We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,563)
Filter reviews
1,564 results
Traveller rating
1,239
264
40
15
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,239
264
40
15
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews iguana project in town green iguana mayan ruins on site honeymoon suite steep hill cahal pech restaurant staff tour guide nice pool cayo district cave tubing bird watching atm cave western belize zip lining
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 1,564 reviews
Reviewed 25 November 2021

I wish to recommend the guide from San Ignacio Resort in Belize! He's name is Jason and lead us to Caracol! We were a group of 4 and 3 of them were elders around 70 years old. Jason was very patient and always help to everyone. It was wonderful time we've spent there!
We wish to come back next year (without mask, hopefully)!

Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank 964tsvetelinay
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SIRH Manager, Marketing at San Ignacio Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2021

Dear Guest, 964tsvetelinay,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the T.A. Community whilst staying at our resort. We would also like to thank you for this recommendation, and for highlighting our staff member, Jason. We are so pleased to know he was kind and patient during your tour to Caracol and ensured your group had a great time!

We certainly look forward to your return and hosting you again!

All our best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2021

I rarely write a bad review but I’m really disappointed in this hotel. First when we got to the hotel there were a bunch of tiny bugs on the front desk counter that were crawling around as I was filling out my form.

When we got to our room the sheets had dirt and hair on them. They changed the sheets.

Then today there were ants in the room. I tried to tolerate it and then found ants on my bed. I called and asked to be moved upstairs where there would be fewer insects. Though there were rooms upstairs, he would not move us unless we paid the difference as they were more expensive. Note that there was no one in those rooms so it’s not like they would have lost money moving us. Instead he offered to come and spray insecticide in the room or to move me the next room over (which I explained would likely be the same situation).

On the other hand the restaurant was pretty good and the service was excellent. In fact the front desk service during the day was excellent as well.

I am just disappointed because the hotel presents itself as upscale. It’s an average hotel and the cleanliness is not great. If you come here expecting that then you’ll be fine.

Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank CarolMC77123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SIRH Manager, Marketing at San Ignacio Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2021

Dear CarolMC77123,

Thank you for sharing your review with the T.A. Community whilst staying at our resort. We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed the dining experience and our hospitality during your stay!

Please allow us to respond to your concerns.

We do get small flies in our resort, including the Lobby area as due to our surrounding tropical landscape, and few rain showers making insects ( completely not harmful) more active this time of the year.

In addition, we do clean and sanitize all rooms before any guest check-ins and we do apologize for not meeting your expectation. As per the conversation with the front desk concierge, we immediately sent housekeeping to replace all sheets and freshen the room again to make the rest of your stay as comfortable as possible.

Please do note that our policy for upgrades to the Suite Section does require a difference in payment. We were also offering a discount promo, offered to all guests for this month.

We certainly understand your concerns, and we pride ourselves on our resort and services. Our Management apologizes for the insects and has taken steps to avoid this in the future as we are committed to maintaining high standards of cleanliness at our Resort. Thank you.

All our best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2021

Amazing,beautiful, me and my family had so much fun and we got to experience nature at it's best. We had the opportunity to do all the on-site tours we had an amazing experience , especially our son. The food was amazing and so was the hospitality.The staff was so nice,helpful and friendly . The jungle sweet we stayed in was perfect for us and our son. And very beautiful especially the view you wake up to every morning and the sound of nature. 100% recommend this resort!!!

Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 305nelsiec
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SIRH Manager, Marketing at San Ignacio Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2021

Dear Guest, 305nelsiec,

We appreciate you sharing your experience with the T.A. Community whilst staying at our Resort. We're so happy you and your family got to exprience the best of our resort, including all the on-site tours! It is very pleasing to know that our dining experience, as well as hospitality met your expectation.

Thank you for choosing the San Ignacio Resort Hotel as your Belizean vacation destination and for recommending us. We look forward to your return!

All our best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2021

My family and I (kids ages 10 & 12) visited San Ignacio for some adventure, and boy did we find it! Between the Mayan archaeological sites and the caving excursions, this area of Belize really has it all. For our jumping off point we chose to stay at San Ignacio Resort Hotel because of its excellent reputation and location in the town.

Our five-night stay at the resort was simply perfect. We stayed in the Jungle View suite which provided a nice amount of space for our family and a really nice private balcony. Enjoying our coffee out there in the morning while listening to the birds and the city starting to wake up was really special. We also made full use of the location. While it’s a bit of a steep hill, it's only a very short walk into town from the hotel. Staying somewhere where the town was in walkable distance was very important to us. It was so nice to be able to visit the market, or just run down to one of the small groceries to pick up a few items. We also walked to Cahal Pech which is not to be missed! Again, it's only a short walk and $5 usd to enter!

The staff was also wonderful, with special thanks to our server Elito who was so attentive with anything we needed. Finally, we used the hotel tour company for our excursion to Xunantunich and Barton Creek Cave. Our guide, Cruz was awesome! He was so knowledgeable and good natured. Exploring the site with him in the morning, and then canoeing deep into the cave that afternoon was simply an incredible way to spend a day. I certainly look forward to coming back to San Ignacio in the future.

Date of stay: October 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 613gavinw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SIRH Manager, Marketing at San Ignacio Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2021

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with the T.A Community! "Perfect" is so pleasing to our ears, as we strive to give you the best guest experience, from the moment you arrive at our resort. We're so happy to know you had an amazing stay and enjoyed the quiet and tranquil ambiance of our property, and also got to experience the best of Western Belize, with Elito as our guide. We look forward to your return and hosting you and your family again!

All our best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2021

The four of us had an excellent stay. We felt very safe because masks were required for everyone, regardless of vaccination status. The rooms were comfortable and roomy. The restaurant food was excellent. The staff were very courteous and kind. I loved that when my husband and I returned from an excursion, reception could tell us if my sister and her husband had arrived from their excursion and where they were (room, patio, restaurant). The restaurant arranged for us to have bagged breakfasts and/or lunches when we needed them for our excursions. We took advantage of their Mayan fish cooking experience, which involved learning how the Mayans cooked fish over a fire. Luis, our Mayan guide, was very informative and entertaining. He carried the fish to the restaurant where they added side dishes. Wow, what a finger-licking experience!

Date of stay: September 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DougLilyMaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SIRH Manager, Marketing at San Ignacio Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2021

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your wonderful review of the T.A. Community! It gives us great pleasure to know you had a wonderful stay at our resort and enjoyed our new Maya Fish cooking experience! Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to your return!

All our Best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews