We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (962)
Filter reviews
962 results
Traveller rating
461
263
117
58
63
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
461
263
117
58
63
Show reviews that mention
All reviews san pedro golf cart swim up bar water taxi bedroom villa main pool secret beach sea grass nice resort ceviche convenience store resort restaurant north side palm trees cave tubing sunset cruise just returned from a week
Filter
Updating list...
112 - 117 of 962 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2017

This is a nice resort. The staff was very nice as well as helpful. We stayed in one of the beach Casita's which was very nice. We had breakfast at the resort each morning and used the pools as well. We used the resort for our transfers to and from the airport. Once on site they took our bags to the rooms while we checked in. They also have a small convenience store on site that is open limited hours. We also rented a golf cart from the resort which made it very convenient. The rooms were clean.

Room tip: We enjoyed the casita we had. I dont think there is a bad location on the facility.
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lonnie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaptainMorgansBZ, Guest Relations Manager at Captain Morgan's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Thank you for staying with us. There’s nothing like staying on a cabana on the beach as they’re a great mixture of fun and luxury. While you’re just steps away from our Buena Vista restaurant, you can also pick up items our on-site store and keep them in your mini-fridge. We’re happy to hear everything worked out from the point you were picked up through your entire stay. Please do come back and visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017

I must say that our stay at Captain Morgan's Retreat was really quite nice. I did have some concerns after reading a few recent reviews but was happy to see that my concerns were unfounded.

First off...Don't be put off by the "Captain Morgan" theme. Yes...there is a giant Captain Morgan logo at the bottom of the main pool (1 of 3 pools) and the beach towels have a small logo on them but that's really where the theming ends. It's not like you're hit over the head with pirate imagery everywhere.

We stayed at an eco resort in the Cayo District on the mainland for the first few days of our vacation (highly recommended to break up your trip between the mainland and the island) so we were only at Capt. Morgan's for 4 days. The room was in good condition and I was happy to see that the AC worked well, especially after coming from a no electricity/no AC tree house in the jungle.

The staff couldn't have been more accommodating. Our concierge was especially friendly and polite. Over our 4 days there we went on 2 snorkeling excursions (Hol Chan Marine Reserve/Shark Ray Alley and Mexico Rocks) and had 3 spa services which were all top notch, all booked through the concierge/front desk. The room cleaning services were great. We also got laundry done when we first arrived and it came back the next day looking and smelling great. The grounds & pools were clean and well cared for.

With that said, our stay was in August which is a slow time for tourism in Belize so the resort wasn't very crowded or hectic. We swapped out our timeshare for this stay at Capt. Morgan's and it was exactly what we expected. Sure there's always room for improvement and they are renovating in several areas but from the pricing I see on Expedia this place is a pretty good bang for your buck.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaptainMorgansBZ, Guest Relations Manager at Captain Morgan's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Thank you for staying with us at Captain Morgan’s – it’s appreciated! Our retreat certainly has its own charm and personality very different from others in the area. We are going through a lot of changes: restoring, refurbishing and renovating the resort, so we are very pleased to hear you loved your stay and that our team ensured you were always well looked after. It really doesn’t matter what time of the year you visit Captain Morgan’s, you’re always going to get an exceptional level of service, and our resort will always be well maintained from our tidy beach, to crystal clear pools. We hope we will see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017

Just returned from a visit to Captain Morgan's Retreat. The staff is friendly and accommodating. The rooms are very clean and the food was good. During our stay the possibility of a tropical storm occurred. The staff was very organized and kept the vacationers well informed. We went on two activities through the resort and had a lot of fun on both. We will look to visit again.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank moreythompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaptainMorgansBZ, Guest Relations Manager at Captain Morgan's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Thank you for your TripAdvisor review – it’s appreciated. We’re fortunate to have a great team of caring and professional individuals as they truly can make a good trip great for our guests. But they are also very well trained in case there is a weather situation that requires some extra attention. Rest assured you are in good hands at Captain Morgan’s if a situation were to arise. We hope we’ll see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017 via mobile

Best location North of the bridge avoiding the decay bay of town, and tourist traps.Nice layout of resort.
Wish we stayed here instead of in town.
Great friendly service and drinks.
Poolside is fantastic. Good food and comfy lounge.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaptainMorgansBZ, Guest Relations Manager at Captain Morgan's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Thank you for dropping by and experiencing Captain Morgan’s. Our pools, bars, restaurant and casino are only part of the charm of a vacation stay at our resort. We hope that we piqued your interest enough that you might consider staying with us the next time you’re on Ambergris Caye.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017

This resort is beautiful and quiet but are concierge was not very helpful when we were asking about tour's and the front desk was not helpful at all with tour's. My husband really wanted to see the ruins tour and we ask our concierge about and he said the front desk could help us and we went in there at least 4 times and they kept saying we need 6 for the tour.. Saturday was our last full day so we went in and asked them again to see if enough people signed up and they said no but then said we could just go the two of us if we take a little plane out there instead of a water taxi...okay great when can we go.... tomorrow at 6 am ........that doesn't help us at all because we leave tomorrow.....why couldn't they tell us that one of the four other times we went in there! And we did not get a welcome drink like the package says...

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizzyren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaptainMorgansBZ, Guest Relations Manager at Captain Morgan's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Thank you for staying with us at Captain Morgan’s and for writing this TripAdvisor review. We appreciate this kind of feedback as it helps us to provide even better service to our guests. We have a very streamlined process where tours are dealt with both our concierge and activities director, and we regret any inconvenience this may have caused. We’ve taken steps to ensure this does not happen again. As for the welcome drinks oversight, we do apologize. We trust you had a great time during the rest of your trip we do hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews