We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (114)
Filter reviews
114 results
Traveller rating
37
40
24
8
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
37
40
24
8
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews quiet resort fridge and microwave rooms are spacious and clean walk into town sand flies nice room a great stay shower head balcony pier hammocks plug signal sunrise breeze swimming palapa
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 114 reviews
Reviewed 29 January 2018 via mobile

A short walk or bicycle ride to town center. Beach front location with pier, hammocks and chairs. Charming, quiet and relaxing atmosphere. Rooms are spacious and clean. Room service exceptional. Above all the attitude of management and staff was outstanding.
Wi Fi occasionally intermittent but is the service provider not the hotel. Beds very comfortable.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank YvonneAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2018

I stayed in King room 26 on the 3rd floor. (Note that all King beds are on the 3rd floor). So be prepared to walk up and down 34 steps or request two beds on lower floors. The topmost step is a little higher, so lift that foot!
The room is spacious, with a comfortable couch, fridge and microwave.
I plugged in the fridge and it kept my food nicely cool. The ceiling light has a loud electric buzz, so there is a lamp next to the bed that you can plug in.
The bed was super firm. Best described as hard. I liked the support and slept well, but others might be uncomfortable.
There is a ceiling fan and AC, both worked really well.
The only downside was the wifi. I had to hold my devices up in the air next to the window to get signal, or go out on the balcony, but then I had to deal with the mosquitoes and the sun or rain. The view of sunrise from the balcony is spectacular! There are 2 plastic chairs and a table there.
The bathroom shower and faucet handles are worn and could use an upgrade, but the shower head and spray was fine.
The water temperature was consistent, once you set it, but the water pressure cycled from low to high. Housekeeping was in the mid-afternoon during my stay. The hotel is on the south end of town, so be prepared for walking longer distances. Overall, I really enjoyed staying at the Anchorage! The staff that I met are really nice. Lucrecia, at the front desk, is very kind.
She accomodated my request to switch from a double to a King room.
Thank you for your hospitality!

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Travelin_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2018

The hotel is right on the beach (although maybe not the best for swimming), there are chairs and a pier with hammocks, really relaxing.
The rooms are spacious with ensuite bathroom and there is a fridge.
Our room was not cleaned during the three days we stayed there, bed not made, only the bins emptied and the bath towel changed.
Unfortunately there are no breakfast facilities, only a kettle in reception (which at the moment is in a separate cabin) but reception opens only from 8am to 5pm.
Staff are friendly and Miss Lucky is always smiling.

Stayed: December 2017
Thank WonderfulWorld68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2018

Calling this a resort is a misnomer. It's a hotel. No pool. No bar. No restaurant. You do have the Caribbean a few step from your door. There's a pier with a palapa at the end with hammocks. Lounge chairs on the beach. The staff is friendly and helpful at all times. Great family run place. Rooms are nice with balconies and very quiet. Great water pressure in the shower. It's a bit out of town but within an easy walk on the beach. A taxi to anywhere is US $2.50. If it rains even a little the sand flies attack in full force. Be very careful on the stairs, they ride is not the same on every step.

Room Tip: Third floor has best views.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jadeh99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018

The hotel is located a few minutes away from the docks and the centre and therefore it was always very calm. Our room was spacious with AC and fan. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom was very clean. The hotel has a private beach including a little pier with hammocks. Like everywhere on the whole island there was a lot of seagrass. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We could borrow a kayak for free and they also helped us to organize a snorkling-tour. This hotel is a nice place to relax at the beach in a calm atmosphere. In the evenings it is just a 5 minute walk to the centre with all the bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eddschmer_Packers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews