the funds to carry it out.

Room Tip: Please choose a room in another place. You will not enjoy your stay here.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Karyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2017

Very dirty, terrible smell, and we actually had bug bites from the grose mattresses. We wanted to cancel our accommodation booking after we saw the rooms, but they informed as there is no way we would get our money back, we would have to stay there or loose the money. The images on the internet looks beautiful but the place is not looked after, the staff is also useless.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank adeleduplessis2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

The venue is really nice. You have beautiful views, and the traditional rooms/houses are amazing. (Alltough we really missed the airco)
During dinner we had a very nice waiter, but at breakfast the women at the restaurant were having a 'monday morning(?)'. Very cranky...

There is wifi avalible, for 20 R, but only 25 mb's. So open tripadvisor once and you'll be done...

The dinner was very nice, and also the breakfast was good. The swimmingpool looked a bit dirty, but that was just the flooring of the pool

Stayed: January 2017
1  Thank Wouter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews