We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (47)
Filter reviews
47 results
Traveller rating
19
22
5
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
19
22
5
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 47 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2019 via mobile

We stayed here in a tent for one night while exploring the park. The campground is close to trails & the dunes. A few things to note—when we were there (mid-July) the mosquitos were awful, there were three steps up to our site (& many others), many sites have little shade/wind block & so you are very exposed to weather.

Overall a convenient place to stay. Just come prepared!

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Elizabeth Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 July 2019 via mobile

We had a great time hiking the dunes and splashing in the creek. Site 38 has an amazing view and shade! We made our reservations six months in advance. Tips: bring mosquito repellant and sunscreen. Hike early or late in the day. The mosquitoes were bad enough that we wished we had a screened in canopy. Consider staying on a weekday, as it gets very busy on the weekends.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Erika J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 June 2019

Nice wooded campground perched on the side of an incline. Nothing "flat" about this campground despite the name! Some sites have nice views of the dunes. Most do not. Be advised, especially if you are pulling a trailer, not all sites are back in or pull through. Some just allow for parking right beside the road and there are steps leading up to the actual site and picnic table. Not ideal for trailers or RVs. No electric sites at all. Now, all of this was fine with us. We have a small Casita trailer which will go anywhere and we prefer "off grid" camping. But we talked to some of our neighbors were were taken by surprise by some of this. Also be aware this is a small campground. Just 2 loops and 85 sites with 3 group sites. RESERVATIONS ARE A MUST. Go on line and reserve as early as you can. They fill up fast. The reservation window is 6 months prior. If you try to book 5 months prior you wont get one. We went on line the first day you could reserve for the dates we wanted and less than half of the sites were available. Come prepared. Stores to reprovision are a long drive away and the in park store was not open in late May when we visited.

Date of stay: May 2019
1  Thank 950claudep
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 May 2019

This campsite is very nice, clean and well kept. Restrooms not as much actually, but that is to be expected when you are out camping I guess. I did not see showers in the restrooms though. The campsite itself is very spacious, I was there with my 2 little boys and had a blast. Set up our tent and enjoyed. The wild life does come ALL the way up to your area so expect some unwelcomed guests. They do have bear proof storage cabinets where you can put your food for the night. I went there a few weeks back and it was still cold. Around 11 degrees at night so out food froze up lol anyways the campsite is great the park ranger is super friendly so go out and enjoy!

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ccalvillo8
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 October 2018

In a sandy environment with giant dunes, you'd expect an open non-private campground, but it's got enough trees to feel decently private. Toilet block is nice, there's a toilet room that's private you can use, so you don't have to hear your neighboor take a dump, which I've never seen anywhere else in national parks. It's close to the dunes as it's a small park. However it's pretty noisy. For once, it's open to dogs, and with so much wildlife around, they get rattled a lot. And families aren't that quiet, with the new trend of portable USB speakers, some put music on until the last allowed minute, IE 10 PM.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Nicolas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews