We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (273)
Filter reviews
273 results
Traveller rating
175
57
22
12
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
175
57
22
12
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews balcony door newly developed area a free shuttle bus ihg property front desk potomac river nespresso machine welcome gift uber driver fire pit small balcony rooftop pool restaurants and bars location is amazing national airport tidal basin upscale hotel
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 273 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2018

We loved this hotel. Our room looked over the marina and there were a lot of great restaurants around the wharf. Getting around town was very easy too. We had one small issue with housekeeping, but it was resolved pretty quickly. I would definitely go back.

Stayed: July 2018
Thank Trey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonAntoine_GM, General Manager at InterContinental Washington D.C. - The Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2018

Dear Trey M,

Thank you for sharing your experience. The view of the marina from our guestrooms is relaxing and we're delighted you enjoyed. Our colleagues take pride in ensuring our guests are pleased and will execute high quality service each opportunity. We're looking forward to seeing you again.

Thank you,

Simon Antoine
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2018

My wife and I cannot say enough about this hotel and it's staff. The location is amazing down at the Wharf. The hotel is only a year old and is excellent. Before booking I read reviews that said the staff and service wasn't great but that was not our experience at all. We were greeted by Antwan with joy and great personality (22 years in the USMC). Shaun checked us in and gave us a great room with a view of the river. Sherrod (concierge) was so incredibly helpful with diner ideas. Can't say enough. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view.
  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank globexnet1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonAntoine_GM, General Manager at InterContinental Washington D.C. - The Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2018

Dear globexnet1,

Thank you for your five star review. We are beaming over your experience. Our team members like Antoine, Sherrod and Shaun are knowledgeable about D.C. and enjoy making guests happy. Your high recommendation is greatly appreciated. Looking forward to seeing you again.

Thank you,

Simon Antoine
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2018

Not sure where all the hype is coming from in the reviews. We had a king room and we did not pay extra for a river view but ended up lucky and had a partial river view. The hotel was nice and the room was nice and clean but the bed was very uncomfortable. The “spa” shower was a basic shower with a regular shower head and a detachable shower head, that is like my basic shower at home. The hallway outside the room was covered in all kinds of food and crumbs, there was room service left outside of the rooms and whoever cleaned up the dishes left the food all over the floor, now what sense does that make? Even though the room was clean, the white bed sheets had several old blood looking stains. The room comes with a nice nespresso coffee maker but room service did not refill the coffee and condiments when they came. I called the front desk THREE times asking for more so I can have my coffee in the morning and they never brought any. These rooms are very expensive, I expect the service to be top notch. I didn’t think asking for the coffee to be refilled was too much work for someone when it’s their job in the first place. Valet is 50$ a night, no issues with valet, they were great. Our room came with breakfast which was a small buffet with the basics, eggs , meats, fruits, oatmeal, and breads. It was very good, no issues with that. The hotel charges your credit card 150$ PER NIGHT up front for “incidentals”. Which stays on the card for days after you check out. I have never experienced this, and it should be noted when you are booking the hotel, not when you check in. The location was great, we walked everywhere. Also, I just saw a post on Facebook saying the hotel is celebrating their one year anniversary all month with free upgrades and surprises. We did not get any upgrades, we were here on our honeymoon. We were not even asked why we were staying or how our stay was upon checkout. Also, there were no surprises and nothing going on at the hotel so that post they have on Facebook is just a bogus tactic to get people to book a stay. Overall, I don’t recommend this hotel. I don’t mind spending money on a nice hotel but I expect better for the price we payed.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank heathgio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonAntoine_GM, General Manager at InterContinental Washington D.C. - The Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2018

Dear heathgio,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We're sorry we missed the opportunity to exceed your expectations during your stay. Certainly, it is our main focus to ensure all guests are pleased. When you are considering another visit to Washington, D.C. we would love a second chance. Please email alexandria.june@ihg.com and we will ensure your next visit receives the expectations from the InterContinental brand.

Thank you,

Simon Antoine
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2018 via mobile

We had a fantastic getaway weekend at the Intercontinental Wharf. Highly recommend this hotel, location, and ambiance. Catch a show at the Anthem, walk the Wharf and ride a swing on the pier. We will definitely return.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Eric D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonAntoine_GM, General Manager at InterContinental Washington D.C. - The Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

Dear Eric D,

Thank you for your five star review. The Wharf area is definitely the coolest place to visit for a fantastic getaway. An overnight stay in one of our spacious guestrooms with breathtaking views. Then there's the fun outside of the hotel, as you mentioned, such as enjoying a show at the Anthem, riding the water taxi, ice skating, yoga, and many more. We appreciate your recommendation and look forward to seeing you soon.

Thank you,

Simon Antoine
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2018

My first great and lasting impression was thanks to Eric who greets everyone at the door as though they are coming home! He is so fun to chat with, get tennis pointers from and tennis world insights from! The concierge KNOWS DC well. The Front Desk staff are incredibly helpful and once when I needed a bottle opener the housekeeping staff woman went out of her way to find a bottle opener to assist.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank PreponeConsulting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonAntoine_GM, General Manager at InterContinental Washington D.C. - The Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

Dear PreponeConsulting,

Thank you for your five star review. Our colleagues, like Eric, are passionate about creating lasting memories for guests. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay and we're looking forward to seeing you again.

Thank you,

Simon Antoine
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews