We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,496)
Filter reviews
1,496 results
Traveller rating
961
356
106
50
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
961
356
106
50
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pineapple dive shop belizean princess purple parrot dive staff dive master ambergris caye golf cart blue hole thatched roof beachfront room in town great diving dive sites dive vacation fish restaurant staff
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 1,496 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2018

This is my husbands and mine second time to stay at Ramon’s and we wish we could go back tomorrow! The staff is great, they do everything they can to make your stay unbeliezable! The first time we stayed in the honeymoon cabana and I wish we had reserved it for this time because the ocean view from it is amazing. Make sure to get quized by Trivia Jack and if you are a diver request Turiano!

Date of stay: July 2018
1  Thank keethdvm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RamonsVillage15, Guest Relations Manager at Ramon's Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

The only thing better than staying at Ramon's Village Resort is staying there twice. And as they same "third times a charm". We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and appreciate the great post on Trip Advisor. Please do hurry back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2018

RAMONS VILLAGE
PROS;
Very close to airport.
Full service dive center.
Grounds were a jungle maze if you like that setting. The room/suite (216) was one of the better rooms which set back but had a slight view of the water. Suites that set right on the front side would not be as peaceful because of all the foot traffic that passes by. The staff were all very friendly.
Close to Ice Cream shop, Blue Water Grill and a few other restaurants.
CONS;
Very close to airport. Quite noisy.
The instructor for our dive refresher course never went over hooking up the BC, gages, and tank.
On our first dive, the staff hooked up our BC/gages/tanks and put them on the boat. When I got down to the bottom on my dive, I realized that my BC/Tank hook up did not have the pressure/depth gages attached. There were only three of us on this dive, there is no excuse for that type of negligence.
Ramons serves no hard alcohol at the resort. Restaurant food was quite average overall but did have some good salads. Waiter service was not that good.
Room; This was called a suite but had no kitchen. Very odd layout with toilet on one side of the room, and the face bowl/wash room was on the far other side of the room. There was an area which had a mini fridge/counter sink, & cabinets, but there was no light over there, so it was totally dark at night. The room overall was dark, dingy and had a musky/moldy smell. This was probably because there are no windows to open, or screen on the doors to keep open for fresh air. The room tended to get too cold with the air on and too warm with the a/c off. Housekeeping would get a C grade.
We were told that tennis courts were within walking distance-Not True. When we rode over to the tennis courts, they were in such bad condition that they were not playable.

We would not stay at Ramons again, but we will visit that city again.

Room tip: Second floor and away from the front side
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GAR722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RamonsVillage15, Guest Relations Manager at Ramon's Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2018

We endeavor to make everyone's stay an experience they will treasure forever. We apologize that we were not able to provide you with that experience. Your comments have been noted and will be discussed with management. We appreciate you sharing your observations with us so that we may better accommodate our future guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2018

Firstly, the staff were wonderful on the night of our son's 8th birthday. Prior, they took delivery of his cake which we ordered from a nearby bakery, they provided us with some candles, and they sang him happy birthday. So all that was very nice. And the waiter on that night was easily the best in our experiences (is it Pedro?).

On the downside...... some staff are a little rude and lazy. Simple questions are met with frustrated looks, especially when you ask wait staff for a simple cup of tea. They are not all like this. The porters were cool. They work hard and were quite friendly.
The young staff who also sweep up the red seaweed each morning do an outstanding job - it is a thankless task and they deserve to be paid more money.

The pool is a disappointment - it is full of chlorine and not very appealing. We went in there once over 3 nights and that was it. The pool is also quite small, but the main issue is the high level of chlorine.

But thankfully, the end of the jetty opposite the resort is a great place to dive in and swim and snorkel. It's very relaxing and I highly recommend it.

The rooms are OK, but a little dark, like the reception. They must be saving on power bills. It was also annoying that there was no tea in the rooms. There were plenty of coffee options - but no tea. One night when I called the kitchen to get a tea, they said they were closed...... All I needed was hot water and a tea bag... Oh well.

The restaurant is pretty reasonable. They have a wide variety of options, for kids too, and are pretty-well priced for a hotel restaurant.

Ramon's, who was the popular guy who ran the place, sadly died recently, but the resort still carries on obviously. They need to lift their game as I think it has the potential to be a great place.

Instagram: ja_shot_life

Room tip: Swim at the end of the jetty - not the pool
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jason A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RamonsVillage15, Guest Relations Manager at Ramon's Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2018

Thank you for being our guest at Ramon's Village Resort and for sharing you thoughts concerning your stay. Your comments will be brought of the attention of our management staff. We are always working to improve ourselves and will continue in that effort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2018

Very nice resort with jungle landscaping that was especially cool at night. A/C in the rooms , which is nice with the warm, humid ocean weather. We had a 2nd floor room, which had nice views, just a bit of work with luggage. The dive services here are excellent, and the restaurant serves up a great breakfast. Would definitely stay again! Located not too far from just about everything in San Pedro.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharlieB24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RamonsVillage15, Guest Relations Manager at Ramon's Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2018

Thank you. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and will look forward to your next visit. No need to touch your luggage though. Our staff will deliver it to your room and pick it up when you are ready to leave. After all you are on vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2018

Very jungle like. Flowers blooming. Open air dining. One restaurant. Office closes around 10 PM so you better be in your room. We had a room that was beach front Nicholas was good because that's there the ONLY security guard can be found. Mainly because the small beach in front is NOT private. So you have beggars pestering you the entire time you are trying to relay and enjoy. They walk up to,you with junk and no one really does anything. My husband and I finally just had to be rude to them and told them to go away. Ramon's is a mega divers haven and offers lessons, they also have snorkeling. This is a plus if you are interested. Most of the guides are pretty cool. The first night we were there a couple was robbed hole sleeping. A guy came in the balcony sole all phone, mommy credit cards etc. and caries it away in the ladies beach bag. Office was closed so a guy had to run and find he one guard near the beach. After that we slept with a chair again our door with a trash can on top! The place isn't cheap but I felt like we were in a motel. Ha! No TV's ... probably because theyweouks get stollen. Also zero alcohol sold at property. You can't go out at night or walk on the beach because they tell you it's not safe and it's not!! The food is so so at the restaurant. Buy your booze at duty free. The bars and restaurants in the city of San Pedro aren't to good either. Don't expect anything fancy. Pack plenty of snacks. We usually go to St Thomas but with the hurricane we thought we would try Belize. It was ok, but once was enough. If you need a gold cart and you will su in for the day, just get it at Ramon's. It's basically the same as all the others, keep up with your time and it irks out to the same. Everything is overpriced ... but they assume visitors are rich. And I guess we are considering how they must live. Sorry for the depressing review, but I review them like I see them.

Room tip: Get a room with a beach front view on the beach non restrictive. Or don't go!
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank KRICH2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RamonsVillage15, Guest Relations Manager at Ramon's Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2018

Ramon's Village Resort is the only property on the island that supports an actual Jungle on the Beach. Combined with our Tahitian themed cabanas it provides a setting unequaled by any other properties any where in the area.

While it appears true that someone did enter a guest room, apparently the verandah door was either open or unlocked, as there was no evidence of forceful entry. The chances are actually pretty good that you will not get robbed while you are staying here. We employ around the clock security to discourage the beach peddlers and those who might consider taking something that does not belong to them. We prefer our guests spend their time meeting and making new friends, or getting reacquainted with each other, rather than watching TV. If you feel the need though we do offer movies on DVD which you can watch on your own device.

The staff at Ramon's Village Resort understands that our guests work very hard, and we work very hard to ensure you enjoy your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews