We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (494)
Filter reviews
494 results
Traveller rating
149
213
75
38
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
149
213
75
38
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tram stop budget hotel old town rooms are small hot shower free wifi recommend this hotel by foot visit riga taxi lido euro
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 494 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2018

hotel room is ok as a size but the view is depressing and we stayed 2 night but no staff came to clean the room or change towels ,Breakfast experience has been awful with almost no foods available and with old bad bread served,staff is not approachable and they look that all you ask is to much for them ,In the breakfast room at breakfast time the security man was clearing out the dirty plates and cups as it was nobody else. What a joke! never again this hotel!

Room Tip: no lift available
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank alina19118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018

Their is no parking provided,hopefully you find a space nearby.The hallway carpets are stained and smelly,the rooms are very small, bathroom not the best standard.The location is on the rough side of Riga,very noisey at night,staff very impolite and unhelpful.
The worst thing is the breakfast that is provided,the most disgusting pancakes,coffee and sausages I have ever had.I have visited Riga on many occasions and stayed at many hotels but this one is well below standard.
Please don't choose this hotel you will be very dissapointed.

Room Tip: Stay away....
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank snakeman2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2018

Dodo hotel was a great base to explore Riga on a budget. It's cheap, the rooms are basic, but clean and comfortable. The area is a little run down and there's not much to see in the immediate area, but the Old Town is only a few minutes away and there is a tram stop directly outside the hotel. Fantastic breakfast!

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018

This hotel is not very centrally located, and the rooms are incredibly small. But if you're travelling on a budget this is a good hotel for the low price as a starting point in Riga. The tram is just outside the door which helps alot.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gibsonwushu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2018 via mobile

VERY BAD: I stayed in room 338 and could hear my neigbours all around(left, right, across, above) my room!
Walking, talking, showering, peeing, flushing the toilet, shutting doors, even snoring AND compliments to the man next door als who spoiled his lady with a good morning by the sound of her two climaxes!

Because of the reviews I had read before, I expected a bit noise, but it was really bad. Normally I sleep like a rock, but unfortunately it was 3 nights of very very very little sleep for the first time on a vacation.

So very bad isolation all-over, unbelievable...
Really makes me assume the owner of this hotel is a greedy person who does not (want to) provide basic hospitality to the guests with gastronomical caring.

BAD: the room is (too) small for 2 persons, showerhead needs to be replaced, semi dusty so cleaning could be better, no airco, no mini-bar/fridge nor any coffee/tea facilities. When I checked out, the lady at the reception did not asked me how my stay was, nor thanked for staying and also not wished me a good journey back home or so: very impersonal.

VERY GOOD: tram 7 just stops just around the corner and it takes only 10 minutes to get to the city center. By foot would also be no problem I think because of the sight of some nice street art on your way. The area is communist history with “nostalgia”. By the way: also a super market just across the tram stop of the hotel, very convenient!

This is was my first time in a budget hotel and probably the last. Even though I know that not every budget hotel is as noisy as this one.

Nevertheless: thank you Dodo Hotel!

All over I had a very good first time in Riga. Good food, good people, nostalgia all over the city with beautiful and sad history leftovers. Loved it and will be back in Latvia for sure!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled solo
Thank Ngiet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews