We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (168)
Filter reviews
168 results
Traveller rating
117
31
13
2
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
117
31
13
2
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews family cottage private beach taco shack bunk room garden cottage empanadas minute boat ride water beds beach beds british colonial aerial yoga dirty martini gyoza diamond members martini bar the cottages rent a golf cart
Filter
Updating list...
80 - 85 of 168 reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2018

We had a really nice time staying at Mahogany Bay. The staff was super friendly and always helpful. The rooms are cute and nice, but you do hear the going-on's outside. The best part is the private beach club. It's a 10-15 min speed boat ride away, but they have drink/food options, games and water sports that make it a really great stay. We spent a few of our days on the beach and in a beach bed...it was absolutely dreamy! This is a great hotel to relax. If you'd like to stay on the property, there are multiple food options and hanging at the beach, pool, gym or bar is totally cool. The decor is very well done and I should mention how much I loved that the gym had two Peloton bikes! This was great to enjoy!

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank BrackettDown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edward D, Director of Sales at Mahogany Bay Resort & Beach Club, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2018

Dear BrackettDown,

Thank you for for staying with us at Mahogany Bay Resort and Beach Club. We are glad you enjoyed your visit and the Beach Club, which we are very proud of.

We hope we have the chance to welcome you back in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2018

2 Couples stayed here a week in May 4-11. Wonderful time and a Great Hotel. Mahogany Bay is unique in the sense it's not door after door in a long hallway. This resort is little cottages up stairs and down, with water views of the lagoon. Truly a beautiful property. From check-in with Debbie to check-out with Debbie it was a beautiful experience. (I don't think she ever sleeps). The breakfast was very good, and housekeeping workers always had a smile for you. Dinner was great at the main hall. The unexpected pleasure for us was the 13 minute boat ride (free) to our own private beach with water toys, bar, and food. It was truly a wonderful beach, we felt like the rich and famous, whose smaller beach we past on the way there, who were paying $2500.00 a night. Rent your Golf Cart at the resort to go exploring in the city a short ride away. A Great resort starts at the top and this resort proves they have great management. This resort is a Gem!!!! We will be back. A shout out to Mat, and Shonvana at the beach.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Rongret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edward D, Director of Sales at Mahogany Bay Resort & Beach Club, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2018

Dear Rongret,

Thank you so much for selecting Mahogany Bay Resort and Beach Club to stay at during your recent visit to Ambergris Caye. We sincerely appreciate you and your friends visit and kind words.

We'll make sure that Debbie sees your review and on behalf of the entire team, we hope we have the chance to welcome you back in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2018

Let me just say, WOW!!! This was hands down the best vacation I have ever taken. We went to Mahogany Bay in Belize to celebrate my 40th, and it did not disappoint. We were there 7 nights, and it was AMAZING! From the moment we landed, until the day we departed, it was smooth sailing. We were able to arrange our flight from Belize City to the resort through the hotel. As soon as we landed in Belize City, we checked into our flight to the resort, which was a beautiful 15 minute flight. We were put on an earlier flight, so we landed at the airport earlier then expected. We called the hotel to let them know we had arrived, and they sent a cab to come and pick us up. As soon as we got to the resort, I fell in love. We checked in, and were greeted by all the staff. They showed us to our room, a one bedroom bungalow, which was fabulous! We were officially on vacation! from then on it was nothing but fantastic service. Every single staff member was amazing and the food was great!! The resort was clean. The pool was awesome. Our room stayed cool all day with the AC and fan, the bed was comfortable!! We adjusted to island time pretty quick, by going to bed early, and getting up early with the birds. I loved the outdoor shower, which was screened in, but you still got that outdoor feel, with the wooden floor. Most mornings we enjoyed our free continental breakfast, which was delicious!! We had dinner 2 nights at the great house, and it was fantastic. Jyoto Sushi, The Dirty Martini, Rum and Bean and the hot dog stand are also definite musts! not one single complaint!!
The Hotel boated us to Secret Beach on Monday, because the Private Beach was closed. It was a pretty fun beach. Got a drink that was in fresh coconut.. Tuesday we rented a golf cart, and explored downtown San Pedro. We stopped at a few bars, and had lunch. We went to Elvi's Kitchen for dinner, which was fantastic! Wednesday we did an all day excursion booked through the hotel where they handled everything! We took a cab to the airport, and flew to the mainland. Our tour guide was waiting for us with a paper that had our names on it. It was just us 2 for this trip, which was pretty nice. We hopped in his van, and stopped at a place where we picked up our breakfast (which was included). Then we continued our journey and drove all the way across Belize to the Mayan Ruins (2 miles from the Guatemalan border) We made a pit stop and our guide bought us some fresh fruit from a road side fruit stand. We arrived at the ruins for our tour. It was a fantastic! We were there about 2 hours. We headed back toward Belize City for our next stop, and had lunch (also included) at a nice little restaurant for some local Belize-an food. We arrived at the park, and did the zip lining first. That was our first time zip lining, and it was so much fun! After that, we finished the day off with cave tubing, which was really cool. We headed back to the airport to catch our flight to the island. Once we arrived, our cab driver was there waiting to take us back to the resort. I was so impressed with how smooth the tour went! The next day, we went to the AMAZING private beach. We took the first boat out at 10 am and stayed there all day. It was so beautiful! The water was crystal clear! The service and food was amazing. One of the best beaches ever. It definitely felt like a private beach, because it wasn't crowded. Definitely better than secret beach by far!! Friday morning we did a snorkeling tour, arranged by the hotel. Again, amazing! We had such a blast, that we did another half day snorkeling trip on Friday. We did the Private Beach in the morning, and concluded it with afternoon snorkeling. Sunday, was a sad day..it was hard to leave such an amazing property! Definitely an amazing time!!!

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MGMilam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edward D, Director of Sales at Mahogany Bay Resort & Beach Club, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Dear MGMilam,

We are so glad you enjoyed your visit and Birthday celebration with us at Mahogany Bay Resort and Beach Club. Even though you were sad to leave and we were sad to see you go, we very much look forward to having you visit us again in the very near future!

Thank you for your review and we will make sure to share this with everyone that made your visit a success.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2018 via mobile

Only one night but wonderful. Excellent customer service from the moment we stepped onto to the island and they delivered us to the resort to when they took us back to the dock. Beautiful place and will only get better when it is finished. Cottage was absolutely perfect. Beach club was amazing. Boat ride over to beach with Patrick was awesome; he was friendly, funny, and professional. All the staff made us feel comfortable and cared for.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edward D, Director of Sales at Mahogany Bay Resort & Beach Club, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Dear Amy B,

Thanks for visiting us at Mahogany Bay Resort and Beach Club. Hopefully we will have you back with us for longer than one night!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2018

The property is beautiful, and the rooms are very unique, private and lovely. The staff was attentive and friendly. We were disappointed that we didn't get to use the private beach the day we were there, because they had it shut down for a private event (which turned out the be a photo session for the property's website). We would have liked to know this ahead of time so we could have stayed elsewhere since our time on Ambergris Caye was short.

Bring an eye mask if you like to sleep in the dark. The rooms are VERY bright at night because the window shades don't fully cover the windows, and the electronics in the room glow like crazy.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fojane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edward D, Director of Sales at Mahogany Bay Resort & Beach Club, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Dear fojane,

We are sorry that the photo shoot disturbed your visit with us. We will make sure we manage that better in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews