We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,518)
Filter reviews
1,518 results
Traveller rating
1,212
226
51
19
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,212
226
51
19
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews plantation room infinity suite our honeymoon admiral nelson palmilla restaurant romance package ambergris caye dive shop in town golf cart main restaurant chaa creek grounds are immaculate private pool fish beautiful property sea grass
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 1,518 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2018

My boyfriend and I Enjoyed the friendly staff. They were super helpful in excursions we wanted to take. Also they were very knowledgeable of their country. The restaurant had yummy, local food. Also, the rooms were very comfy.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Celeste C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_Mgr1, Guest Relations Manager at Victoria House Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2018

We’re thrilled there was so much you loved about Victoria House, and we appreciate your review! We’re glad to hear you found your way around our restaurants and enjoyed our chef’s creations. We live in an amazing part of the world, and there are so many adventures to have both on shore and on the water. We hope if you’re ever in Belize again you’ll join us for some more fun!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2018

Victoria House is the most accommodating, comfortable, awesome and beautiful place in the whole "Isla Bonita" San Pedro, Ambergris Caye in Belize. Just arriving I got impressed with the level of service and the friendly staff at Victoria House, the accommodation, the food and the efforts that they do at the hotel order to bring a pleasant stay to the guests is great! Everybody was very helpful and friendly, The food is really tasty, fisrt level!!!

Room Tip: The multiple room units are a great option when traveling with kids and/or family.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Fressy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_Mgr1, Guest Relations Manager at Victoria House Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2018

Thank you for the touching TripAdvisor review complimenting the hard work and generous nature of our team here. Whether it’s our groundskeepers, kitchen or maintenance staff, we have an exceptional team who take great pride in their work. We look forward to another opportunity to serve you here at Victoria House.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2018

There are plenty of reviews here that outline painful and whiny details of all the things that can go wrong when humans try to invade nature on an island or in the jungle. I will spare the reader the complaints, and simply say that some people should not travel to a tropical island or swim in the ocean or travel into a Central American jungle if they are not ready to face heat, humidity, seaweed, salt water, mosquitos, and thousands of other things that have killed people for millennia.

That being said, Victoria House is absolutely a heavenly oasis from the viciousness that is mother nature. It is beautiful - from the rooms to the villas to the pools to the beach to the food to the spa to the round-the-clock security to the bar and down to the fitness center - and none of it is by accident. The staff is friendly, hard-working, personable, and particularly helpful (we had both a misplaced iPhone in our room, and a wallet returned to us after leaving it in a taxi). Despite everybody's insistence to try local food (which we did), we had 10 meals at Victoria House over a week's time and not a single one of them was bad.

It goes without saying that Victoria House earns every dollar it charges and we were more than happy to pay them for the best vacation we have had to date.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meanjoetung34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaHouseBZ, Guest Relations Manager at Victoria House Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2018

We’re thrilled there was so much you loved about Victoria House, and we very much appreciate your detailed and insightful review! While we’re fortunate enough at the resort to be situated by the world’s second largest barrier reef, which protects our shoreline from rough waters and waves, sea grass tends to grow as a result. Many people are unaware that the sea grass beds protect vulnerable aquatic eco-systems, so the grass is protected by law - it is illegal to dredge any closer than 75 feet into the shoreline.

We’re glad to hear you found your way around our restaurants and enjoyed our chef’s creations. Whether it’s our groundskeepers, kitchen or maintenance staff, we have an exceptional team who take great pride in their work, we are happy you could experience that first-hand as well.

We will be sure to pass along your kind words to our team and can’t wait for your next visit. Please come down and see us any time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2018

Victoria House is an amazing property thats very well kept. The restaurant and bar had exceptional food, in 5 days of eating there we never had a bad meal. The staff are friendly and attentive. Easy bike ride or golf cart ride to town centre.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ecantada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaHouseBZ, Guest Relations Manager at Victoria House Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2018

Your comments have been well-received by all of us at Victoria House. It is our pleasure to leave our guests with a lasting impression. From private, candle light dinners on the pier, to reminiscing about the day’s adventures over freshly prepared ceviche and a cold beverage at the beach bar, the culinary experience at Victoria House can be as casual or exotic as you like. Our team members each take their area of responsibility seriously, knowing that when everyone is doing their job, it makes for a relaxing and satisfying guest experience. We hope if you’re ever in Belize again you’ll join us for some more fun!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2018

We thought the property was beautiful and well maintained overall .The staff arranged our Tropicair flights which was super convenient. We always saw someone cleaning and making sure things were kept nice .The rooms were serviced nicely every day as well as a turn down service. I felt comfortable having the room serviced which isn’t always typical. The rooms were simple but sweet .No tv, no clock , no coffee pot.Which was fine with us . The hammock on the patio was great . The food was decent overall and they had nice menu selection . The service staff was very friendly and on top of things . ( we were there in the off season though) On the flip side as soon as we arrived at the front entrance of the property it smelled terrible. Come to find out they were having a seagrass ( sargassum ) problem for months . Therefore , as nice as the property was we really didn’t have much chance to enjoy it, the pools, dining outside , or the beach . We were basically forced to find other places to go bc the smell was rotten and we couldn’t use or swim at the beach . We rented golf carts from VH several days which was convenient but was high in price compared to other places .VH charged $80 a day plus gas while many others only charged $50 . We were not aware gas was not included until we checked out but it really wasn’t much . Lastly , when we checked in two free drink cards were in the room to be used at the resort. I turned them in upon check out as we had purchased over a dozen drinks (charged To the room ) and was told they could not be applied towards my bill . It was not clear on the drink card that it had to be given directly to the bar. Besides , I figured regardless of where the tickets were to be turned in, the least they could do was Comp a couple of drinks considering the conditions. Visiting other resorts we noticed some , (such as Ramon’s) had a better handle on the sargassum. Had we been told it was so bad we would have made other arrangements or postponed the trip . According to the locals this has been pretty bad for about 8 months . We always saw people scooping it out at VH but they seemed to be getting no where until the last day we were there . Upon checkout it appeared they were making some headway .I know it’s an overwhelming act of nature that can’t really be helped & VH was certainly trying to make it better.I just wish we would have been told before we arrived. It would have made all the difference to be able to enjoy the amenities.

Room Tip: The Ac worked better then expected:)
Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank ccain412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrentKirkman, General Manager at Victoria House Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2018

Dear ccain412,

Thank you for choosing Victoria House Resort & Spa as your destination in Belize, and for your review.

We appreciate your kind words about our facilities, staff, amenities and menu.

I’m sorry that the sargassum situation affected your enjoyment of your stay. Over the years, the seasonal appearance of sargassum has been minimal and easily dealt with. Recently, unusually large blooms have affected the entire Caribbean Basin, the Yucatan Peninsula, the Gulf Coast and more recently parts of Florida. There are many theories on why we’re experiencing it to this extent, and a number of solutions being developed which is something of great interest to those of us in the tourism business.

Our experience has been that, in our area, the weed comes and goes. Somedays there’s very little, and the next morning we have a bountiful amount to remove.

We contract our golf carts from one of the better agencies in San Pedro and charge the same amount as if the cart had been rented in town. The price of the gas is actually built in to the charge for accounting purposes only, and there’s no additional charge over and above the price originally quoted. There are, as you may have noticed an abundance of cart rental agencies on the island (far too many in the view of some) and the completion can be fierce. We contract with our supplier based not only on price (they’re competitive with many of the better agencies) but on the quality of their maintenance program and responsiveness to any troubles that may occur with the vehicle.

The Welcome Drink coupon that’s provided in the guest rooms may be redeemed either in the Admiral Nelson’s Bar, the Palmilla Restaurant or anywhere on the property such as the beach or pool decks. The coupons do state that they are not redeemable for cash or after check out date. I’m sorry for any confusion about this.

Nature is capricious. Sometimes areas in town or on the northern end of the island have little or no sargassum buildup, sometimes this is the case for us and the southern end of Ambergris Caye.

We’re optimistic that this particular cycle will pass and are working with different suppliers on a solution for our area of beach and others in our region.

We hope you have an opportunity to return to Beautiful Belize in the near future and will consider staying with us again.

Brent Kirkman GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews