We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (25)
Filter reviews
25 results
Traveller rating
11
6
3
1
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
11
6
3
1
4
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 25 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2015

This hotel was everything we expected and far more.

Owned and run by 3 generations of the same family, from the enthusiastic, friendly and extremely informative greeting and check in, to the attention to detail at breakfast and the cleanliness of the rooms, it is clear that there is much passion and love for the property and the service provided.

The room was far nicer than the pictures on the website, due to, as the gentleman who showed us to the room explained, a renovation recently carried out himself, he had even hand made some of the furniture, which was a nice touch. The shower was particularly enjoyable.

The facilities were very good- the pool was small but perfect for a refreshing dip in the 31 degree heat and very clean. The sauna was not working but this was not really an issue as the weather was so hot!

The outside area was very green and pretty with plenty of seating. This is also where they served breakfast (I assume just in the summer). Breakfast was lovely, lots of choice and perfectly happy to serve us excessive amounts of coffee.

If I had to raise one negative point, it would be that although the rooms were air conditioned, there were no controls for this in the rooms and for some reason it was switched off from about 11pm to 9am, which for us were the times we were at the hotel trying to sleep and needed it. This made it difficult to sleep at times.

The hotel was about 40 mins on public transport from the center and the system is very easy to use. I would advise getting a pass for your time there rather than individual tickets at this will save money and time. We had a 72 hour pass as we were there for 4 days but there were options for longer or shorter periods. The commute was no issue at all for us and it was actually nice to stay somewhere a bit quieter and more suburban, there was a lovely square a 5 min walk down the road with local shops, restaurants and bars with much more reasonable prices than the center and very friendly service. However, it is worth bearing in mind that for elderly or disabled or people wanting to stay out late in the center, it would be worth staying closer to the center as it was more difficult/expensive to get home after the last metro (11.30) and the public transport wasn't very accessible for wheelchairs etc.

Overall, we had a fantastic experience and I would highly recommend this hotel :)

Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sinead19902015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights in late August. The owner seems very nice but the room was very dirty, not even swept a little. The shower had no door so water went all over the floor every time. The room or towels were not changed once.The location is very far out of the city and awkward to get to if you are not confident of using public transport. At night it was harder to get back too. The area is ok, its a real neighbourhood, no tourists about. I would stay nearer the city if possible, but its adequote.

Thank Farlo9
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

My friend and i stayed 4 nights and had a wonderful experience at Oswaldo. We arrived from the airport wondering what we had gotten ourselves into but were immediately put to ease w the friendly help of Oswaldo at the desk. Although about 20 mins by bus (23) out of the city this homely environment is well worth a visit. Prices are extremely fair, €6 a day breakfast gets you an English breakfast w anything you can think of cooked the way to like w an abundance of bread, fruit, juice and coffee. The family run hotel could not have been more accommodating for us on our stay always refreshingly happy and bubbley, willing to help w any concern or question you may have. Don't let the location from the centrum deter you, we had a fantastic experience.

Date of stay: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jacinta94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

We stayed in two rooms for a week in May to play a local ITF tennis tournament, right from the start we had a great experience, The owner could not be helpful enough, the rooms were clean and the breakfast was excellent, we would definitely come back again

Room tip: For a long stay the comfort rooms gave plenty of room having a living area with a couch TV and fridge
Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MTTNPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

beautiful, peaceful and clean hotel. in the backyard you can find many chairs and tables to sit with your friends.
Some kilometers away the centrum, but the public traffic works very well. 20 minutes by bus to metro and then the whole Budapest is available economic.
You can find lot of shops in 10 minutes walk.
Easy to come from airport: take bus 200E to Kobanya-Kispest and then bus number 151 behind the corner near the hotel (remember to buy a ticket before step the bus).
Very good place to stay and worth of your money!!!!!!

Room tip: We had room number 4. A small room at 2nd floor but there was enough room for us
Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hanuman49years
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews