We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food but service was lack luster”

Sumathi Indian Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 117 Restaurants in Belize City
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

Went there with family and had high expectations. The food was descent but spicy!! So be aware if you go with kids, request mild or not spicy.
Service was just lacking - the front desk lady didn't speak English, while the person who spoke English, walked away into kitchen after we arrived.

Do not get Mango Lassi here...it was pretty bad!!

Date of visit: February 2017
1  Thank Aviator750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2017 via mobile

I go out of my way to leave generous reviews, and to find some redeeming quality concerning the restaurant but ... we went there in spite of some bad reviews and because it's nearby. One review said owners were arrogant, aloof and unresponsive. TRUE. We were "waved" to sit anywhere. There was NO ONE else in the restaurant at 6:05pm. That should have been our sign. We were eventually given menus. Prices were relatively high and the menu appeared to be huge. Nope. We were left long enough to read it over and over. It repeats itself only to take up room on pages. One page repeats itself on the same page. No matter. We were hungry. She finally came back to take our order. No word on specials or suggestions. None. OK. I love lamb and I love spinach. What could go wrong? I received a bucket of cold, green slop with bones in it. I tried to eat it, but totally not edible. I couldn't even pretend. Naan and white rice was ok. My friend's dishes were just so so. But over all, the worst meal and service I've ever had. Ever. A lady poked around in the slop and said there was "meat it there" and acted totally rude. She was really too busy on her phone to be bothered with my concern. Disgusting experience. Would NEVER go back.

Date of visit: January 2017
2  Thank q1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2017

Looking at the other reviews, I honestly felt that it didn't live up to the hype. We were really looking forward to having some South Indian cuisine in Belize and found out that all the idli/dosas were breakfast only. Food was average at best and more of a home cooked meal than restaurant fare. Also this is one of the pricey joints in Belize. The Tiger Beach Club in Placencia had a better ambiance and much better food...

Date of visit: December 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jokerji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2017

This restaurant wasn't half as amazing as reviews made it out to be. The restaurant looked okay, and the food arrived in a reasonable amount of time. The portions of the food were okay, but the quality of the food was hovering above terrible. It wasn't up to restaurant standards at all, it tasted like a failed dinner attempt at home. The naan was dry, the sauce meant to be spicy was very sweet. And if this isn't enough, it was very highly priced, way more than was acceptable for the value of the meal. The restaurant was closed on Mondays, so we asked one of the owners if there was another good Indian restaurant in town. "Oh, there are no other Indian restaurants in this city," she lies through her teeth. The very same day, we found 2 just in the area. This restaurants was not up to standards at all.

Date of visit: December 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank VarshaG551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2017 via mobile

Indian food in Belize is a strange combo I know but traveling with vegetarians they needed a fix.

Is the food as good as top Indian restaurants in New York City San Francisco etc? No. Is it a great Indian restaurant in the middle of Central America, absolutely!

The vegetarians in the group loved all of the veggie options. I had the chicken tiki masala with excellent whole white breast chicken meat and a great sauce.

The naan bread was just average.

On Sundays they serve south Indian food such as dosas.

Safe neighborhood for us to travel at night. We had a taxi drop us off from our hotel. The staff and owners are absolutely wonderful.

If you're craving Indian food in the middle of your Central American trip stop in here and get satisfied.

Date of visit: January 2017
Thank Pheelinpow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sumathi Indian Restaurant also viewed

Belize City, Belize District
Belize City, Belize District
 
Belize City, Belize District
Belize City, Belize District
 
Belize City, Belize District
Belize City, Belize District
 

Been to Sumathi Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing