We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The St. Gregory Hotel Dupont Circle
Nearby Hotels
The Hay-Adams(Washington DC)
US$339
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$421
US$350
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Hive(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Capitol Hill Hotel(Washington DC)
US$219
US$197
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$348
US$334
Expedia
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
The River Inn(Washington DC)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The Avery Georgetown(Washington DC)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (226)
Filter reviews
226 results
Traveller rating
110
67
24
17
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
110
67
24
17
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroom renovationsdupont circleshaving kitgalley kitchenfront deskl occitanehighly recommend the stlocal dining optionsindependent hoteljunior king suitebig fridgethe entire hotel staffrestaurants within easy walking distancestreet trafficpleasant hotelliving spacedefinitely stay here again
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 226 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was the third time that I stayed at this hotel. It has a much more pleasant atmosphere than the larger chain hotels, is nicely appointed and has very competent, friendly staff. Although it is a somewhat older building, it has been fully renovated, and is in beautiful shape. I stayed in a two-room suite, which provides plenty of room to both work and relax. Well-appointed rooms and bath. No complaints whatsoever.

Room Tip: There are some rooms which face a brick wall, so if someone wants an airy view, they should ask to avoid those.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank charleswitek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert C, General Manager at The St. Gregory Hotel Dupont Circle, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Greetings from The St Gregory Hotel,

Thank you so much for your great review and positive comments about the staff. We are so happy that you enjoyed the newly renovated room product and were able to enjoy a two bedroom suite during your stay with us. We certainly hope to see you again whenever your travels brings you to Washington DC.

Kind Regards,
Robert Clark
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2018 via mobile

After a 2 hour drive we pulled in to the hotels valet parking only to be told by valet the lot is full. I asked where we are to park and the valet mumbled “I don’t know” but he did say he would “allow” us to park in front of hotel just to check in. We went to check in and inquire about parking and were given a similar response and without a caring tone or apology “I don’t know where you can park, but it’s DC so lots of parking garages you just need to find one”. Amazing such a beautiful hotel (which I have stayed at before) could drop the ball from a customer service perspective to not have a backup lot or somewhere specific to direct out of town guests not familiar with area. The room was wonderful and breakfast was absolutely amazing. This is a wonderful hotel that needs some serious employee training on not only how to deliver not so good news but how to understand the panic not being able to park was causing us at the beginning of our stay. No one seemed to care that we couldn’t park.

Stayed: April 2018
1  Thank Jon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert C, General Manager at The St. Gregory Hotel Dupont Circle, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2018

Greetings from The St. Gregory Hotel,

Thank you for your comments Jon T. It is very disappointing to hear that the front office team from the bellmen to the front desk did not provide a warm welcome and offer proper service and suggestions if the hotel garage was full. I sincerely apologize as this is not how anyone has been trained. Corrective steps will be taken and we appreciate your comments. It is wonderful to know that the other aspects of your stay were amazing and that you enjoyed it. We hope that you will give us another opportunity as we have just added a few stellar individuals to join our team in the front office area which I know will make a great difference moving forward.
Thank you for your time and feedback.

Robert Clark
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2018 via mobile

This was my first time staying in a hotel in DC and could not be happier with my choice. Staff was attentive and had genuine interest in making sure my stay was great. Stayed on one of the renovated upper floors and suite was beautiful! Decor really stood out compared to other hotels I had shopped around for. Definitely will return to the St. Gregory when in DC again.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank danielstephennyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert C, General Manager at The St. Gregory Hotel Dupont Circle, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Greetings from The St Gregory,

Thank you kindly for your time and feedback danielstephennyc! We appreciate the insight of your experiences and we are thrilled that you love the newly renovated rooms and most importantly that our staff provided excellence in service!

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future!

Kind Regards,

Robert Clark
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2018

The St. Gregory was the perfect hotel for our family of 5. The double bed suite was much more spacious than we expected. The location was outstanding...safe and short walk to the DuPont Circle and Foggy Bottom Metro stations and plenty of places to eat nearby. The entire hotel staff could not have treated us any better. They went out of their way to make our family feel comfortable throughout our visit. Truly a great experience due to the exceptional customer service.

The hotel was still under renovation. Our room/floor was complete and looked great. Some construction noise started in the morning, but we were out sightseeing throughout the day so it was never really a concern for us.

Also...check on parking if you are a AAA member. Saved us a ton!

Thank you to the entire St. Gregory team! We hope to be back.

Room Tip: The hotel is still under renovation. Recommend making sure you request a room not near any construction.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gtrboz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert C, General Manager at The St. Gregory Hotel Dupont Circle, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Greetings from The St Gregory Hotel,

Thank you for your time and feedback about your recent stay at The St Gregory Hotel. We so appreciate your five star review.

We are delighted to know the staff was a highlight of your stay along with our spacious suites. Our newly renovated rooms are really a much larger room product than most hotels offer which creates great value and comfort.

Our location is a real plus when sightseeing as we are in the Golden Triangle bordering Georgetown, The White House District and Dupont Circle! It really is a perfect location!

We are so happy to offer special AAA members great benefits. Anyone with a valid AAA membership card and booking a AAA rate receives complimentary overnight parking for one vehicle which saves over $50 per night in costs! We know that parking is so very expensive in urban markets especially in densely populated areas like downtown Washington DC, We strive to add those special savings for AAA members!!!

We hope to host you at The St Gregory Hotel again the next time you visit our beautiful city!

Best Regards,

Robert Clark
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018

I was moved to write this review when I received an email from the hotel saying "Experience our renovated and redesigned guestrooms and suites" while sitting in their hotel unable to relax due to the constant constructions noise. This is my 4th stay at the hotel and haven't had such problems previously. I asked for a higher level room (further from the construction) but was told that none was available. Anyway this is simply a temporary problem.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
Thank neur14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert C, General Manager at The St. Gregory Hotel Dupont Circle, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Greetings Neur14,

Thank you for your review and feedback. We are so terribly sorry for the noise you experienced from construction. You are correct that it is only temporary. We really appreciate your understanding and patronage. Please accept our sincerest apologies and know that we want you to come back and see us many more times. That noise should not be an issue moving forward as we are nearly complete with a full transformation of our hotel!

Kind Regards,

Robert Clark
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews