We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (38)
Filter reviews
38 results
Traveller rating
18
16
1
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
18
16
1
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews howler monkeys crocodile tour canoe trip cashew fruit nature walk traditional belizean night tour stewed chicken air conditioning russell agouti bungalow cabana community micheal jungle fridge
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 38 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2018 via mobile

Loved our stay ! Wonderful, pretty and clean hut with hammock on the porch and pretty, flowery, tropical plants surrounding it. The inside was roomy and had a small refrigerator, great AC, nice pretty, big bed. Small, clean bathroom. Hot water was fickle.
They helped us boom great local tours!
Did a great hike with a local, very knowledgeable guide, on trails across the street, to see many Howler Monkeys !
Did a lovely early river 2 1/2 hr canoe trip to see many Howler monkeys, many beautiful birds and big iguanas! A bit long but very nice!!
The Nature Resort served delicious breakfast and dinner.
The owner and his family are super nice and kept everything very clean !
Wished we stayed longer !

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2018

This place is truly a treasure of Belizean hospitality. We stumbled upon it by chance after another lodging experience we had went "south". You will likely hear and see howler monkeys, parrots, and other wildlife right from your own porch. The grounds are in immaculate condition. The rooms are quiet, cool, and clean. It is a fairly short and peaceful drive away from Belize City. Free WiFi is available in the dining/office facility. They provide delicious home-cooked breakfasts and dinners if you'd like. The best meal we ate all week in the country was their stewed chicken, rice & beans, fried plantain, and stewed cashew fruit. The family who runs the business (Roy, Silvia, and Roy Jr) is genuine and helpful. They work their business around their guests. They also provide tours into the monkey preserves. If you are staying near Belize City, this is a unique "must-stay" location.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fallywalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RYoungNatureResort, Owner at Nature Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2018

Thanks for your generous review. We are trying our best to give our guest a cherished experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2018 via mobile

This is a rural rustic lodge, so manage your expectations and you’ll have a fabulous stay.

Location: it’s located right next door to the community baboon sanctuary, along the river bank. So it’s in a quiet rural area that is very close to nature. We stayed one night and did several nature activities there that was very enjoyable. I highly recommend the river canoe tours (day and or night). See my community baboon sanctuary review for activities. It’s about 1 hour outside Belize City and so serene.

Grounds: Owner Mr Roy and his staff keep the grounds immaculate and maintenance is excellent. I imagine it’s endless work keeping everything kept up in the wet jungle. There are cashew nut trees (favorites of the baboons), mango trees and fig trees all around.

Bungalows: each separate bungalow is traditional Palm leaf roof huts with covered patios. Some have air conditioning (A/C) and some don’t. While it’s breezy with louvre windows, after walking in the heat, the A/C feels so nice.

We were in the Black Orchid (#3 I think) and it’s a private bungalow, our room is the only one in that building (Some buildings have 2 separate rooms). While the furniture is not new, it was well maintained and very clean inside.

The patio has two lounge chairs and a hammock where you can sit and bird watch, or listen to the baboons and parrots. We even saw an agouti.

The room is quite spacious and has a king bed, a kitchen sink, fridge, cooking top and bar seating for 2. There a sofa and coffee table as well. The bed-frame is made from mangrove branches and mattress was on a firm side. But plenty of pillows.

The bathroom is small but clean, has flush toilet, small sink and shower. Note that the shower water is only cold to lukewarm. But we didn’t mind since we were hot from hiking.

We paid for full board, which includes dinner and breakfast. Mr Roy’s niece is an excellent chef and we had a tasty traditional Belizean meal (stew chicken with rice) and dessert was raw cashews and stewed cashew fruit from their trees. Lovely local and organic meal. Breakfast was eggs, toast and fruit.

We only stayed one night but really enjoyed Mr Roy’s hospitality and would absolutely stay here again for a longer stay. Highly recommend.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank LuvtoSafari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2018

Stayed here our first night in Belize. Basic room, good A/C. In the morning when we could see the grounds we were blown away, so beautiful. We looked to the tree above our cabana and saw a family of Howler monkeys relaxing and they had slept there above us the night before. Service was great and the tour at the preserve was amazing, so close to the monkeys, several of which were with babies. Will be back for sure to do the other tours and explore the area further.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dougc8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2018

We had a wonderful stay. Roy welcomed our family and went above and beyond. Whether a side trip to the sugar cane factory, the crocodile tour, or waking up early to see the famous Easter bike race, this was a great end for our 12 days in Belize.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brennan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews