We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plusses and Minuses”
Review of Hawane Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hawane Resort
Reviewed 1 November 2017

This resort was booked by our tour company, and anyone who takes tours knows there are ups and down in every trip. I was a little wary, having read so many negative reviews, but the stay turned out to be very enjoyable.
Let's discuss the good things first: The staff was friendly and willing to help any way they could. (1) Richard, went out of his way to arrange a weekend for our group of 14. Some wanted shopping, some wanted a look at culture, and our group leader wanted to see the Reed Dance, which was predicted for that weekend. We got all of our wishes taken care of-- that included the cultural village, the local market, the arts and crafts center, Swazi Candle, a great little restaurant, and the Reed Dance which culminates the King's search for a new wife. the day we were there, we saw over 3000 dancers, members of the royal family and the king. (2) we had some good meals accompanied by some good wine, and filling breakfasts (3) Yes this is an old lodging, and yes, it does need upkeep, and yes the plumbing leaves a lot to be desired, the baths are not the best construction for older travelers --- On the other hand, the beds were comfortable, the birds were plentiful and singing, the pool was lovely, although too cool for most of us. The pants I spilled salad dressing on were hand laundered and returned for wearing the next day. The scarf I bought at the market doubled as a requisite skirt for visiting the Reed Dance festivities, and I left the area in a very good frame of mind, and very pleased with the experience.

Room Tip: hotel was booked as part of a larger tour,so it's hard to judge expense. The number of chalets...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank V R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2017

I'm quite surprised about the bad reviews i saw in tripadvisor. The place is really nice, rooms are a mix of confort and local flavor ( i love the bath with gravel at the bottom !).
The dining area is really wonderful with a huge fireplace and diner was really good.
The swimming pool was really nice and people friendly.
Again, a really nice place, peaceful and quiet.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017 via mobile

Unfortunately I have to agree with the many negative reviews posted about this so-called 'resort'. This place is badly in need of long overdue maintenance. Dinner buffet turned out to cost 190 rand per person, the worst value for money that we have experienced so far, the restaurant was never open at times that it was supposed (and promised to us) to be, laundry took 12 hours longer than they said it would, some of the staff (not all though) could be more friendly and forthcoming. Weren't there any positives? Of course there were: we slept well, it's easy to find and ok located. But that's not enough for a positive review, let alone a recommendation.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Jurrien P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2017

Dear American Lady Owner,

We booked two nights but left after one forfeiting $70. Went to Ezulweni Valley and stayed at the Happy Valley Hotel which was gorgeous, sparkling clean with crisp white sheets for the same price. Your lodge is in terrible condition. The "chalet" we stayed in was filthy. The sheets are ready for the rag bag. Two bolsters which I suppose were meant to be decorative also belong in the garbage. They're so filthy I didn't even want to touch them to toss them to the other side of the room and they stink. Lighting is so dim you can't even read a book in the evening. It smelled like a barn. The bathroom sink fixtures were firmly imbedded in a funky concrete construction and the faucet could not be turned off. Drip. Drip. Drip. All night long.

I gently explained all this to the poor receptionist the next morning--it isn't her fault after all--and she listened stoically. Then I said, "You've heard all this before, haven't you?" She nodded her head sadly.

Several of the units were occupied by visiting locals because of the big Bush Fire music festival but none of them ate in the restaurant. It was beautifully set with white linens at nice tables but absolutely no one else there. I ordered butternut squash soup which promised it was made using a traditional recipe. Nope. It was simply pureed squash heated and put in a bowl. Not a trace of spice or even salt. Absolutely bland. My husband's steak salad promised enticing local seasonings but the meat was grossly overcooked and not seasoned with anything--no salt, no pepper, NOTHING!. Horrible food which I believe was put together by the waitress who acted very nervous about taking our order in the first place. She certainly had no culinary skills.

Only two pluses but not enough to give it any kind of a recommendation. The grounds are beautiful and well kept. The breakfast was simple but good enough to pass muster.

Dear lady. Tear off those old thatched roofs which have become very smelly and redo everything. New sheets. New curtains--please consider brightening up the place by using some wonderful traditional African fabric pattern. Install modern plumbing. These traditional structures could be charming. It will take money and effort. But this place is such a loser it will just continue dying. It could be stunningly beautiful because of the grounds and surrounding countryside. Meanwhile, your poor employees must take a great deal of abuse from unhappy customers when the fault is really all yours. Perhaps you should sell to someone with a vision and the funds to carry it out.

Room Tip: Please choose a room in another place. You will not enjoy your stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Karyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2017

Very dirty, terrible smell, and we actually had bug bites from the grose mattresses. We wanted to cancel our accommodation booking after we saw the rooms, but they informed as there is no way we would get our money back, we would have to stay there or loose the money. The images on the internet looks beautiful but the place is not looked after, the staff is also useless.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank adeleduplessis2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mbabane
27.6 km away
Mantenga Lodge
Mantenga Lodge
#1 of 6 in Ezulwini
796 reviews
16.2 km away
Mountain Inn
Mountain Inn
#2 of 3 in Mbabane
359 reviews
23.6 km away
Royal Swazi Spa
Royal Swazi Spa
#2 of 6 in Ezulwini
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25 km away
The Royal Villas
The Royal Villas
#3 of 6 in Ezulwini
96 reviews
27.9 km away
Happy Valley Hotel & Casino
24 km away
Lugogo Sun
Lugogo Sun
#4 of 6 in Ezulwini
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawane Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawane Resort

Address: Piggs Peak Road | 9 km north of Motshane on the Pigg's Peak Rd, Mbabane H100, Swaziland
Region: Swaziland > Hhohho District > Mbabane
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Mbabane
Price Range: $699 - $1,155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hawane Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Framed by Malolotja's majestic peaks rests Swaziland's northern highland Paradise, Hawane Resort. Situated 2 hours south of Kruger Park, 3.5 hours from Johannesburg and west of Mozambique, the breathtaking beauty of the area and it's spectacular views transport visitors into a mult-dimensional experience which offer as much adventure, solitude, adrenaline or tranquility as desired ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hawane Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawane Hotel Mbabane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing