We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge(Gaborone)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mokolodi House(Gaborone)
Expedia
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (87)
Filter reviews
87 results
Traveller rating
60
22
4
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
60
22
4
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnature reservegame reserveprivate kitchentwo single bedssouthern africaswimming poolfree wifihome away from homehendrikhostelpiganimalsdormbotswanaunitaccommodationhosts
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 87 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2018

We choose Mokolodi after seeing there wasn't a huge selection of affordable accomodation in Gabs. We were so happy we did!! Mokolodi and it's hosts, Hendrik and Hank, will forever be one of our favourite memories from Botswana. Hendrik and Hank went out of the way to help organise and suggest tips for our driving trip around Botswana.
The hostel/camp is also located within walking distance to the Mokolodi Game reserve. We actually walked down there one morning to participate in the White Rhino Walk. Such a fantastic morning!
During our first visit we stayed in the tents (with two single beds) which were super comfortable, and as it was raining upon our return, we stayed in the 4-bed dorms. Between the two, we definitely slept better in the dorm. There is a beautiful semi-outdoor kitchen that is fully accessorised to cook in. It was so peaceful to make breakfast and sit by the pool in the morning.
There are a few animals that live at the camp too, and mostly because of the ducks using the swimming pool I was never enticed to jump in... but the pool is kept very clean! The bathroom facilities are also excellent and spotless!
There is also free wifi (a rarity in southern Africa) but it doesn't always work. Hank is very open about this though and hence doesn't charge for it!
Mokolodi would be the only place I would stay if we returned to Gaborone!!

Room Tip: If you have your own tent, Camp!
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MonikaS912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2018

I rented a bungalow for a few nights, the property is located nicely for folks without transportation - you can walk to the Mokolodi Nature Reserve and back, and you can walk to the bus stop to get into town and back. The small bungalows are very cute and the shared bathrooms and showers are well maintained. The staff were very nice and helpful, I was sick while there and they helped me with transportation to a pharmacy so I could get some antibiotics. Plus free coffee and tea - it was enough in the evenings to just sit on the porch of my bungalow and drink rooibos and watch the animals walk around. Would definitely recommend it for a visit!

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Aimee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2017 via mobile

From the moment we contacted Mokoladi, this business went above and beyond to accommodate us. We were picked up from the airport by their friendly driver, then upon arrival, surprised as to how pretty and peaceful the Backpackers is! Its beautifully kept gardens, and the welcoming of a very endearing menagerie, gives the place such a homely, safe feel. The facilities are great - kept meticulously clean by a lovely team of very friendly, polite staff. There is always someone around to ask for help, recommend places to go etc. The free wifi connection was consistently strong - yet another added bonus!!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Imi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

Mokolodi is a classic backpackers place close to a game reserve. Staff is super friendly.

We camped here and were surprised by all the different animals that we were able to spot. Just a couple of meters away from our tent we saw several big birds, peacock, rooster, duck, chicken and some cats. While makig breakfast we also spotted one huge dog that came very close to us.
The best place to spot the animals is around the pool that is being used mostly by the birds to bathe and cool off.

The lodge also includes a pooltable that is built for professionals as the table is a bit tilted making playing extra difficult while challenging at the same time.

Would definitly recommend this place!

Stayed: September 2017
1  Thank Ludovici7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

I have stayed at a lot of backpackers in my day - Mokolodi is right up there with the best of them.

The meticulous attention to detail, wonderful decor, super friendly staff and backpacker pets made an excellent stay.

They have a number of different accommodations to choose from, I stayed in a dorm room, which has two set of single bunk beds. It was ideally suited for my needs, very well kept and really neat. This was the same throughout the entire establishment.

If you are in the general area of Gaborone - this is the place to stay.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank DLsouthafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews