We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (359)
Filter reviews
359 results
Traveller rating
119
130
56
33
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
119
130
56
33
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscraft roomnature centerstate parkhistoric sectiontoboggan runlake jameshistoric roomsfamily reunionolder roomshorseback ridinghot tubpatio roomsfire pitping pongindoor poolcabin suitesdouble bed
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 359 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2017

I asked for the least expensive room and the clerk compared deals for me. Our room was small but clean and comfortable. The only problem was that there was a step up into the bathroom and sure enough, I tripped on it. The Inn has many nice areas for people to sit for a visit or just to unwind. I felt like we were always discovering a new spot. This would be great for a large group or family. There is also a small snack shop selling sandwiches, etc. as well as the regular dining room. Seating outside made it easy to just sit and look at the water.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer C, Manager at Potawatomi Inn and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2017

Your review and feedback is very much welcomed and appreciated! We have so many family reunions that are held year after year at the Inn! We would love to host your family reunion if and when you have a need! We look forward to welcoming you back to the inn again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017

Room smelled of sewer gas during our stay. There was a dead roach on the bathroom floor. The A/C unit blew cool but very damp air. Our clothing felt like we stayed in a rain forest. The pool needs major work. Don't trust the online menus as they can arbitrarily present a "limited menu" in which a la carte items were more than we budgeted. Mattresses were very firm in our room so take this into consideration if your used to a little comfort. We would have been more comfortable if we would have stayed in a nearby hotel and just visited the park during the day.

Room Tip: Stay off grounds
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PokyPickles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer C, Manager at Potawatomi Inn and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

I thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay. I am sincerely sorry that we fell short during your visit! I would welcome a time to discuss your review. I hope that you will give us another opportunity to make it right!
Please feel free to call me at (260) 833-1077 (440).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017 via mobile

This is a fantastic place for the whole family. Lots of indoor and outdoor activities for children and adults alike. My personal favorite is hiking for nature trails and the toboggan slide, but playing board games and video games inside is what the kids like. And don't forget the pool sauna and hot tub whenever you're in the mood.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Lou D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer C, Manager at Potawatomi Inn and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Your feedback on your recent stay is so very much appreciated! After reading your review it sounds like you were able to enjoy many activities that are offered on site. Keep in mind toboggan season, right around the corner! So excited to welcome your family back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017 via mobile

We spent just one night in one of the rooms in the historic section of the inn. We had a small room with one double bed. The room was clean and tidy; the bathroom was very clean with a nice shower. The room overlooked the lake, but the position and size of the windows are such that you really don't have much of a view. The bed was overly firm for my taste, but otherwise it was a nice stay and a reasonable value. The AC worked well as did the wifi and it was very quiet. The park and the lovely lawn and balcony makes up for the small room. When one stays at an historic facility one must reset their expectations - times have changed.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer C, Manager at Potawatomi Inn and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2017

We are so happy that you chose to be our guest at the Potawatomi Inn! During your next stay, If you would desire to have a larger room, I would like to suggest staying in one of our rooms located on the other side of our inn. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017

The location at Pokagon is impressive set in beautiful woodland and countryside. Arrival at the Inn is to a with a well maintained lobby with friendly and efficient staff, our visit was for a family reunion to meet a large number of relatives from across the USA (who meet here every year).
The rooms we booked were 'historic rooms', the original accommodation at the the Inn. These are cosy rooms with en-suite facilities. Being English we missed our Tea, the facilities being more for coffee drinkers. There are coffee making facilities which were not refilled after day 1.
The rooms were cleaned daily, but the cleaning staff could probably do with smile training.
The restaurant menu was a little dull and was never particularly busy (as result of the lack luster menu), the breakfast buffet was also disappointing. At the weekend however, the breakfast buffet had some sudden rejuvenation and the food served was of a much higher standard in taste and appearance, by Monday though it was back to not very interesting.
We tried the swimming pool at the Inn, once you get past the intense eye watering chlorine the pool is a good size, there is a sauna and a large hot tub. The grounds are fabulous and the lake access is very picturesque.
Conclusion:-
A fantastic location, all the staff (except the cleaner of our rooms) were simply brilliant and a credit to the establishment.
Good food is is only a stones throw away in the surrounding area - everyone raved about breakfast at 'The village Kitchen' Off N.Superior St Angola and meals and Beer were impressive at Mad Anthony's at Lake James. Nearby Angola has everything else you could want for including supermarkets.
The Pokagon state park is a credit to the country and Indiana - would I visit again...Yes

Room Tip: Book a room in the newer side of the Inn, and ensure it has a good view - patio rooms are more family friendly.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Swablah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer C, Manager at Potawatomi Inn and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2017

Your feedback on your stay is very much appreciated! I am sorry to read that our dining room did not meet your expectations! I would welcome a call to discuss more specifics on how we can meet your needs for your next visit. We sincerely appreciate your business! Look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews