We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Riad Abaca Badra(Marrakech)(Great Value!)
Expedia
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Riad Kheirredine(Marrakech)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Riad Dar Anika(Marrakech)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Riad Alnadine(Marrakech)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Maison Arabe(Marrakech)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Riad Houdou(Marrakech)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Riad Kniza(Marrakech)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,441)
Filter reviews
1,441 results
Traveller rating
1,074
309
33
16
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,074
309
33
16
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroof terracemint teaorange treesan oasisatlas mountainsthe hustle and bustlemain courtyardtaxi driverbusy medinaplunge poolvisit marrakechhammam and massagebreakfast and dinnernarrow streetstaginejunior suiteyour bearings
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 1,441 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2018 via mobile

Riad Karmela pretty much blew us away from check-in to check-out. We arrived around 9:30am and they were so incredibly helpful with our bags and informing us of all the things to do in Marrakech. They even let us run upstairs and have breakfast!! We stayed a total of 3 Nights at Karmela and ate 3 dinners there along with their yummy breakfasts’. The first night we had a suite/like room up stairs with our own private terrace, then after our desert excursion (we left our bags with them) we had an awesome little room downstairs. They have beautiful decor around the hotel and plenty of open air seating that really made the Riad inviting to lounge around at. If we ever come back to Marrakech, we will 100% be staying with Karmela again. Ps- 100% book the taxi transfer with them because if you’re coming from the airport you will have no chance at finding the Riad on your own.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank lewis s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joelcR8728HE, Propriétaire at Riad Karmela, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2018

Thanks for your comment. You have enjoyed all so we are very pleased that you had a great stay .. Hope to see you again Best regards Joel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2018 via mobile

We stayed at this Riad for 3 nights could not fault the location, condition, food or staff
All very very helpful staff
Lovely food
Great central location
Would recommend without hesitation
Staff organised a bus ticket for onward journey and advised us for outings eating etc

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank mfmmason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joelcR8728HE, Propriétaire at Riad Karmela, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2018

Thank you very much. We always try to help our customers ....and make their stay memorable best regards Joel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2018

The location is fantastic easy walking to go to the souks. Friendly staff and helpful. Cars don't go inside the Medina the taxi station is about 5 minutes walk. Breakfast is amazing. Everyday has choice of yogurt, cereal, fruits, cheese, different egg dish, great coffee and orange juice.The rooms are very clean. Beautiful terrace. I definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tere1vane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joelcR8728HE, Propriétaire at Riad Karmela, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2018

Thank you for recommending our riad .....Thare are so many so no easy to choose but some time comments like yours can help.....est regards Joel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2018 via mobile

I’m not one for writing reviews (but read many of them when making a decision for travel) so I had to write this one and praise this wonderful ‘gem’ of a Rhiad, as other have said you have to walk a little way through the crazy medina lanes before enter this oasis but so worth it for the welcome and beautiful atmosphere that immediately greets you.
The rooms are traditional, beautiful hot showers, lovely and quiet at night which is in contrast to the world outside. Fantastic roof terrace for breakfast in the morning and sunbathing later on in the day, also a small but adequate snack menu and great evening meal menu. Joel the owner has a suggestion/solution to every question and is aided by sweet natured Boshra front of house.
I’d also like to give a shout out for Khalid who took care of my party when we ate/drank on the terrace (nothing was to much trouble).
I’ll definitely be back, only a 3 hour flight and your transported to another world

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
Thank _murraykeating
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joelcR8728HE, Propriétaire at Riad Karmela, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2018

Hello Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review as you are not used to do so....so it is honnor for us. We will all be also very pleased to see you again ... Best regards Joel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2018 via mobile

Almost impossible to describe the moment of stepping from the wonderful maelstrom of the medina down through the low, blackened doorway hidden away in a narrow alley into this riad and its calm, welcoming beauty. All noise and fumes dissipate, the fountain plays musically and small birds call among the orange trees.

We had a wonderful stay with hot and cool days, both of which revealed different aspects of the house. There are so many intimate places to lounge and relax "indoors" and out - the roof seems like an endless, colourful playground - and you can chase sun or shade as suits your skin.

Our room overlooked the central courtyard and was spacious, comfortable and quirky - we entertained ourselves speculating about the previous occupants of the riad and their interconnected family lives.

After three days in the old town, we took a trip out into the Ourika valley, organised like clockwork by the riad staff. Even in Spring, this was a perfect counterpoint to the city, with rushing waters crossed by spectacularly ethereal rope bridges, leading to colourful waters-edge restaurants and in the near distance, the snowcovered Atlas peaks. The painless introduction to a living Berber culture was fascinating.

Many reviews praise the breakfasts at the riad and we agree - a huge and delicious choice each day. Highlights for us were the freshly squeezed orange juice and the cheese omelette/tortilla. We had dinner in-house on our first night only and enjoyed the food very much.

Many reviews also praise the riad staff and again we concur. Boushra's welcome and introduction was a perfect orientation for the city and I would also especially mention the friendly, quiet and attentive service we had from Khaled and his colleague Mohammed. But there are many others whose names we didn't find out who also contributed to our comfort. It's a good team.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Riad Karmela.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank KirnwoodKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espelette, Propriétaire at Riad Karmela, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2018

Thanks you so much for your very nice and plaisant feed back. We are pleased to see that you have enjoyed your trip in Morooco and will be very happy to see you again Best regards Joel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews