We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,066)
Filter reviews
1,066 results
Traveller rating
868
139
38
15
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
868
139
38
15
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beachfront casita jade spa our honeymoon view suite gaia riverlodge ambergris caye water taxi fish paddle boats mosquito netting coconut mojito sea breeze rojo bar turn down service shark ray alley thatched roof snorkeling gear
Filter
Updating list...
183 - 188 of 1,066 reviews
Reviewed 1 February 2017

Everyone has their own opinions and idea of what a perfect vacation is and for me this was pretty much perfect for what we were looking for. The best thing I can say about Matachica is that it's just easy and accurate. From the original email to the drop off at San Pedro airport, everything was simple and exactly as I felt it should be.

Everything Matachica can control was amazing. The beaches, casitas, restaurant, pool, free rentals, tours, transportation and staff...all exactly as they described and all perfect.

The Reef View Suite was great for what we wanted and needed. The bed comfortable, AC cooled the room more than enough at night, room service and turn down service was fantastic.

The grounds from the beach to the pool and common areas were all in great shape and well maintained. The restaurant had great food - I honestly think the prices fit with what you got.

The staff were all amazingly friendly and helpful, they take time to talk with you and interact, help you with anything and just seem to care.

I could keep fawning over Matchica because we will be back - I don't think there is any doubt but do your research as this isn't a typical resort (it's BETTER but seriously, just google it a little), if you like what you see on their website, on travel sites, you will not be disappointed, because at least for us, it was everything we wanted and even more.

Room Tip: Reef View Suite was perfect, still can see the ocean. And with the reef, the ocean tide by the resort is really calm so
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TimA2552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2017

MataChica was perfect for us. We take one trip a year without our children and during that trip we enjoy doing basically nothing except relaxing. At MataChica you can be as busy as you want or as lazy as you want. The quiet setting, five miles from San Pedro, is nestled between palm trees and barely visible from the water. There is a gorgeous pool/hot tub, but we chose to take advantage of the circle loungers on the pier. (each circle lounger has its own private extension). If that's not your speed, there are kayaks, stand up paddle boards, sunfish, beach bikes and snorkel gear all free of charge to use at your leisure.

The rooms are designed with central american touches, colorful tiles, artwork, sculptures. No phones or TV but if you need to connect, WIFI covers the lobby, beach front bar, restaurant and parts of the beach. A selection of games and DVD's available at the front desk and a small den to watch movies.

Upon booking we were contacted by Burga who managed to WOW us even before we boarded the plane. She was ultra responsive to my flurry of emails and even booked our 15 min. transfer on Tropic Air from Belize City to San Pedro. Upon arrival in San Pedro one of the friendly staff from MataChica will arrive by golf cart and transport you to the boat dock. After a 15 min boat ride you will arrive at MataChica and be greeted by another staff member waiting with your cocktail of choice prepared.

The restaurant (Mambo) and staff are amazing. The food was so fresh, everything prepared on site from pasta to seafood, even the yogurt was made fresh daily. Take advantage of the seafood offerings, lobster tempura is mouth watering and the Deep Blue was our splurge. We ordered appetizers and shared dinner entrees, very generous portions. I can't say enough about the staff at MataChica. They are friendly and attentive without being overbearing. They work as a team to ensure you have anything and everything you need. Archie, Alfredo and Jose Carlos were the team that usually helped us and by the second day they knew our usual drinks, where we liked to sit and our special requests were done before asking. We ate every meal except lunch one day at the Mambo. For a change of pace walk 5 min down the beach to ROJO and have lunch, sample their extensive drink menu.

When choosing a room, there are two sides to the 30 casita resort. (All rooms are 1 bedroom with a couch/living area and a spacious bathroom) The original side is about 15 years old and the newer side is about 3 years old. The rooms are comparable but the newer side is slightly more expensive per night. We lucked out and booked a cancellation for a beachfront room next to the restaurant. There are approximately 4 rows of casitas, the most expensive being Beachfront. In our opinion the view and convenience is worth the extra spend.

The front desk will help you book excursions from deep sea fishing to snokeling, cave tubing to catamaran tours. We did Snorkeling at Hol Chan and Shark Ray Alley (3 hours/ $95 per person). The snorkeling was very good, lot of sea life and coral gardens. Shark and Ray alley is great too, nurse sharks and eagle rays in abundance.

I wouldn't recommend MataChica if you are looking for a wild party or disco type bar/lounge. This is a quiet, secluded, boutique resort catering to couples or girls trips.
We are already booking for next year.

Room Tip: If you can splurge, Beach Front has amazing views and you are literally on the beach.
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank TLKaasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2017

A unique resort on a unique island. Spent 2 wonderful weeks at Matachica and toured all over the Caye in our rented golf cart. Visited many other facilities while holidaying and found that Matachica was by far the best of the best. The staff were far and away the most capable and best trained that we encountered on our trip, and the food was beyond reproach, always left the table well pleased. Kudos to the management for making this so. Too bad about some sections of the road into town and the unfairly applied 'bridge tax', but the resort can't be blamed for that. Would definitely stay at Matachica again.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank daveaway2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2017

Great spot with lots of areas to chill out in the sun, pontoon loungers and pool is great. Coconut mojito is amazing and good snorkelling after short kayak ride. Diving from round the corner at White Sands, recommend Shark Ray Alley.
Rooms were a delight - spacious, good AC, large bathrooms and most importantly the comfiest beds i've ever slept in at hotel.
Service was spot on - always with a smile and friendly
Food was very good - yummy fish all day, good breakfast, fresh pasta/bread and all well made. Would happily stay again.
Recommend going to Secret Beach on the other side of the island renting a golf buggy.
PS - Archie and Maya waiters were awesome

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2017

My husband and I stayed at Matachica for three nights. There was a lot we loved about the resort, including the friendly and helpful staff, the delicious food at the restaurant, the lovely casita and the fact that it was right on the beach. The only negative was how isolated it was. There is a free boat a few times a day to and from the resort and you can also catch a ferry for $10 US each way. We ended up just staying at the resort except when we went on a tour because it seemed rather complicated to leave and we didn’t feel like spending the time to figure it out. For example, the boat drops you off at a dock but then you have to figure out what to do from there. If you are willing to put in the time, it isn’t that big a deal but we just weren’t in the mood.

We did go to a bar/restaurant next door to Matachica a few times called Rojo’s for a change of pace. At first we had a heart attack when we saw the menu prices but they are all in Belize dollars (2 Belize Dollars = 1 Belize Dollar), so the prices are slightly lower than at Matachica. The food and drinks are very good at Rojo’s also.

One surprise was how reasonable the dry cleaning charges were compared to every other hotel we have stayed at.

We had a massage at the spa at Matachica which was $100 each (I think). We both thought our massages were quite good.

If you are looking for a luxurious romantic beach experience, this is a great choice. If you are looking for more action, you might look at places closer to downtown San Pedro.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank shario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews