We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,375)
Filter reviews
3,375 results
Traveller rating
1,427
1,245
447
158
98
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,427
1,245
447
158
98
Show reviews that mention
All reviews white house avenue grill great location floor number the concierge lounge great view of the washington monument the corner bakery within walking distance national mall smithsonian museums room service two blocks corner room large hotel lincoln memorial two double beds business hotel
Filter
Updating list...
140 - 145 of 3,375 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2018

Stayed here 2 nights for a business trip. What strikes me first is how well this hotel is kept up. Don't let the bland 1970s exterior fool you - this is nice hotel inside. Overall spotless with quality furnishings and attention to detail. The room is well done with crown mouldings and solid substantial doors. There is an umbrella for loan in the room, a fluffy bath mat, and nighttime chocolates. The in-room fridge is quiet and there is a safe in a drawer. Comforter is high end along with the sheets. The bathroom light surrounds the mirror and is bright. Elevator buttons are on the outside of the elevator. When you select your floor, the panel shows you which one to take essentially giving you a private elevator. Very nice. Staff in the bar are friendly and attentive.

Room Tip: interior rooms facing courtyard are quiet but very close to office windows
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SVRyder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamMarriott, Front Office Manager at JW Marriott Washington, DC, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2018

Dear SVRyder,

Thank you for staying with us at JW Marriott Washington, DC and for your very kind review. We are glad to know you had a wonderful stay with us and enjoyed our well-maintained facility, friendly staff, and convenient location. I hope we have the pleasure of hosting you again.

Michael Horowitz
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2018 via mobile

This is one of the better JW’s I have stayed at. I was here for 3 days in May for a business convention and had a great experience. All staff were polite, courteous, and willing to help. It was particularly nice that all housekeeping staff warmly greeted you in passing.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
Thank 630drew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marnie G, Manager at JW Marriott Washington, DC, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2018

Thank you for your kind review. The location is certainly perfect and convenient to visit all museums and monuments. Thank you again for complimenting the staff over their service. We want to continue to be your hotel of choice and look forward to the opportunity to serve you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2018 via mobile

Had a pleasant stay over holiday weekend. Room was large, bathroom smallish. Odd they ask to reuse towels and hang them up- but no hooks or places to hang anything.Room was not cleaned till very late in the day. Staff generally helpful. Well located for many things in DC.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank frequentraveler13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marnie G, Manager at JW Marriott Washington, DC, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2018

Thank you for your kind review. The location is certainly perfect and convenient to visit all museums and monuments. All rooms were recently renovated with guests' comforts in mind and some rooms do have the beautiful view of the Washington Monument and DC skyline. We want to continue to be your hotel of choice and look forward to the opportunity to serve you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018 via mobile

Visited DC and stayed at JW Marriott, in business level room. This gave us access to concierge lounge which we enjoyed and utilized daily for breakfast, snacks and drinks. Hotel staff was extremely courteous and helpful. Hotel common areas spotless as was our room. Very comfortable. Hotel located within walking distance to museums, White House and capital if you don’t mind a mile or so walk. Cab quick ride to capital.
Pricing compatible to a NYC Manhattan hotel. Definitely recommend this hotel and will stay there again on our next trip

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank Philip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamMarriott, Front Office Manager at JW Marriott Washington, DC, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2018

Dear Philip S,

It was a pleasure having you as our guest at the JW Marriott Washington, DC. We believe a well-equipped room along with the amazing service and facilities sets the tone for a wonderful visit, and we are glad to know this was your experience. Thanks for recognizing our convenient location, and we look forward to seeing you again whenever you return to this city!

Michael Horowitz,
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018 via mobile

Very nice - and large - hotel in a great location.

Rooms were large, clean and comfortable. On-site bar and restaurants good.

Greatest plus is the location of the hotel with walking distances to the National Mall, the White House, Capitol etc.

They will charge you 13-17 USD per day for in-room wi-fi in a quality so poor that it can only be labelled an insult.

Breakfast buffet - apparently not included in the approx. USD 370 nightly rate - costs USD 27 and while the buffet is good, this to is an insult.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamMarriott, General Manager at JW Marriott Washington, DC, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2018

Dear William S,

Thank you for providing feedback about your stay with us. We were happy to hear that you enjoyed our location and that your room was clean and comfortable. We apologize that you were not completely satisfied with your stay and for the inconvenience of the charges for WiFi and the breakfast buffet. We hope you will give us another chance in the future to provide you with a better experience.

Michael Horowitz
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews