We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
FindHotel
Trip.comUS$115
Hotels.comUS$106
ExpediaUS$106
Etrip
Agoda.com
View all 8 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (129)
Filter reviews
129 results
Traveller rating
12
9
23
17
68
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
12
9
23
17
68
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 129 reviews
Reviewed 20 May 2017 via mobile

I am not sure what frightened me the most the cockroaches, the dirty room or the other guests. Apparently it is a permanent residence for some people.
There was a lot of yelling and banging on doors.

The room was very tired. The fake wood floor was lifting and the fittings were broken.

The bedding covers were stained and dirty.

I felt extremely unsafe to the point I felt we couldn't stay.

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
3  Thank Chelchel1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
6Team, Brand Experience Team at Motel 6 Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2017

Dear Chelchel, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We apologize for your unpleasant stay as a result of the concerns you describe. Safety and security are high priorities within Motel 6 standards for quality and we regret you felt differently during your visit. We encourage you to contact our Guest Relations department at 1-855-787-9864 to record the details of your visit to help us provide a better guest experience in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2017

Worst experience ever. Looks horrible, smells worse, it is noisy and deserves to be closed because sanity issues. We stayed only one night because it was an improvised plan.
Never, don't even try. On top of everything it is not even cheap!!!!

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank elrubenenutrecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Negassa R, General Manager at Motel 6 Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2017

Thank you for taking the time to fill in the guest survey regarding your most recent visit. I appreciate your comments and feedback and I will share them with our team. I would like to begin by offering my sincere apologies for the issue you experienced during your visit. Your feedback has been shared with our team and the necessary steps have been taken to prevent recurrence. Our goal is to continually improve our product and services for our valued guests. In your case, we failed to meet those goals. Please accept my sincerely apology.

Sincerely,

Negassa Rebu
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2017 via mobile

Positive aspects: a 15 mins walk from Takoma Metro station, nice male concierge, free parking, cheap rate
Negative aspects: stinky non-smoking room smelling of smoke, run down carpets, walls, bathroom; stoned neighbours; police bringing back a kid in the evening, looks as if there were families permanently residing here; cheap for DC but still outrageous for what it offers; not overly friendly female concierge; saw no cockroaches or mice and checked the sheets carefully for signs of bug beds, looks safe on that side; cardboard walls shaking when room neighbours making love

Would definitely advise spending more to have a safer stay.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 46ElenaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
6Team, Brand Experience Team at Motel 6 Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2017

Dear Elena, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We strive to deliver a great guest experience, but it sounds as though we did not perform to our usual standards in this case. Please know the various issues you describe are an exception to our guest commitment and as such, we apologize. We encourage you to contact our Guest Relations Department at 1-855-787-9864 to record the details of your visit to help us provide a better guest experience in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2017

This by far is the worst choice possible. Bed bugs, heavy mold smell, stained sheets and bed covers, stains on flooring, holes in walls and obviously being used as a boarding house, people illegally and unsafely cooking in their rooms

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank DenvilleDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
6Team, Brand Experience Team at Motel 6 Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2017

Dear Dave, We take bed bugs reports very seriously and sincerely apologize for your experience. Please know that we are on high alert regarding this issue and are mindful to monitor our rooms in order to address, treat and terminate any issues if we discover them. We have designed a thorough and strict procedure to address all complaints or potential issues within our hotel. Unfortunately, bed bugs are a world-wide problem and present a unique challenge due to their highly transient nature, traveling easily in luggage and clothing. This is why we continually train our housekeeping staff to proactively monitor all guest rooms for the potential presence of bed bugs and have standing contracts with professional exterminators to treat affected areas in case any are discovered on our premises. No room gets released until we have and all-clear from them. Please contact our guest relations department at 1-855-787-9864 to better address this situation. Thank you again for bringing this issue to our attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2016

Disgusting smell in room and property! it is look like homeless people are living there (they were cooking fish...) couldn't sleep even for 5 minutes!

NOT FEELING SAFE all the night!,

It was a big fight between people who living there all the night. very strange people. If safety is important to you and your family DO NOT go to this place!

I have contacted Motel 6 and following up with them! Even I will talk with my lawyer. that place MUST SHUT DOWN!

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank hamid h
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Negassa R, Manager at Motel 6 Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2016

Thanks so much for posting a review. I really appreciate you taking the time from your busy schedule to share your experience with others

Sincerely,

Negassa Rebu
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews