We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
nighttime penguin tour

We did the evening penguin tour and it was excellent! The guides gave a lot of great information on... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
518AmyM
,
East Greenwich, Rhode Island, United States
Amazing experience!

This was such a cool experience. We got to see baby penguins, penguins, and seals. The setting was... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
gsamale
,
Sydney, Australia
Read all 499 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Akaroa
from US$91.20
More Info
from US$91.20
More Info
from US$270.20
More Info
from US$19.99
More Info
Reviews (499)
Filter reviews
499 results
Traveller rating
446
41
7
1
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
446
41
7
1
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nesting boxes penguins coming conservation work blue penguins wheel drive new zealand overnight stay friendly sheep baby penguins cute penguins photo stops along the way no electricity sea kayaking banks peninsula nature tour eco tourism coming ashore
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 499 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2018

We drove from Christchurch to Akaroa. The Pohatu Penguins office is just behind the BNZ bank at Unit 2, 8 Rue Balguerie, Akaroa 7520. The road from Christchurch is called Highway 75 and it is a beautiful drive. The people who work for Pohatu Penguin Habitat/Plunge are absolutely phenomenal. For example, our flight from Philadelphia to Christchurch was delayed which meant we could not make our reservation. A few desperate emails from the Philly airport rendered a new "next day" reservation for us. So appreciative for the quick and friendly response. Special recognition to Kevin and Geraldine, and to our fantastic Sea Kayaking guide from French-speaking Basque country.

We took the noon sea kayaking tour and it was absolutely incredible. As we were in Akaroa during early February and we saw numerous penguins, tiny playful baby seals, various birds, and it was all coupled with the sheer joy of sea kayaking. We could not have had a better time. The scenery is absolutely breathtaking. This is a truly joyful experience and not to be missed. In fact we had such a great time we are planning another trip and we will absolutely book again with Pohatu Penguin.

By the way, they offer an option to drive to the kayaking site yourself. If you are considering that just know that the road is quite steep and unpaved. I was glad that we let them do the driving. Plus, if they drive, then the driver will probably be kind enough to take a picture of you from a scenic location which is quite nice.

What a beautiful, memorable experience.

Date of experience: February 2018
1  Thank EllenGwynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pohatu_penguins, Front Office Manager at Pohatu Penguin Habitat, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Hi Ellen, thank you so much for your kind words about your experience with us. We are always happy to accommodate our visitors as long as we can :) We are also very pleased that the whole experience at Pohatu was very positive for you and are very much looking forward to having you again! :) All the best to you (and no more delayed flights for you I hope!). See you next time! Geraldine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

We were on a cruise ship and as arranged made contact with the company's representative at the end of the wharf to meet them at 12 noon. Our tour was the 4WD Scenic Nature Safari. The guide was a young woman from Minnesota who was passionate and informative about preservation of threatened species, and the efforts being made to protect the Pohatu Penguins and their habitat. The drive out to Flea Bay through farming country was in itself interesting and we stopped at various lookouts for photo opportunities including a diversion down Lighthouse Road to Haylocks Bay. If you choose to walk the last half kilometer be prepared for the steep return climb! We then rejoined the road to Flea Bay to arrive at the owner's house where sheep were hand fed before taking a short walk to see some of the 300 nesting boxes constructed to house the birds. We were able to see up close a bird in rehabilitation care and another still in its molting phase in a nesting box. (we knew we were not visiting in the optimum season to see many penguins). A very welcome afternoon tea followed then back to the cruise ship by the appointed time.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank YolkandWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pohatu_penguins, Front Office Manager at Pohatu Penguin Habitat, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Hi there, thank you for taking the time to write about your experience on your Full Nature Nature Safari with us, and for bringing details that will be very helpful for many other visitors :) There is indeed a little bit of a walk down (then up!) at Akaroa's Head (Haylocks Bay), optional of course. Good on you for doing it! We wish you all the best :) Geraldine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018 via mobile

An amazing tour to visit a unique family operation trying to preserve a penguin colony. A small group tour over rural terrain to the remote farm. After hand feeding the variety of sheep you see how they rehabilitate injured penquins. There is a short hike to see the work they are doing. A very informative day in a beautiful area.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Janet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pohatu_penguins, General Manager at Pohatu Penguin Habitat, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2018

Hi Janet,

A big thank you for your comment, we feel very special to read that we were the best tour of your holidays, this means a lot.

We are always very happy to show people the work we do and try to inspire anyone to do the same.

We wish you all the best.

Kindly,
Kevin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018

My husband and I originally booked the kayak tour leaving from Akaroa, but that day it was very rainy, windy, and cold. Luckily Ben, the person we checked in with on the dock, offered a number of other options for us, and we decided on the land tour that day. We were sad we couldn't kayak, but the land tour was excellent! We loved that our tour was small enough to ask questions and get to know the sites and our tour guide (Rocky). We learned a ton about the landscape, the environment, and the animals Pohatu Penguins works with, and I couldn't say enough about the friendliness of the staff! I would recommend walking shoes and a light jacket (it was quite windy in the bay).

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank ehoisington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pohatu_penguins, Manager at Pohatu Penguin Habitat, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. Best of luck and good times for your next excursion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018

This is a great way to see a great part of Akaroa when you are wondering how to make the most of your time there. Meet some locals, hear their story about how they set about trying to save the penguins and meet some penguins. We loved every minute, even though the penguins were no longer nesting. We went in March, really recommend it.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank dandsbatten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pohatu_penguins, General Manager at Pohatu Penguin Habitat, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2018

Hi there,

Thank you very much for your kind comment and recommendation.

It is very good to hear that even without penguins you had a good time and we are glad to have shown you around and shared stories of our area.

Note that from late February to early April, the penguins are at sea hunting and gaining all the weight they have lost during the molt from mid January to mid February. But as you have said there are so much more to the area ^-^

Thank you again for your comments.

Kindly,
Kevin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews