We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (591)
Filter reviews
591 results
Traveller rating
487
84
16
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
487
84
16
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews castle district buda side l occitane loft suite beautiful castle number bus l'occitane products hungarian wines fisherman's bastion small hotel restaurant downstairs goulash great shower matthias church quiet at night quiet area lovely hotel
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 591 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2018 via mobile

The hotel is in a great location - if you don’t want to walk up the hill, you can get the 16 bus from the Szechenyi bridge up the hill. Takes 5 minutes and they come every 10-15 mins. Don’t let that put you off - it is picturesque, quiet, and walking round in the evening is a joy.

We stayed in the ground floor garden room, and the room itself was lovely. The included breakfast was also delicious, but not enough if you’re starving hungry. We ate in the restaurant one night - the food was good and service was excellent (the wine recommendation was delicious). But, you can get similar quality for less money nearby.

However, there were a few things that let the place down during our stay. Little attention to details like a dripping air conditioning unit (mentioned to management but not fixed), constantly being signed out of the WiFi, only 1 small hook for towels in a room for 2, lacking bathroom storage space, windows that wouldn’t shut properly without being shoved back into the frame, no frosted glass in the shower room, so you had to pull the curtain shut. Nothing major, but when you’re paying these rates for a room, you do expect more. We were also disturbed by bottles etc being thrown out from the bar on the Friday night.

We were also surprised that there wasn’t someone on reception all the time (it does only seem to be 1 member of staff working incredibly long shifts). It did mean that if you had a quick query, you were waiting a while until the staff member was found. We were also told there was no night receptionist, so had to check out the night before we departed due to an early morning flight. It was a bit disconcerting not having any staff in the hotel on a Saturday night.

We enjoyed our stay there and loved the location, but if you’re spending that much money per night, I would have liked more attention to detail.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Carys M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zsidaigroup, Vezető at Baltazar Budapest - Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2018

Dear Carys M,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and review our hotel. It means a lot to us that you have chosen our Family owned boutique hotel and we strive every day to help our guests to create wonderful memories of their time in our beloved city of Budapest. Your feedback is very important for us and your comments will be shortly answered by the owner of the Hotel. We appreciate your patience. With Best Regards from the Hotel Management

Warm Regards,

Your Zsidai Family

Lidia Zsidai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018 via mobile

I love this hotel - it is stylish, fun and located in a great part of town high above the maelstrom of the city. At night you feel like the area is your own private place to explore.

The staff are friendly and the onsite bar and restaurant fantastic.

My only complaint (and not enough of a problem to deduct mark out of 5) is that it seems really difficult, if not impossible, to pay the hotel bill in forints on my UK credit card. I seemed to have to pay in Euros, which means the hotel can set its own exchange rate and I don't even enjoy the benefit of avoiding a currency exchange charge.

I would still visit again, though!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Brighde9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zsidaigroup, Vezető at Baltazar Budapest - Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2018

Dear AoifeMoriarty2018,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and review our hotel. It means a lot to us that you have chosen our Family owned boutique hotel and we strive every day to help our guests to create wonderful memories of their time in our beloved city of Budapest. Your feedback is very important for us and your comments will be shortly answered by the owner of the Hotel. We appreciate your patience. With Best Regards from the Hotel Management

Warm Regards,

Your Zsidai Family

Lidia Zsidai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2018

Stayed at the Baltazar for 5 nights recently. The hotel is well located in the castle district, though is a fair walk from the river...all uphill! Our room was very clean, very modern and well equipped. The reception was a disappointment in that it is frequently unstaffed or has bar staff or general staff in the area so the quality really is spasmodic!
The breakfast was excellent and well cooked. The outside area is very attractive and popular! On one occasion the restaurant was booked out for an occasion and the residents/guests were not told beforehand, meaning we had to scramble on a raining night to go elsewhere to eat at the last minute! its not a cheap hotel but generally we enjoyed much of our stay.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bendigoboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zsidaigroup, Vezető at Baltazar Budapest - Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2018

Dear Hotel Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and review our hotel. It means a lot to us that you have chosen our Family owned boutique hotel and we strive every day to help our guests to create wonderful memories of their time in our beloved city of Budapest. Your feedback is very important for us and your comments will be shortly answered by the owner of the Hotel. We appreciate your patience. With Best Regards from the Hotel Management

Warm Regards,
Your Zsidai Family

Lidia Zsidai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2018

This is not a bad hotel and I really liked the unconventional design but given the price I would have expected more. Service was very good but the staff will always direct you to restaurants and cafés owned by the same proprietor as the hotel, which I found somewhat annoying. Also, expect to be charged extra for a lot of things that ought to be free. While it's located next to some standard sights you will probably want to visit the neighborhood is quite dead at night. To young people in particular other parts of Budapest might be more appealing.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank hakaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zsidaigroup, Vezető at Baltazar Budapest - Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2018

Dear Hotel Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and review our hotel. It means a lot to us that you have chosen our Family owned boutique hotel and we strive every day to help our guests to create wonderful memories of their time in our beloved city of Budapest. Your feedback is very important for us and your comments will be shortly answered by the owner of the Hotel. We appreciate your patience. With Best Regards from the Hotel Management

Warm Regards,
Your Zsidai Family

Lidia Zsidai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018

We loved the Baltazar!! We were four adults traveling to Budapest for the first time and stayed for 3 days at this wonderful hotel. The location couldn't be better -- the Castle Hill area on the Buda side of the river is stunning. We could walk to many sights, restaurants, and even went to a concert. And this side of the river is quiet with fabulous night views just a stroll away. The fun bar and restaurant added to the friendly feeling as well as the helpful staff. The rooms are very roomy and updated with wonderful rain head showers. We all loved Budapest and the Baltazar Budapest truly enhanced our stay!!

Room Tip: Room 41 has a wonderful view over the rooftops to a medieval bell tower. Leave your window open for the magical chimes.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank obevie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zsidaigroup, Vezető at Baltazar Budapest - Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Dear Hotel Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and review our hotel. It means a lot to us that you have chosen our Family owned boutique hotel and we strive every day to help our guests to create wonderful memories of their time in our beloved city of Budapest. Your feedback is very important for us and your comments will be shortly answered by the owner of the Hotel. We appreciate your patience. With Best Regards from the Hotel Management

Warm Regards,
Your Zsidai Family

Lidia Zsidai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews