We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,313)
Filter reviews
2,313 results
Traveller rating
1,479
599
162
40
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,479
599
162
40
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bistro bis union station capitol hill wine hour boutique hotel the corner bakery animal print robes mini bar yoga mat wine reception attached restaurant complimentary wine capital building supreme court office building national mall front desk staff
Filter
Updating list...
336 - 341 of 2,313 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

Booked through Hotwire. The hotel will add 20$-30$ service charges above the Hotwire price already paid. This will Be charged to your credit card and the bill be slip underneat your door. This add on charge is indicated in small print when you book.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
3  Thank cbell120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas H, Front Office Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2016

Hi cbell120,

Thank you for staying at The George and for pointing out the importance of fulling reading your reservation details before booking your reservation. I would like to clarify that the hotel fee is actually included in the total amount you see stated on your Hotwire confirmation. The hotel fee is not an additional charge, it is just billed separately from the room and tax charges you prepaid to Hotwire. The booking website (Hotwire, Expedia, etc.) will charge you 95% of the total amount when you book the reservation and we will bill the final 5% of that total at check out. I hope this helps clarify the charge for you. I would encourage you to check you credit card statement. You should see that the charge from Hotwire and the hotel fee charges you paid at check out will add up to the total dollar amount you saw on your confirmation. I hope this fee won't stop you from staying with us in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2016

Room was big enough to accommodate 4 people. Hotel was close to Union Station and the Capitol. We received excellent service of the concierge. On the less positive side was one girl behind the reception who was not really listening nor supportive. And also the temperature in the elevator and corridors was too high.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hans and Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas H, Front Office Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2016

Hans and Anne G,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We really appreciate you staying with us at The George. I apologize for the poor service you received from one of our desk agents. I hope this and the hallway temperature won't keep you from visiting us again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2016

This boutique hotel is a great option by Union Station.
The hotel is trendy, the beds are comfortable, and it is located about a 7 minute walk from union station.
Please know - there is an amenities charge of $20 (+ tax) that is charged to the overall bill - which I failed to realize at booking.
However, because it is a Kimpton (can't go wrong!) at a reasonable rate - that fee didn't overshadow my experience.
Would definitely return...

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cultured_Vacations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas H, Front Office Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2016

HI Cultured_Vacations,

Thank you for staying at The George and for taking the time to write this review. I apologize that you were surprised by the Hotel Fee. We try to be as open and up front about our fees as possible. I'm glad to hear it didn't effect your stay overall. I hope we can be your go to hotel in DC from now on.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

But extras are pricey,staff very friendly.
Gave us a great base to visit all we could in the short 2 days we had there.
Use the Metro its cheap and a fast way to get around just like the tube.(smart card just like oyster).

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas H, Front Office Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2016

Hi Dave B,

Thank you for staying at The George and for writing this great review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We love to recommend the Metro as a great way to get around town, especially for guests like you who are already familiar with large city subway systems. I hope you'll come see us again next time you're in DC!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2016

Very near Union Station so no car needed. Wine reception (and
Whiskey Wednesday) weeknights plus Wii for the kids in the lobby. The in house restaurant Bistro Bis is divine but plenty of other places to eat are nearby.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank anovavacationer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas H, Front Office Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2016

HI anovavacationer,

Thank you for staying with us at The George and for taking the time to provide your feedback. I hope we will see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews