We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slow”
Review of Hodovna

Hodovna
Ranked #13 of 70 Restaurants in Poprad
Price range: US$2 - US$17
Cuisines: Central European
Description: Beer-house & Restaurant situated in a silent side alley near town center serving simple but tasty dishes with tapped beer and full bar selection. The restaurant stretches over two floors with free parking and summer outdoor seating.
Restaurant details
Description: Beer-house & Restaurant situated in a silent side alley near town center serving simple but tasty dishes with tapped beer and full bar selection. The restaurant stretches over two floors with free parking and summer outdoor seating.
Reviewed 29 June 2018 via mobile

Hodovna was a decent drinking/dining spot with a slightly better location closer to the town center but service was food preparation took a long time with the taste not being able to compensate for the long wait time. Service was friendly though.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank thelonious22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2018

We were on a visit with friends we tasted the street food it was excellent and the burgers were good. a great churros and beer.

good service and clean restaurant.

I recommend tasting!!!

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank De8eDe8e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin P, Guest Relations Manager at Hodovna, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2018

We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Hodovňa and hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

The servers were very corteous, polite a quick to help with everything - that is a huge plus as Slovakia is not known for class customer service.
The food however was a tad disappointing. The garlic soup served in a bread bowl was very weak and resembled a potato soup more than anything. The bean soup with smoked meat and sausage contained no meat whatsoever. Also, the beer mugs kept arriving emptier and emptier as the evening progressed.

Considering the decent kids corner, there are no facilities to change a child and we had to improvise and do it between the sinks in the toilets. Other guests ended up changing their child on the bench at their table! Not a pleasant sight in a restaurant.

Overall, the kids had a great time and enjoyed playing with all the toys available, the atmosphere in the place is good and unpretententious. With some small improvements in terms of children facilities and food this place has a great potential!

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank kategP8583TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2018

My expectations of this place were quite high and I managed to visit for my last meal in Poprad.

Staff was welcoming and the place is clean. The food was nice but honestly, not 'all it'. I would come back again on another occasion, I think.

All the best
Tereza

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Teri Michaela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin P, Owner at Hodovna, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2018

Thank you for your review. We`re glad you enjoyed your stay at Hodovna and we hope to convince you even more next time you visit Poprad.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017 via mobile

Been there a few times already and always returning. Their beer stock used to be above average and they're still expanding the offer. If nothing fits, you never can go wrong with a simple Pilsner from their offer. The food is typical Slovak, really good for the price. Waiters and waitresses are still positive and very polite. It's really worth giving a try, so don't hesitate!

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank Rasta F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin P, Owner at Hodovna, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2017

We really appreciate your positive feedback and value your compliments. We will do our best to ensure you remain satisfied next time you visit Hodovňa as we always strive to satisfy our guests. But of course, there is always room for improvement ;)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hodovna also viewed

Poprad, Presov Region
 
Poprad, Presov Region
 
Poprad, Presov Region
Tatranska Strba, Presov Region
 

Been to Hodovna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing