We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia
Hotels.com
Agoda.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,142)
Filter reviews
1,142 results
Traveller rating
241
279
271
183
168
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
241
279
271
183
168
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 1,142 reviews
Reviewed 4 December 2023 via mobile

This campground has a ton of potential but really lacked in delivery. We are a full time family that stayed for three weeks. The most important things to us are access to an internet connection and a pool/playground for the kids. Both of those were satisfied so overall, the place was “ok.”

Pros:
- Big Rig friendly with lots of 50amp hook ups if you could find one.
- Bathrooms were ok. Hot water and they were cleaned daily.
-The bigger lodge had a lot of games that were kid friendly.
- The hot tub was nice and big when it was running.
- It’s about 90 min to LA
- Easy to find a good Starlink connection
-They had one nice big playground behind the big lodge and the closed pool.
-They had pickleball and basketball courts that were well kept.

Cons:
-About half of the sites were closed due to electrical issues.
-Sewage stench was a problem at times at certain places in the park
-The lodge closed at sundown (4pm) so we had no place to go after dark and felt stuck in the RV.
- There were very few activities offered.
-The pool was not heated and then was shut down for the last two weeks of our stay. We were informed it would be able a week by admin staff but maintenance staff told us two weeks. Very confusing and not well communicated.
- The laundry room (both of them) were closed and we were unable to do our laundry on site.
- It is literally right next to a train track. The train has to blow its horn at every crossing which was 2-3 horns multiple times throughout the day and night. Honestly, we got used to it and almost forgot to add it in our review.
-Lots of goatshead. I saw the staff doing landscaping multiple times so I believe they are addressing it but we had to buy booties for my dog and we had a tennis shoes only rule for going outside because there were so many.
- There were four playgrounds on the map and 3 of the 4 seemed to be the same playground which were for toddlers and not older kids. Our 4 year old was too old for it.
-No Verizon coverage- my phone was in SOS mode the whole time

We would try to avoid coming back unless some upgrades were made such as opening the K section, more activities, and an open pool/laundry room.

Room tip: -No Verizon service -Bring tennis shoes with thick soles - Ear plugs were helpful at night.
Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Footprints691154
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Encore Thousand Trails, Owner at Thousand Trails Soledad Canyon, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2023

We apologize for any inconveniences you experienced during your stay. Thank you for sharing your detailed feedback. We appreciate your input and hope to provide a better experience for you in the future. We understand your concerns and will take them into consideration for future improvements. We appreciate you highlighting the positive aspects of your stay, such as the amenities and facilities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2023

Have never left a review but our experience here deserves one. The grounds deserve a 3/5 stars, basically dirt sites that are crammed together with little space for kids to play. The management & treatment of their guests deserves a 0/5. They are either incompetent or truly dont care about paying clients.
Welcome email says "Heated Pool and 24/7 laundry". Pool is closed and no laundry available. Apparently 1 laundry room has electrical problems. The other one? Its just closed for the year. When asked why they dont open it back up? "We just aren't"
The night before thanksgiving, a bunch of sites lost power. We got a call this morning saying no one will come to repair until Monday. The reality is that they are too cheap to pay holiday rates for an electrician so they expect their guests to go without power for 5 days. When we called and pointed out 1)No pool 2)No laundry 3) No power, do they plan on doing anything like partial refund. Nope. The options she gave: Move sites (there are none available because they have half the campground shut down) or run a generator and pay for the gas yourself. We dont have one so we asked if we could use one of the many generators they have around the grounds. Nope. New management and some competent staff is much needed here.

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Encore Thousand Trails, Owner at Thousand Trails Soledad Canyon, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2023

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay. We appreciate your feedback as it helps us improve our services. We will address your concerns with our team to ensure a better experience for future guests. Thank you again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2023

We stay at Soledad frequently overnight on our way to So Cal and back north again. It’s easy and checking in is a breeze. Our complaint is only the general condition of the campgrounds regarding trash and dog feces that are not picked up.

There was a large pile of trash in an empty campsite that was seemingly ignored by staff. It had been there long enough for the crows and probably other critters to have strewn it about making an even bigger mess. In the short time we were there we observed staff on a couple of occasions getting out of their vehicles to look at the trash heap, but did nothing.

While walking our dogs we saw way too much dog feces left on the grounds, apparently indefinitely. One occupied campsite had probably 15-20 piles just outside their door. Staff should not be ignoring this clear violation of the rules. No excuse!

The main common areas look great with the recent improvements. But that pride in ownership should extend to the busy but more remote camp areas where many members appear to be full time!

We will continue to use Soledad as a stopover, hoping to see improvements in these areas.

Date of stay: November 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank robertjoanb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Encore Thousand Trails, Owner at Thousand Trails Soledad Canyon, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2023

Thank you for sharing your experience. Our team always aims to provide the best guest experience, and we will be sure to pass on your comments for further improvements. We regret that your expectations were not met, and hope you will give us a chance to exceed them during your next visit. Your feedback will be shared in order to improve our property and customer experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2023

After reading several reviews, I was unsure what to expect at this park. On arrival, I found the desk staff to be friendly and check-in was non-eventful. Finding a decent site was challenging, as the park is large and contains several sections with site of different sizes and layouts. This can be difficult while towing a large 5th wheel in an unfamiliar area. The site we located had decent space, but the goat head burrs were terrible, which made the use of the outside space almost impossible. The only amenities we used was the laundry. there were plenty of machines and all were in good condition. The machines only take credit cards or app payment, but I prefer this over dealing with coins. Propane was decently priced, but tank fills are only available for 30 minutes each day, 10:00-10:30 am. There is quite a bit of improvements in progress which will make this park better. The new “K” section looks outstanding and should be open soon.

Date of stay: November 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Wayne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Encore Thousand Trails, Owner at Thousand Trails Soledad Canyon, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2023

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience with us! We truly appreciate your feedback on our services and facilities. We're excited about the ongoing improvements being made and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. It's wonderful to hear that you found our property to be satisfactory and that you enjoyed our well-maintained laundry facilities. We also appreciate your understanding regarding the challenges in finding suitable accommodations and apologize for any inconvenience caused.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2023

Beautiful views, not too far from highway, playground near by for toddler, friendly people. Coming back soon. stayed for 21 days everything was smooth except water went out twice but came back on quickly.

Date of stay: October 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kaleenhardison
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Encore Thousand Trails, Owner at Thousand Trails Soledad Canyon, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2023

We apologize for any inconvenience caused by the water outages, but we're glad that the issue was resolved promptly. Thank you for your understanding, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future! We're delighted to hear that you had a great stay and enjoyed the convenient location.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews