We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Gators abound!

This place is great for an alligator safari! (pictures😉) We drove all over and got lots of pics of... read more

Reviewed 17 September 2018
Linda C
,
Sedona, Arizona
Peaceful Nature Trail

We visited this refuge on a warm, sunny day in February 2018. It was a peaceful walk along the... read more

Reviewed 11 May 2018
pasdedeux092907
,
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Read all 16 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Louisiana
from US$102.00
More Info
Reviews (16)
Filter reviews
16 results
Traveller rating
10
6
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
10
6
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 16 of 16 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2014 via mobile

Cool place. Was visiting family and this was my second time here. First time saw lots of gators. Today not a one!. Oh well. Still pretty

Thank The2Moores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2014

Very representative of a south Louisiana tidal marsh. Lots of wildlife and scenic areas. Bring binoculars and bug spray. Not much for car drives, but a few walking areas, along with fishing and crabbing opportunities. There are airboat tours out of Hackberry, and nice beach area in Holly Beach.

Date of experience: September 2014
Thank LSUTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Sunday, 15JUL2012, and I was approaching the end of daylight on the first day of my finally completing my Trans-Texas Bicycle Odyssey,11JUN2011-08JUL2011, terminated due to heat stroke symptoms. This remote area can only be accessed by road (Louisiana state highway 27) or possibly by boat (Intra-Coastal waterway). However, I was on my Doublevision tandem recumbent, enjoying the good distance I'd made since departure from BeaumontTX at (08:00). I had stopped briefly at the Blue Goose Trail/visitors center and considered overnighting there, but the rules stated that was illegal. While crossing another busy lagoon, I stopped to discuss the area with a local, querying about possible camping, even if posted NO. "You in Louisiana, man," he replied, "them's just suggestions. We got people who stay out all night, bring their own generators, 'cuz fishin's best then." I kept on pedaling South, this time stopping at the Wetland Walk (Alligator Alley) in twilight. Nobody else was present, except for hordes of buzzing, biting mosquitoes. However, the bathroom was amazingly free of insects and even more amazing was the water fountain: COLD, tasteless water! Glad to have been told of only the "suggestions", I was tired, ate part of an MRE, sprayed down with OFF, laid out with Z-rest & no-see-um net for excellent sleep. A few hours later, lights shined in my face and I heard the command to get along--no camping! Federal officers C & D were extremely professional, polite, but firm about the rules--pedal 9 miles further to camp on Holly Beach free, no mosquitoes'll bother you there. And you have the road to yourself! Truly good, and beneficial because I pedaled the centerline, which kept me away from the swamp on both sides. The best part was the alligator jumped into the brackish water, NOT at my Doublevision! Also true, the on-shore breeze at Holly Beach kept the mozzies off me, but not the infinitely worse blackflies/midges!

Date of experience: July 2012
3  Thank Juanito_Hayburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of experience: July 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews