We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Agoda.com
Hotels.com
US$124
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/10/22
Expedia
FindHotel
Etrip
View all 8 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (269)
Filter reviews
269 results
Traveller rating
138
83
29
7
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
138
83
29
7
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews living room full size refrigerator pull out sofa college cereal whirlpool
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 269 reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2022

Booked online specifically for my children to swim. Arrived and pool was closed. Asked for cancelation and refund and they would cancel but would not guarantee a refund. Needless to say the kids are pretty happy. Will wait to hear from corporate. Wouldn't recommend this place to anyone.

Date of stay: January 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank caseym219
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 3 November 2021

Great place! Clean, well taken care of, loved having kitchen, and a separate room for sleepy peeps. Easy to dial phone at the front desk any time of day for assistance. Would have loved a hotter whirlpool, but that was getting fixed, and is an extra perk.

Date of stay: October 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 31 August 2021

When we arrived, we did find the staff working and dedicated to making our stay as pleasant and enjoyable as possible. This property is in the process of raising their standards and making needed improvements. Management is involved in dedicated way, and treated us as their guests with significant levels of appreciation. The future of this property is very bright, especially when you treat your guests as well as they treated us.

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anthonyrU9281ZD
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 21 April 2021

I can't rate the hotel because they called us two days before we were due to arrive to tell us that they were doing work on several rooms and couldn't accommodate us. No "let us help you" or "we'll put you into other rooms" -- just "you'll need to book a room elsewhere". 2 days before we were to fly in for a funeral. Don't stay at this hotel, even if they give you the opportunity. You might find yourselves high and dry, too.

Date of stay: April 2021
Thank Maryann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Brad Ainsworth, Owner at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Ames, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2021

Maryann~ Thank you for taking the time to respond and leaving feedback regarding your experience. In doing research on your reservation, you were due to check-in on 4/23. Our front desk agent contacted you Tuesday to inform you of our unforeseeable repairs to your suite. During this time, we offered several other hotels with the same room layout and rate that had availability. you can assure our team worked diligently to try and resolve the issue. We apologize we did not meet your expectations and hope for another opportunity to accommodate you in the future. Kind regards, Nicole Gibbs General Manager GrandStay Hotel & Suites Ames Iowa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2020

To the Management:
No one a the front desk and i heard someone talking in the back office as I said hello. They both came out and as looking unhappy and the only words this person said when I ask for the bag of breakfast is how many do you want.. the other staff with her shook her head as she walks out the door. No good morning or whatsoever and i am expecting a greetings to be polite and I cant believed how these staff behave in a hospitality business like this, my opinion, find another front desk agent if this business owner wants to make money. This pandemic is hard enough for business alone. We are a hotel owners in Lake Geneva and if my staff behaves this way, I will fire them in a heart beat and find good people immediately.

Max and Milah
308

Date of stay: July 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MC101303
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Brad Ainsworth, Owner at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Ames, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2020

Dear Max and Milah,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a guest survey after your recent stay at GrandStay Hotel & Suites. I sincerely apologize for the lack of customer service you received during your stay. This is certainly not the kind of experience we want our valued guests to have. Please accept our apologies. I invite you to contact m directly the net time your travels bring you to Ames, and we will ensure that you will have a better experience the next time you stay at GrandStay. Nicole G. Assistant General Manager GrandStay Hotel & Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews