We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic Sate Park Hotel Overlooking Lake and Beautiful Surroundings!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Angola
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Potawatomi Inn and Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Angola
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 November 2017

Just to make a point. This is not the J.W. Marriott Hotel or Four Seasons, but an historic hotel that was originally built in 1927. Since then a new hotel wing was added with many additional rooms, indoor heated pool, spa, conference center, outdoor patio seating in the warmer months, restaurant, etc. We had two rooms. My wife and I were in the historic older section, and our relatives with many kids stayed in a newer family room with 2 double beds and 2 bunk beds. The historic room was small, but very clean and updated with flat screen TV, WiFi, very comfortable beds, etc. The hotel common areas especially the lobby entrance with a large fireplace and many comfortable seating areas is very welcoming. A small gift shop had a lot of local outdoor crafts, shirts, sweaters and sundries was fine.There is a large conference center onsite for meetings and weddings and this weekend the Mary Kay crowd was there was an inspirational sales weekend. There are many seating areas between buildings, one of which has a large freshwater aquarium with species of fish from the lake on the property. There are hallways with tables, rocking chairs, jigsaw puzzles, photos from decades past to make this hotel very home like and comfortable. Outside the entrance to the restaurant is another large gathering rooms with a large fireplace, tables, sofas, chairs, etc that many people this weekend took advantage of. Throughout the state park where the hotel is located are miles or hiking trails, campgrounds, bob sled run in wintertime, lake for fishing, boating, canoes, horse back riding and a nature center to find out more about the local wildlife and birds.A nice place to get away for a weekend in the fall.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer C, Manager at Potawatomi Inn and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Dear Alan Z,

Thank you for such a wonderful review on your stay and sharing your feedback when visiting the Potawatomi Inn! I am so thrilled to read of all that you were able to see and experience both at our inn as well as on the beautiful grounds of Pokagon State Park. Whether it is for social, or business, the Potawatomi Inn is an ideal location to host an event. Hope you and your family members will choose to visit with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (345)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 345 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2017

The grounds are beautiful, and the staff, especially the cleaning staff, are wonderful and accommodating. I would like to return during the winter on my own personal time to explore all that the Inn and Park have to offer.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmilyAlive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017 via mobile

Although our stay here was ok, I was disappointed in our room and some of the staff here. Upon entering our room, it didn’t smell very good- kind of like dirty shoes. When you look up at the vent over the bed, there is all kinds of black fuzz or dust clinging on the ceiling tiles. The light fixtures directly above the bed was covered in cob webs and obviously had not been dusted in a long time. There was pealing wall paper and the door to the patio was so hard to open we just gave up! The patio area looked nice if we could have accessed it easier it would have been nice. No refrigerator in the room and furniture looked very worn. On a good note, the bed was comfortable and we had dinner at the restaurant and it was good. Front desk staff was friendly but hotel staff we encountered were talking about schedules and cussing while complaining. Just not a good impression of hotel staffers.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Cindi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer C, Manager at Potawatomi Inn and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your stay at our Inn! I am sincerely sorry that your experience and expectations we did not meet! I would welcome a call to discuss more in detail of some of the issues that you encountered during your stay. Please feel free to contact me when an opportunity allows.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

The setting was pretty good for a state owner facility. The room was clean and had lots of towels, hand towels and wash clothes. I had stayed at another inn about one year ago and loved it . This facility did not offer refrigerators in the room nor microwaves. I had a two queen size bed suite so I thought it would offer these amenities. I was disappointed with that result. The trails were not clearly marked and the maps in the information book in the room were confusing and blurry. My second level court side room was not too private and had no nature views. If I go back I will ask for a room with a view of the lake or woods.

Room Tip: Book a room with lake or woods view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Car0lynl0vest0travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer C, Manager at Potawatomi Inn and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review on your stay at the Potawatomi Inn. Your feedback is very important to us! For your next visit, please do keep in mind, that we do have guest rooms that offer a refrigerator and microwave. Also we do have refrigerators and microwaves that are available to rent on a first come first basis for the standard rooms that do not offer these amenities. Lake views are not guaranteed , however, we are happy to request and we will do our best to accommodate. Please keep in mind, at the front desk we do have a more detailed map of the trails that is available. We look forward to your next visit at the Potawatomi Inn!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017

Stayed in Room 218. A claustrophobic closet with a great view of the grounds and lake. Bathtub has slip strips, but once tub is wet, it is very hazardous for anyone that is short due to lack of grab bars. The bed dominates this very small room and it's an ancient full size bed. The bed was very hard and uncomfortable. The air conditioning works somewhat good, but seemed to shut off later at night and it was hard to regulate the temperature. I was supposed to stay 2 nights, but after not being able to get more than a couple hours sleep, I decided against it. I don't know about the new section, but I certainly hope it is better than the "Historic section."

Room Tip: Don't stay in older section. If sold out, rent from a local hotel and save the money from the ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank asmith62017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer C, Manager at Potawatomi Inn and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Thank you for your review and feedback on your stay. I am so sorry to hear that your guest room did not meet your expectations! Please do keep our newer section in mind for future stays. They certainly offer more space, and have a complete different feel than the Historic rooms. If you would like to learn more about these mentioned rooms, please do not hesitate to contact us. We look forward to having you as our guest again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Angola
1.9 km away
Ramada Angola/Fremont Area
3.6 km away
Quality Inn hotel in Fremont
3.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Fremont
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.2 km away
Best Western Plus Howe Inn
26.7 km away
Hampton Inn Coldwater
Hampton Inn Coldwater
#1 of 6 in Coldwater
307 reviews
3.5 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 3 in Fremont
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Potawatomi Inn and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Potawatomi Inn and Conference Center

Address: 6 Lane 100a Lake James, Angola, IN 46703-9591
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Angola
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Angola
Price Range: HK$462 - HK$1,166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Potawatomi Inn and Conference Center is located in beautiful Pokagon State Park, on the shores of pristine Lake James, one of Indiana's largest lakes. Visitors will enjoy acres of outdoor recreational opportunities and all modern amenities. A historic structure, the Inn opened to the public in 1927. Many renovations and additions have added the modern conveniences that today's guests expect while preserving the historic importance of the Inn. The Inn features two restaurants. The Historic Dining Room is housed in the original historic section of the Inn and features a full menu and buffet service certain nights along with a bountiful Sunday Brunch. The Courtyard Cafe is a seasonal outlet that features quick service foods, our fresh baked pizza and ice cream. Guests can enjoy any one of the Inns many amenities including our craft room, where kids of all ages can create souvenirs to take home with them. Or if you are looking for a quiet place to read or do a puzzle in front of the fireplace, you can try the library or the Lonidow Lounge. Of course, the most popular amenity is the 1,600 acre Pokagon State Park with its miles of hiking and biking trails and not one, but two beaches. And don't think that we go dormant in the winter, from Thanksgiving weekend through the end of February the weekends come alive with the opening of the Toboggan Run which features two quarter mile refrigerated toboggan tracks that can reach speeds of 35 to 40 miles per hour! Come enjoy the Potawatomi Inn and Conference Center, Indiana's year round playground! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Potawatomi Inn Hotel Angola
Potawatomi Hotel Angola
Potawatomi Resort Angola
Potawatomi Inn Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing