We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (874)
Filter reviews
874 results
Traveller rating
410
343
91
19
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
410
343
91
19
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location old town quirky decor sherlock holmes exposed brickwork dome cathedral charming hotel tea and coffee facilities good size the bus spoke good english bed was comfortable street noise small hotel long weekend breakfast buffet reception staff
Filter
Updating list...
228 - 233 of 874 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2015 via mobile

Apart from the great location of this hotel and the quirky decor everything else is average and that's being generous.

Our visit was marred by a functional greeting, plain room with basic amenities, a broken shower door, mould and limescale around the base of the shower unit, dirty curtains, hard bed, over starched sheets ....I could go on.

When I returned to reception to inform them and ask about room change she said to talk with the manager in the morning. The next day, the manager offered us a choice of rooms to move to. We chose a lovely looking room on the top floor, tasteful and quirky decor greeted us. Wonderful! However, the manager failed to mention that the extraction unit fans for the hotel were just outside the window (something you would have expected her to point out given that we had a poor experience so far). This led to a very fitful sleep, punctuated by loud air con and fan motors.

We recommend spending your money in one of the numerous alternative choices.

Date of stay: September 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank badgersontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2015

Pleasant hotel in the middle of the old city, close to cathedral square. Large well equipped rooms and a lovely bathroom. Excellent service, and good breakfast, which tends towards the European rather than the British. A good base to explore.

Room tip: Back rooms are the quietest.
Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank scothernite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2015 via mobile

This place is a good hotel in terms of location, value for money and the breakfast (lots of variety and good quality). I would have given it 5 stars but for 2 things: the noise level from the street - okay this you have to deal with due to the fantastic location - there are bars and eateries right next door so of course you have to expect noise late into the night. The second issue was the bed bugs - unfortunately I was severely attacked by them during the night when we stayed and am now in a constant state of itch. I've been through other reviews and have been unable to find anyone else with this issue so obviously I've been unlucky. However I suggest the hotel looks into de-pesting room 503. Otherwise, I would definitely go back!

Date of stay: August 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank monhutchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2015 via mobile

We had booked a superior room but it turned out to be a smoking room with no other available. We were offered a family room which had a separate single room in addition to a large double. It wad really comfortable with great air con. Average bathroom, reasonably priced minibar and good breakfast. We didn't eat in the restaurant.

Date of stay: August 2015
Thank MandM59_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2015 via mobile

This charming hotel have a really great location in the old town. Located in a old building with a lot of charm carefully renovated.

Breakfast is just the way we like it. Fresh fruit and possibility to get two different kind porridge.

Friendly staff!

Would recommend it anytime.

Date of stay: August 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank futtis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews